We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indonesia Restaurant

Indonesia Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 194 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Classic choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

It had been 5 years and my husband was keen to revisit one of his favourites. The meat banquet offered a large selection of small dishes. I found the dishes a bit bland and used the condiments to liven things up a bit. However my husband enjoyed every mouthful as it was served. The standout was the chicken satay and the hot banana we ordered as dessert. Service was great as was the cosy atmosphere on a chilly night.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Some like it hot.... However, some not!
As your review proves once again, it's a very good custom at our restaurant to provide our diners with the spice condiments which allows for individual/personal taste adjustment. Apparently it was very much enjoyed by your husband and you thought it was 'a bit bland'. If the food would have been spicier... .... .....!?
It's the name of the game, hard to please everyone.
But there were some highlights as well and you enjoyed the service and atmosphere.
Thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Proudly Celebrating 31 Years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    859
    204
    42
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Fantastic meal food fresh and hot, wonderful homely and friendly service. Highly recommend! Outstanding, Thankyou..

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Your review is appreciated and glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for recommending us.
Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Celebrating 31 Years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Very hard to beat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Having reviewed previous reviews, we dined here recently. This has been one of our most pleasnt experiances of dining out yet.
The atmosphere, hilarity from the host, presentation of the food, quality and quantity were unequaled.
'Rijsttafel supream is the dish to have.. combination of fish, meats and vegetables with rice...BE CAREFUL OF THE CONDIMENTS THEY SERVE FIRST..They have 3 heat rages, hot, bloody hot and rip ya head off.
Although we know it will change hands shortly, we are confident everything will remain the same as such.

WEe look forward to our return visit

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank G0ldwing1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Yes our restaurant is going to change ownership but we - the current owners - are confident that our restaurant will carry on providing customers with great food matched with excellent service. Don't be surprised that at some levels it might even get better again...
Great to read anyway that you clearly enjoyed the experience and thank you for sharing this with us. We feel very special reading all your compliments.

Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Established in 1983
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
“The best in New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

My wife and I had a rijstafel there and it was absolutely fantastic. The service was great, food very good and a large variety of different dishes, prices extremely reasonable All in all a most enjoyable night out. Keep up the good work guys many more will enjoy this feast.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ziebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
It looks like you get carried away a little... 'The Best in New Zealand' ... Nevertheless, they're your words, it's your opinion and the customers is always right (sec). Of course we are delighted with a heading like this for a review but more importantly we are very pleased that both of you enjoyed dining with us.
Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Proudly Celebrating 31 Years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

My daughter took me to the Indonesian for Mother's Day and we couldn't have had a better evening. I love spicy food and the variety was really interesting in the meat Rijsttafel - the first time I had tried it and it was well worth it.Lovely relaxed atmosphere, good value, excellent service -you couldn't ask for more - we will be back!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank McHardyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Surely your daughter is now in the 'good books' treating you to a dinner at our restaurant which - reading your review - was a great choice. We're delighted you had a great Mother's Day celebration dinner. And of course we'd love to see you - and your daughter - back.
Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Since 1983
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indonesia Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Indonesia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing