We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Thai in the Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bangkok House Thai Restaurant

Bangkok House Thai Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 194 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb Thai in the Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I wanted a simple quick meal and decided on Thai and having driven past numerous times I thought I would give it a try with a friend. Napier City is not exactly famous for evening restaurant activity so I was surprised to see the restaurant almost full to capacity. Apparently the demand had grown and the restaurant over took the shop next door and expanded. Gavin the host , the owner I think, was great with the type of cynical sense of humour that made the place seem real and not sterile. We just had two dishes and rice which was plenty. There is extra chilly in a side tray if you order your dish extra hot and its still not hot enough. It has all the wine and drinks that you need. Well priced and well worth it. I will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HeikoLade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    38
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Thai in the Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We've tried all the Asian restaurants in and around Napier and Bangkok House stands out from the rest. Had a family meal there a couple of nights ago and it was superb. Will be heading back this coming week. Food is fresh and full of flavours. Good size portions. I drink a particular beer and Gavin the host has gone to the trouble of sourcing and stocking it. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. Great atmosphere and service. Give it a try. You won't regret it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very authentic and warm quick service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

As we walked in we were made to feel welcome. The decor was typical Thai and the menu much more interesting than most Thai in N.Z.
The Massumum curry was very rich as in Northern Thailand. Very enjoyable and very busy with local people. Always a a good sign. Will go back next time in Napier and have recommended it to others already.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maurice e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Thai!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

My sister and i tried this place for the first time on the weekend due to the recommendations from people in napier. We went early in the evening and it was great, the food came out in good time the flavours were fresh and flavourful and the atmosphere was nice, the staff were attentive and friendly. Bangkok house is well priced and we will defiantly be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

The food was very good; however it took forever to come and the ambiance, starring at the toilet door, was not the best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok House Thai Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Bangkok House Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing