We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Hotel Napier
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I stayed in the studio premium and loved it spacious great views very clean and a great price I would stay there again in a heart beat I stay in hotels on a regular basis and I would rate the crown as been up there with the top for such a great price

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ppprospect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Prospect.

So pleased to hear that you had an 'exceptional' stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hawkes Bay in the not too distant future.

Thank you for taking the time to post you feedback!

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

930 - 936 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

The Crown Hotel is opposite the beach in Ahuriri, the area is beautiful with cafes shops and a boutique movie theatre. The hotel room we were given was gorgeous, lovely big bed, modern, beautiful bathroom, outside deck over looking the beach, they even had a pillow menu! Downstairs is a lovely cafe with delicious food and open early for breakfast. I cannot find a fault with the hotel, its a perfect get-a-way!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiTraveller710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Erinrachel

Great to hear that you explored the local area of Ahuriri and it certainly has everything that you need with all the boutique shops, cafes and restaurants and the beach just across the road.

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments during your stay with us.

Hopefully see you travel up again to stay with us.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Crown is an excellent hotel in Napier. Great location to enjoy the wine country of Hawke's Bay. Accomodations are excellent with a wonderful terrace to enjoy the morning coffee and the evening wine. Parking is convenient and a nice selection of restaurants nearby.
Hotel managers (Neville and Casey) went above and beyond what you would find in most hotels in assisting us to receive important medication we had previously left in Queenstown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEHouTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear LEHoutex

Glad to hear that Neville and Casey organized your medication!
Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Crown Hotel in Napier. The rooms were large - especially the bathroom. Also we really enjoyed the balcony from which we could see and enjoy out bottle of wine, as we took their getaway special. There was a great choice of restaurants nearby and breakfast was included with our deal. All in All a great nights stay, will definitely return.

Room Tip: Go for the getaway special. You get a $40 bottle of wine as well as a voucher for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Maureen

Glad you enjoyed your overnight escape and got to relax and enjoy the hotel and local area.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Myself and my girlfriend had a very brief stay there on Saturday night , room was great and had everything we needed , with the roller door to the balcony left open that night , all we could hear was the waves crashing on the beach all night. We will be staying again for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Andrew

Glad to hear that you had a nice romantic weekend away and you had a wonderful stay.

Looking forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

Michele Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Good attention, good room with balcony and bay view. Good location with nearby Quay restaurants. Visit as well Napier center and the Art Deco streets, as well as the beach promenade, preferably before 5 pm in order to have shops open and vintage cars on the street.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms with sea view above ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Walter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Walter

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments during your recent stay with us. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the local surroundings.

Warm Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our few days at The Crown. The room was lovely with a good kitchen area, great living space and bedroom, and a generous bathroom. The balcony looked across to the ocean and was perfect for having a glass of wine and watching the world pass by. There are lots of little restaurants close by and some quirky shops. You can swim off the beach here which you can't do in Napier, although it is a gravel beach. Breakfast was nice and the staff were friendly. Bonus of free parking on site. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Alexis

I am so glad you took the opportunity to enjoy the views and relax with a glass of wine on your balcony during your recent stay.

It was a pleasure to have you stay at the hotel and we may see you back in Hawkes Bay at some stage.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.


Kind Regards


Michele Cole
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
941 reviews
1.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
805 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
587 reviews
1.1 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#11 of 46 in Napier
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Napier

Address: Cnr Bridge St & Hardinge Rd | Ahuriri, Napier 4144, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#9 Business Hotel in Napier
Price Range: $128 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crown Hotel Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque seaside village of Ahuriri. The Crown Hotel Napier is located on the waterfront amongst boutique shops, cafes and restaurants and only a short drive to the award winning vineyards of the Hawkes Bay. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms and suites including 2 and 3 bedroom luxury apartments. Choose from the elegant heritage suites in the original 1932 Crown Hotel building or the contemporary designed rooms overlooking the ocean. The Crown Hotel offers the ultimate combination of classic opulence and history to modern luxury and design. Offering full conference facilities, complimentary undercover carparking, daily newspaper, guest laundry, fitness centre, outdoor courtyard with fireplace, 2 bars and Milk & Honey Restaurant...relax and indulge at a boutique hotel with timeless charm and genuine personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing