We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Spa
Reviews (1,262)
Filter reviews
1,262 results
Traveler rating
855
356
40
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
855
356
40
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmilk and honeypremium studiopillow menuexcellent hotelspa bathseparate toiletbedroom suitemini barrestaurants and barsacross the roadhuge bathroomwest quaysea viewlovely roomgreat spotgood sizecar parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,226 - 1,231 of 1,262 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2009

The only downfall was that it was a bit out of town; however the rooms were brand new & very modern, we booked an ocean view room at the last minute which was good value, and the restaurant downstairs was lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

We stayed here for 1 night in mid January and we thought it was a lovely modern hotel. Plenty of parking which was included in the rate. We got a great deal for a suite with a sea view on the first floor on the new part of the hotel, especially with the strong euro rate against the NZ dollar. We were told that our room was only 64 days old. This hotel is in a suburb area along the sea approx 5 minutes drive from city centre in Napier. However we were glad to have not stayed inside in Napier. There are numerous restaurants in this area. We ate in caution/shed 1 restaurant based on reviews of others on trip advisor. However we were very disappointed with the service and standard of food available in this restaurant. We would rate this one of our poorest meals and one of the worst for value for money while we stayed in NZ. We were also told that caution restaurant was booked out but we counted at least 15 tables that were free during the night - we got the impression that if you didnt have a reservation you were pushed into the shed 1 adjacent restaurant. The hotel had a great breakfast and the staff were excellent - we would rate the continental breakfast as one of the best we had in NZ and fantastic value for money - 15NZ dollars or 6 euro for each !! Overall we would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank irishparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

I have been lucky enough to travel around New Zealand with work. I booked this hotel against the advice of a colleague, am I glad I did.

The Best Bits:

- Brand New
- Fresh and stylish decor
- Balcony with view of the water
- Separate spa bath and shower
- Separate Powder room
- Mini kitchenette
- Room service food "Excellent!"
- Staff service

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kittylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

Booked premium suite with seaviews and large balcony. Unfortunately this suite was ground floor right on corner of road. Anxious about road noise we asked for alternative. Very quickly reaccommodated us in higher floor but room significantly smaller. Not looking out to sea but not too concerned. Room fine. Clean and well equipped. Would have been happier with sofa in room as just three uncomfortable armchairs. Big clean bathroom with spa bath. When bath emptied the floor drain smell was a bit overwhelming. Had that before in other hotels - stagnant stinking water.
I probably should have researched it more but hotel well out of Napier. Took us about 30 mins to walk to town center. Lots of great bars nearby tho and took advice of previous reviewer and dined at Caution in Shed 2. Fantastic food and very (very) attentive service.
No real complaints about the Crown Hotel. All just a bit uninspiring and doesn't really set itself apart in any way.
By the way I just contacted the hotel thinking that our much smaller and less comfortable room was cheaper and was keen for a refund of difference. They very promptly called me back and said this wasn't the case. Hmmm......

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kintailnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

We stayed here just one night on our way from Taupo to Martinborough. Check-in was a bit disappointing in that our room was not ready (OK, it was 2:45pm and check-in was at 3:00pm, but still). They offered us a free drink in the small bar, but we decided to go into Napier (the Crown Hotel is just north of Napier, but its walkable). When we came back to check-in the room was ready, but now we were just offered a 2 for 1 drink. Hmm, kinda cheap. Then, when we went down to have the drink, they told us the bar was closed for a private function for an hour. Nice.

The room itself (Heritage Suite - the one in their pictures) was very nicely appointed, with a large bath with a spa tub and separate shower, and a very comfy bed. Unfortunately the view was just of the back street. The modern suites in the new building have the views.

Overall it was a decent place for the night, but we found it was a bit pricey for what you get - which is basically a nice room. Since the West Quay is so close, we walked over to Caution for dinner and it was AMAZING. So, maybe it was OK that we stayed here and not direcly in Napier.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews