We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Art Deco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crown Hotel Napier
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our stay in the 2 bedroom Heritage suite was great. Choosing it on spec that we should stay somewhere a little Art-Deco as we were touring Napier, the suite was located above reception in the original hotel. No lift, but the front desk helped us carry up luggage up the flight of stairs.

Not knowing what to expect as the photos on the website were sparse, we found the suite beautifully appointed with comfy beds and very modern ensuites in each bedroom. Ours had a spa bath, L'Occitane products and the suite boasted a balcony with a part view of the waterfront. It also overlooked a modern public courtyard with fireplace; fortunately, others enjoying that public space with their glasses of wine all dispersed by 9 pm. The lounge was relatively spacious, albeit with no kitchen, just tea making facilities and a fridge.

Brekkie was outsourced, but the restaurants in the modern part of their accommodations were well appointed, with good bar and coffee spaces.

The hotel comprises a large section of modern rooms and apartments overlooking the waterfront and the original section, which we stayed in. Not exactly convenient to the centre of town, this place is great if you're driving.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheQueenslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Queenslander

Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in our 2 bedroom Heritage Suite. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Hopefully we may see you back in New Zealand in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

Perfect 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartments opposite the beach in Napier.
Friendly service, super clean apartments, wi-fi, cable tv, cook top and top quality linen
Spacious enough for a family of 4. Parking underneath and shops across the road

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Harriet

Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our 2 bedroom apartments! Thank you for taking the time to post your great feedback on Trip Advisor.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our first trip to NZ and booked all our accomodation over the internet. It always varies from the pictures you see online to what you get in person...but not here. The Crown was an excellent place to stay. We had four nights in a 2 bedroom suite. It was fantastic! I loved the pillow menu and the beds were so comfortable.
On the first night of our stay we were greeted with cup cakes from Bonnie Cakes which was across the road from our balcony...this became a daily ritual for us to sample the treats they had to offer.
Our suite was very clean and well maintained. The service was excellent and staff friendly.
We would definately come back to stay here again!!
Thank you
The Hellyer Family

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JHellyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear JHellyer

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed you stay in the apartment and our newly introduced pillow menu!

Bonnie Cakes is big favourite with our staff and locals and dangerous when it is accros the road from the hotel!!

Thanks again

Kind Regards

Michele Cole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at The Crown Hotel Napier on our visit to New Zealand. Napier is a lovely town and staying at The Crown made it even better. The hotel is lovely with all facilities you may need including your own kitchenette well stocked and balcony overlooking the beach. Located on the port side you dont get any wind which is great, and the hotel even has its own cinema. The laundrette was free to use which is amazing with detergents provided. Another plus is the beautiful Milk and Honey restaurant located downstairs in the hotel - beautiful food and great service. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Simblair

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely feedback and i am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Hawkes Bay and at The Crown Hotel. Ahuriri is certainly a lovely place to stay, with it being right on the waterfront and many restaurants, boutique shops etc all on your doorstep.

Hopefully you will return back to New Zealand from Perth at some stage in the future.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Napier was our last stop on our New Zealand holiday and it was a good place to finish. The Crown Hotel was a perfect choice in a great location just across the road from the boardwalk and beach. The reception was very friendly and efficient, and our room had a balcony with a great view over the bay. The room was comfortable and quiet despite being on the seafront road.
Car parking was underground so the car kept cool. There was wifi internet access and a small bar if you wanted a drink.
We loved this place and we would like to return again sometime.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bursledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Bursledon

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Crown Hotel and Hawkes Bay.

Hopefully we will see you back in NZL in the not too distant future?

PS Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback!

Kind Regards

Michele Cole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed here a few times and they never disappoint. We were in a 1-bedroomed apartment with a balcony area so you can sit and enjoy the weather, have a meal outside should you wish. Very comfortable beds, good bathrooms and kitchen setup. A great location and close to everything. Ahuriri has a lot of eateries so you do not have to take the car and drive into Napier city are if you do not wish to. The staff are friendly and the cleanliness is always excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Poppylover

It is always a pleasure to welcome back our regular guests and thank you for your continued support.

Great to hear that you love the local area and it is nice not to have to drive anywhere if you don't want to!!!

We look forward to welcoming you back again at The Crown Hotel and Hawkes Bay.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here overnight for business. Got a good deal on the room, which was very new and clean. Well furnished, bed was OK, but quality was average. Service was good, location was excellent, restaurants close by and a arty cinema next door as well. Highly recommended and I will most likely stay here again next time in Napier.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Dave864

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I was surprised regarding the comment that our quality of beds were average. I am not sure what room type you stayed in but majority of the hotel has been recently refurbished with new top of the range posturepedic beds. The 12 remaining rooms were left untouched as they are still relatively new.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Michele Cole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
941 reviews
1.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
805 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
587 reviews
1.1 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#11 of 46 in Napier
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Napier

Address: Cnr Bridge St & Hardinge Rd | Ahuriri, Napier 4144, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#3 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#9 Business Hotel in Napier
Price Range: $128 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crown Hotel Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque seaside village of Ahuriri. The Crown Hotel Napier is located on the waterfront amongst boutique shops, cafes and restaurants and only a short drive to the award winning vineyards of the Hawkes Bay. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms and suites including 2 and 3 bedroom luxury apartments. Choose from the elegant heritage suites in the original 1932 Crown Hotel building or the contemporary designed rooms overlooking the ocean. The Crown Hotel offers the ultimate combination of classic opulence and history to modern luxury and design. Offering full conference facilities, complimentary undercover carparking, daily newspaper, guest laundry, fitness centre, outdoor courtyard with fireplace, 2 bars and Milk & Honey Restaurant...relax and indulge at a boutique hotel with timeless charm and genuine personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing