We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with friendly service”

Indonesia Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 201 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Temporarily Closed We are on our annual winter break at the moment. Open again on the First of September. We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food with friendly service”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

We saw the reviews and thought we'd try it as we had a few days in Napier booked. We had the specialty tasting platter for two which was varied, with meat, fish and vegetable dishes. All were tasty and beautifully presented. The owners and staff were friendly and attentive and handled my allergy to fish with no dramas. Highly recommended and we'll be back before too long.

Helpful?
Thank Macker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
It was a pleasure having you dining with us and it's not a problem to cater for guests with fish/seafood allergies because - as you have noticed - not everyone needs to order the same 'Rijsttafel'.
Thanks for your review and we hope you enjoy the remaining days in our beautiful city.
Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Celebrating 31 Years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    873
    206
    43
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forster, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Napier”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

When you are travelling through Napier on the North Island if New Zealand, do yourself a favour and try the Rijsttafel at the Indonesia restaurant. Enjoy small serves of multiple dishes, all served together, as they are kept warn with candles. We have travelled to Napier twice now from Australia, and booked a table on line last time, to ensure we didnt miss out. Lovely food at very reasonable price and excellent service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Well, well, that's a strong statement to call us 'Best Restaurant in Napier'.
Of course we're delighted with such a heading of a review but we can assure you and other users of TripAdvisor that there are lots of very nice restaurant in our Art Deco City 'Napier'.
One thing for sure, you clearly enjoyed the whole experience and we appreciate it that you give us such a great feedback on our food, the pricing of it and our service.
Thanks very much.
Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Happy Celebrating 31 Years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Food Great Service Great Restaurant”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

What a wonderful experience. Indonesian was new for us and the owner greeted and and fully explained the menu and options. When asked for recommendations he was extremely helpful as were the other staff. The food arrived promptly and was delicious, the helping were generous and well presented. Our whole party were delighted with the experience and thoroughly recommend visiting for dinner

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We always take the time to explain our menu and the concept of 'Rijstafel' to our customers and so often we get customers who are completely new to Indonesian cuisine.
It delights us to read that we made it a memorable experience for your party and we like to thank you for your time to write your review and recommending us to future diners.

Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Since 1983
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
1 review
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Delicious food - fantastic range of tasty dishes, including great vegetarian dishes. Very good choice of wines, great ambience, excellent service, and very warm welcome from witty, charming host.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
You clearly enjoyed the whole package provided to you. The food, the wine, the ambience and the service.
You happy, we happy! That's what it is all about in hospitality.
Thanks for your review.

Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Celebrating 31 Years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“All round excellent dining experience”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Went to this restaurant on a recommendation and it certainly lived up to its reputation. The food was delicious and incredibly reasonable. The staff was friendly and the owner was excellent, going above and beyond to ensure we enjoyed ourselves - which we certainly did!
Definitely worth a visit on any trip to Napier!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
So many of our guests come based on recommendations and most of the time we manage to live up to that. Apparently also when you dined with us.
Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed your evening and for recommending us to prospective diners.
Kind regards
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (proprietors) and Staff
'Restaurant Indonesia' - Established in 1983
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indonesia Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Indonesia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing