We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Competition Win!”

Indonesia Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 222 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Temporarily Closed We are on our annual winter break at the moment. Open again on the First of September. We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My partner, Darrin, and myself, Cathy, won a beautiful prize as part of Restaurant Indonesia's birthday celebrations. Our prize was dinner and bevereges for two at the Restaurant, and a nights' accommodation at Quest Apartments in Napier. We were welcomed so warmly by Joss, Kees and Neymar, and our meal was just amazing - we had the Supreme Rijsttafel, accompanied by a lovely Gewurztraminer, superbly recommended by Kees to accompany our meal. The atmosphere of the restaurant, with the authentic artworks and decor, creates an experience so real, and this, accompanied with the beautiful dishes presented to us, made for a most memorable evening, which was rounded off nicely by our night at Quest
Apartments. Thank you so much to both Restaurant Indonesia and Quest Apartments Napier for your generosity for our night 'escape'!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Hello Cathy & Darrin
It was a delight having you as our 'winning guest' at our restaurant. It was so evident that you both were enjoying it immensely. That's what it is all about! You even struck a very busy night. Also really appreciated that you wrote a review about Quest Apartments, since they provided the accommodation as part of the prize.
We hope to see you again...
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (Proprietors) and Staff 'Restaurant Indonesia' - Proudly Celebrating 30 Years

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

775 - 779 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

Yes it sounds like a strange combination but it works incredibly well. Two restaurateurs, Joss and Keas, have been around in Napier for some time and I first came across them when they had the well known and successful Zig Zag cafe in Napier. I heard the rumor that they took over the Restaurant Indonesia. I guess its because historically the Dutch used to run Indonesia and these boys must of felt just at home cooking Indonesian cuisine. Apart from being scolded by one of the boys for talking on my phone ignoring my wife on the night of our wedding anniversary, the night was perfect. Joss and Keas also organised a full moon for us as well as incredible food. Just watch out for those complimentary entree dishes that he sneaks in. It was spices marinated in Indonesian petrol but tasted fantastic and I am sure Kees did it so that I would quickly order an iced drink. I highly recommend the Dutch/Indonesian style coffee with spiced cake to finish the night off.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HeikoLade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

It was really nice to have you two celebrating your wedding anniversary at our establishment. Of course you get a telling off from me when you're opposite your darling wife on the phone... How rude :-)
Great to read that you have been enjoying your evening with us: the food, the service, the heat of the condiments...
And for sure the coffee and the 'spekkoek' (cake) must have been good because you ordered seconds.
Hope to see you again!
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (Proprietors) and Staff - 'Restaurant indonesia' - Proudly Dutch owned/operated and Celebrating 30 Years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very friendly owner who aims to please. The food was wonderful! We made reservations & the owner was sweet enough to tell us he was going out of town that day & closing early but got us I. The night before. The meal was an experience. Very good flavors.

Thank lauretteny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thanks for your review. Appreciated!
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (Proprietors) and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We read about Restaurant Indonesia in Lonely Planet, and remembering rijstaffels from Amsterdam, made a point to try it. Kees was such a welcoming host, we we enchanted from the moment we walked in. We loved the details, art and small touches that were put into this restaurant and the meals were excellent. We tried the fish curry and the nasi goring and savored every bite. Didn't quite have the capacity for the rijstaffel, but came back two days later and had another meal, this time trying the spicy cake dessert that brought back memories of Dutch ginger cookies. If there wasn't an ocean between us and Napier, we would be regular customers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LynneParadiseCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Wow, what a great compliment to be told that you had 'your favourite New Zealand meal' at our restaurant. And it was nice to be able to host you on two occasions.
Hope you make good use of the piece of batik I have given to you in one of your quilts.
Thanks for dining with us, thanks for your kind words...
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (Proprietors) and Staff - 'Restaurant Indonesia' - 30 Years Young...!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We loved our Indonesian food extravaganza. Kees was welcoming, the interior is interesting and fun and the food is fantastic. Highly recommend this little restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robynlesleyflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees P, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thanks for your nice review and recommending our restaurant.
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters (Proprietors) and Staff at 'Restaurant Indonesia' - Established 1983

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indonesia Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Indonesia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing