We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it's in your budget then the Crown is an absolute must!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Hotel Napier
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If it's in your budget then the Crown is an absolute must!”
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My partner and I chose the Crown quite spontaneously, having heard of its great reputation word of mouth. We were shown all the room types, every room was modern, clean and stylish. We really wanted a room with a good view and the higher floor rooms in the new block have the best views you will get from any hotel in Napier, by a long way. The other rooms are really nice but in my opinion the view is that good it makes all the difference and we'd really recommend getting one of the front rooms if you can. The prices do go up steeply as you upgrade the room type, and it wasn't cheap by our standards, but when you compare it to other hotels that are in its class, it's priced fairly.

The staff were positive, genuine, friendly, knowledgeable and made us feel like we really were welcome and appreciated during the few periods of contact we had with them. The independently operated restaurant had a lovely atmosphere and the food was amazing, no wonder its so popular with locals as well as travellers.

Some people have said it isn't in Napier - it very much is, it just isn't in the CBD, which is a very good thing as it's in the nicest suburb by the marina with cafes, bars and nice areas for walking. Much better location than most of the other hotels/motels as they are in much busier and less attractive areas.

Everything in the room was superb, especially the bathroom with spa bath and the large balcony. Personally, I'd have liked a bigger TV (some room types do have much bigger ones, not sure which). The gym was small, but had the basics and like most people it really wasn't a factor for me anyway. I was surprised internet was charged so much extra, but again wasn't important for us. There's no pool, which would have been e down point had it been summer and a longer stay here, but you're practically on the beach anyway and there is a swimming baths/spa just down the road that's cheap and lovely. Other than those points I really couldn't fault it, as good as you'll get in NZ in this price range, given the excellent corporate facilities they had there too, it's no wonder this place does so much more business than all the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    320
    33
    7
    3
See reviews for
150
645
33
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2010

I stayed two nights. The unit was as new, had a well-equipped kitchen, spacious lounge and very nice bathroom. It was quiet enough - not sure what it would be like in the summer when, presumably, there would be a lot more traffic in the waterfront area. They don't have a proper gym which is a small negative, although I think they have a deal with a local fitness centre which you can travel to.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tepuke37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We had a very lovely stay at the Crown. We chose to stay in a heritage studio - the one with the gas fire. The furnishing and fire really gave the room a great atmosphere. The rooms are refurbished and very comfortable. Underfloor bathroom heating, flat screen tv, seperate area in front of the fire and tv, and a triangle spa bath. I was also impressed by the power saving at the bar/drinks area which light up by sensor.

If you want a seaview, I would recommend the new building and not the heritage buiding with backs onto a street. But this didn't bother us as we just at our breakfast in cafes with the view =)

Don't plan to go to the hotel Milk and Honey Restaurant on a Sunday night unless it's quite busy. It seems some restaurants don't open on Sunday for dinner due to the lack of peope about.. although there are plenty of places in town you can go to.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debnz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We stayed two nights in a Premium Suite which had lovely sea views. The trade off for the sea views was having a bathroom with only a shower (no bath), but the heated bathroom floor was a nice touch! The suite was quite large and simply furnished, with all that you need including a mini bar. Broadband Internet was available for $25 p/day. Our only disappointment was the bed. We knew on booking that the suites only had queens, not kings, but the bed really dipped in the middle, making an uncomfortable night's sleep. We used the guest laundry which was complimentary and I must say the washing machine and drier seemed brand new and did a super quick job. Our only contact with staff was on check in and departure and they were both friendly and efficient.

The Milk & Honey restaurant provided a wonderful in-room breakfast on both mornings. Although we forgot to fill out a breakfast request on the second morning, one quick call and we had a hot breakfast within 20 minutes. The 'Mediterranean Breakfast' is highly recommended. We loved the location, which is just outside Napier city. It is in a quiet seaside village with very nice cafes, galleries and shops to visit. A walk along the boardwalk was also enjoyable. Just across the road was "The Frying Dutchman" fish and chip shop which was outstanding - a must!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Hotel was a little hard to find but stopped at the i-site and directions were great. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room view was towards the water and balcony was a treat. Room was clean and comfortable. Yes, the chicken shop across the street was up and running but the smell did not get in the room. Don't bother with the food there. We walked into Napier which is a good 45 minutes. Safe walking past the port and many logging trucks but breakfast at one of the city outdoor cafes was a worth it. Easy walking along the beach or waterfront for miles. Hotel is located in little village type setting with a few restaurants and shops nearby.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinFishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed in Room 402 which is a Heritage suite with gas fire place. It was roomy, beautiful decor, comfortable, with completely new furnishings and fittings in the Art Deco style. Full gas fire place and large spa bath, underfloor heating and a very comfortable new firm bed. We love the Crown Hotel heritage suites - they even have french doors with small balconies. The area is picturesque, and there are cafes and restaurants across the road. It's a very quiet area at night and we slept perfectly. The staff were friendly and unobtrusive. We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

This hotel is only a couple of years old, so it is very modern and comfortable.

It is a few minutes out of the city, but that suited us just fine. It is right on the beach, with uninterrupted views of the ocean.

We were very happy with our stay, as it was very comfortable and well appointed.

Would recommend the fish and chips down the side street too, very enjoyable with a bottle of NZ's finest Sauvignon Blanc.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsarchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
865 reviews
1.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.0 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
568 reviews
1.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
772 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Napier

Property: The Crown Hotel Napier
Address: Cnr Bridge St & Hardinge Rd | Ahuriri, Napier 4144, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#9 Business Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crown Hotel Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque seaside village of Ahuriri. The Crown Hotel Napier is located on the waterfront amongst boutique shops, cafes and restaurants and only a short drive to the award winning vineyards of the Hawkes Bay. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms and suites including 2 and 3 bedroom luxury apartments. Choose from the elegant heritage suites in the original 1932 Crown Hotel building or the contemporary designed rooms overlooking the ocean. The Crown Hotel offers the ultimate combination of classic opulence and history to modern luxury and design. Offering full conference facilities, complimentary undercover carparking, daily newspaper, guest laundry, fitness centre, outdoor courtyard with fireplace, 2 bars and Milk & Honey Restaurant...relax and indulge at a boutique hotel with timeless charm and genuine personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Crown Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing