We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful dining experience!”

Indonesia Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 195 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
1 review
“Delightful dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent four days in Napier, eating out every day, trying as many different places as we could. We had to go to this fabulous place a 2nd time before we left. Truly superb.
Excellent service, wonderful atmosphere and the food was just perfect.
A wonderful selection for vegetarians was an added bonus.
Thank you, I will be highly recommending this restaurant to anyone coming to Napier.
It is a dining experience not to be missed :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank becca2shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndonesiaNapier, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
It was a great pleasure to host you twice this last week. First two of you and than returning this weekend with two other friends. Appreciated.
And of course we're delighted to read that you really enjoyed yourselves and like to thank you for recommending us.
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters - and staff - 'Restaurant Indonesia' - Napier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    867
    205
    42
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
“You would struggle to find a better meal in Indonesia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Faultless, great service, great atmosphere, great food and huge portions. I recommend it to all... I'll be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank renefridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndonesiaNapier, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Now, now..., take it easy - lol. Of course we feel very proud with the title of your review, and thanks for that. Good to read that you enjoyed our service, atmosphere and food and your recommendation to other prospective diners.
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters - and staff - 'Restaurant Indonesia' - Napier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A "rijsttafel" that brought back a lot of memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I can only recommend everyone to go to this restaurant and order a Rijsttafel. Since moving to New Zealand 7 years ago, the best Indonesian meals I tasted were made by my self, but now I know another place to go. It is same the distance Wellington-Napier makes it not really possible to become a frequent customer of Indonesia Restaurant, but whenever we are in the neighbourhood we will definitely visit again. Great food, nice mild flavours, so every one will enjoy and you can spice it up with the excellent in house made sambals.
Perfect location at the Napier waterfront. If you understand the Dutch word "gezellig" ( cozy ) than you know exactly what I mean.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndonesiaNapier, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
A big thank you for your recommendation of our restaurant. Today we also found out that we are mentioned in the latest edition of New Zealand Lonely Planet. We like to share this text with you and other users of TripAdvisor.
"Lip-smacking Indo-Dutch 'Rijsttafel' smorgasbord are the house speciality"

Its' so much appreciated to have an endorsement by this well-known travel publication but it even means more to us that people - like you - take the time to write about their own experience.
We love to see you back whenever in Napier (Hawke's Bay) again...
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters - and staff - Restaurant Indonesia,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its the next best thing to being in Indonesia......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

From the moment we stepped through the open mouth of the dragon into this quaint, intimate, highly decorated setting our night was transformed from the ordinary to the extraordinary. We feasted on the Supreme Banquet and savoured all the delicious flavours. Excellent service with all dishes explained to us and a fantastic host who kept the smiles on our faces all night. Favourite dessert was the chocolate icecream balls rolled in coconut. Cant wait to go back again with other members of my family.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndonesiaNapier, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We're blushing! What a nice comments regarding your evening at our restaurant. And also thank you for posting this nice picture of the food.
It's our pleasure to make you feel welcome in the way of serving you great food paired with good service. It makes our job so much easier this way!
We hope to see you again whenever back in Napier.
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters - and staff - 'Restaurant Indonesia' - Napier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
216 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Love the Rijstafel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I always enjoy visiting this restauarant. It is in a nice location and the food is good. The food is a nice reminder of my visits to Indonesia.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bluekakariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndonesiaNapier, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
A big thank you for taking the time to review our little restaurant. No doubt we will see you again.
Joss Lamers & Kees Peters - proprietors - and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indonesia Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Indonesia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing