We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stunning Food, Wine, Service.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chambers Restaurant
Ranked #104 of 198 Restaurants in Napier
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Stunning Food, Wine, Service.”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

On check in we were politely asked if we would like to make reservation for the wonderful restaurant onsite, being a little tired from the trip we were reluctant, however the receptionist insisted it would be an opportunity not to be missed. She was right. From the moment we sat down, the service, the surroundings & décor, the wine list & menu were, quite frankly just outstanding. I enjoyed the Seafood Pasta, divine, followed by the Dulce De Leche Mousse. My partner enjoyed the best steak he has ever had and for dessert enjoyed a glass of the Clearview Sea Red. The wines by the glass list is extensive, so rather than buying a bottle we enjoyed a different glass with each course. Favorite wine for the night for me was the Bridge Pa Drama Queen Rose. The staff were amazing and very knowledgeable when it came to the wines and the local activities in the area. A great restaurant, one of the highlights in Napier for certain.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    5
    7
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is supposed to be one of the best places to dine in Napier. It's not. The bar and snug was supposed to be a champagne bar, but only had one brand available out of about 12 on the list, with extremely disinterested staff. The actual restaurant was poor - it felt dowdy and old, and the carpet was grubby and had seen better days. The clientele was a strange mix between dressed up mature couples, and huge families with shrieking kids in trackie bottoms.

The food was average, but overpriced - I can barely remember what I ate, but I do remember that the bill seemed steep for what we had. My partner had steak, and despite asking for it to be rare, it was overcooked to the point of being well-done.

My partner also ordered a glass of wine that he particularly wanted to try, but got given a different glass because the waitress said it was a better wine. Well, it might have been, but he didn't appreciate his choice being ignored without even asking. When he queried whether he might be given his original choice of wine, it transpired that it wasn't in stock. Well, why didn't they just say so instead of trying to fob us off with something else? And the recommended replacement was more expensive - seemed like a rip-off tactic to me. He was distinctly unimpressed.

Overall, I'd give it a miss and try elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Outinthemiddaysun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FIVE COURSE DEGUSTATION MEAL”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Dined at Chambers Restaurant early August on a 5-course degustation with matching wines dinner voucher. My apologies to Sam our waiter that night for not placing this review sooner.

Having read the reviews below our party of four went along feeling a little nervous about what to expect. We had been to Chambers Restaurant many years ago and the food and service had been excellent. For us nothing had changed... the service and food were wonderful. The degustation menu offered you two food and wine choices at most courses. We had previously been to a Wellington restaurant for a degustation and wine match and lets just say that Chambers Restaurant were extremely generous with their wine matching. Certainly no complaints at our table.

We all had a wonderful evening and would definitely take the opportunity to do the degustation meal again with other friends and I would recommend the restaurant / experience to anyone.

Thanks again to Sam for making it a memorable evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honeypuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprisingly incongruent”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The County Hotel is lovely and gracious and that's what we expected from Chambers, the associated restaurant. However, our expectations proved unrealistic. We had our first meal there, dinner after our arrival, with poor service and fairly average food. It was wasn't bad, just remarkable only for its price-to-quality ratio and the unbelievable slowness of its delivery (we were looking forward to a leisurely dinner but it proved to be over three hours long for two courses with our server noting that the chef was a bit obsessive about everything being "just right"). But, I have to say that it was the butter - individually packaged servings in foil-covered plastic (although inexplicably delivered in ramekins) and rock-hard-cold to boot - that really paints the picture of how incongruent the restaurant's service and attention to detail are to the hotel's (and to its own pretensions). On the upside, the wine pairings were good (though, again, pricey for the quality) but the wines appear to all be stored on racks mounted on the walls of the main dining room, which is such a mind-bogglingly inappropriate way to store wine (the heat! the light!) that I hope all those hundreds of bottles were being sacrificed to decoration (but it appeared otherwise). The breakfast the following morning was also average but, again, quite slow even for the most leisurely of experiences. It was notable that they ran out of coffee (long before breakfast hours were over) and appeared to be entirely unbothered by that deficit, with no offer of making more. Visitors to Napier would be far better served to skip Chambers and head over the the wonderful (more casual and less expensive) Emporium at the Masonic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Exceptional food & service”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant, which is located in the County Hotel, on a Saturday night.
We had a fantastic dinner with wine matches. The very friendly staff made the experience even better and gave us great tips of what to do the next day.
A must-do in Napier. Loved the wine racks on the walls.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeMarcos Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chambers Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Chambers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing