We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel In Napier, appreciated the little touches.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Crown Hotel Napier
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great hotel In Napier, appreciated the little touches.”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Obviously living in Napier, I have not had many chances to check out Napier hotels! Buttt....your wedding night is a little different and we booked into the crown to celebrate our wedding just a few hours before. We were both blown away! Fantastic little touches such as a note from the manager congratulating us and a bottle of champagne for us to celebrate with. The room was fantastic...very modern with some nice touches. The spa pool with the window looking out over the bay was very cool :) If you are from out of town, this place would be a great option. Very modern, clean rooms in the fantastic Ahuriri setting. From what we saw the rates were very competitive for what you get. Ate in the Milk and Honey restaurant for breakfast and we have eaten here before. The food is good but the wait on a Sunday morning can often be quite long. Unfortunately our food was forgotten about and we received it an hour and a half after ordering! Not great but it tasted nice so no real complaints. All in all a memorable experience and I would recommend the Crown to anyone. Thanks to all the staff for making our wedding night a truly unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommybanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Tommy

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Crown Hotel on your wedding day. I have also passed on your comments to Milk & Honey Restaurant in regards to the service you experienced. The restaurant is managed separately to the hotel however we do appreciate the feedback as it is the hotels restaurant for guests and we do expect a high standard of service delivery.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    324
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
154
652
33
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

• Location: Located on the beach promenade with good views of the ocean.
• Staff: they are very friendly, fast and efficient check-in
• Room: the 2-bedroom apartment is of a good size. The decoration is a bit outdated in a motel style, but it is still OK and the apartment is well equipped and has all amenities needed
• I did not eat here so cannot judge the restaurant
• Overall a good choice in Napier for one or two nights

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandTSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear TandT

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback as it is important to us.

We are undergoing a continuous refurbishment programme whereby we have upgraded all the TV's to LED and introduced new posturepedic beds and bedding. Next year we will be undergoing the lounge area of the 1 and 2 bedroom suites.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for our wedding night. The Manager who checked me in was very polite and wished us well for the day. Upon returning that evening they had left us a card and bottle of wine, it was such a thoughtful touch and after a big day it was great to sit and unwind on our balcony over looking the sea and listening to the waves.
The room was big and spacious with lovely bathrooms. The room was spotless and tastefully furnished. a large wardrobe area was perfect for stashing my huge dress during our stay.
All staff were polite and well presented. The room service via Milk and Honey (the restaurant below) was fabulous, it was well presented, hot, of top quality and cheaper than local cafe's.
I would certainly recommend this as a place to stay and am proud that my home town has such a stunning hotel to spoil our visitors.

Room Tip: We stayed in the premium studio on the fourth floor, it had a balcony overlooking Hawke Bay which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Vicky

Congratulations on your recent wedding! It's always nice to hear that the bride and groom particularly enjoyed their stay at the hotel especially when your wedding day can be so stressful. Sounds as though you were very relaxed!

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Superb staff and a fantastic location. I have traveled to Napier many times and this is by far and away the best place I have ever stayed at there. I am most definitely heading back. Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear AndrewB

Thanks for the lovely feedback. Sounds as though we will see you back in Napier and hopefully the Crown Hotel at some stage soon!

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel is located on the Ahuriri esplanade which was a great location. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The two bedroom heritage room was very nice and we truly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear GaryC

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback. Glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in a one bedroom apartment. Apartments are very spacious, bathroom as well. Loved our stay here. Bed was extremely comfy & beautiful linen . Very clean & well equipped kitchenette. Lovely balcony overlooking little village of Ahuriri, enjoyed breakfast twice over the road at Café Zest, highly recommend for food & service. Also enjoyed cupcakes from Bonnie Cakes a must visit. Could view the sea from balcony very relaxing & peaceful. A beautiful modern apartments so glad we stayed here. Guest Laundry available which was great even provide free detergent & the dryer is wonderful. Great to be able to walk along beach a beautiful setting. Staff all very friendly & helpful. Loved it thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Lulu09

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly the local area around the hotel. Bonnie Cakes is a staff favourite!!!

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments and hopefully we may see you return to Napier at some stage in the future.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We booked into the Crown Hotel to break our journey from Gisborne to Wellington and were very pleased that we did. Our room overlooked the Ahuriri esplanade and the sea and the room decor was light and modern. Plenty of room and very clean and well serviced. We didn't need to use the staff much but they were attentive and helpful when we did. We had to leave early and there was no place to drop the keys but that's a minor niggle, otherwise great. Nice to be able to walk to the cafe's just along the way. A nice stay

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murry_Cave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Murray

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor. Nice to see that you enjoyed the waterfront with the many restaurants and cafes around the hotel and Ahuriri.
If guests leave before reception opens at 6.45am you may leave your keys in your room or alternatively there is an afterhours phone by reception.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
899 reviews
0.0 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
575 reviews
1.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 47 in Napier
784 reviews
1.1 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#13 of 47 in Napier
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Napier

Property: The Crown Hotel Napier
Address: Cnr Bridge St & Hardinge Rd | Ahuriri, Napier 4144, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#9 Business Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crown Hotel Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque seaside village of Ahuriri. The Crown Hotel Napier is located on the waterfront amongst boutique shops, cafes and restaurants and only a short drive to the award winning vineyards of the Hawkes Bay. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms and suites including 2 and 3 bedroom luxury apartments. Choose from the elegant heritage suites in the original 1932 Crown Hotel building or the contemporary designed rooms overlooking the ocean. The Crown Hotel offers the ultimate combination of classic opulence and history to modern luxury and design. Offering full conference facilities, complimentary undercover carparking, daily newspaper, guest laundry, fitness centre, outdoor courtyard with fireplace, 2 bars and Milk & Honey Restaurant...relax and indulge at a boutique hotel with timeless charm and genuine personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing