We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sewage smell in bathroom - Manager said "thats the risk you take when booking a hotel"” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Hotel Napier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Crown Hotel Napier
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sewage smell in bathroom - Manager said "thats the risk you take when booking a hotel"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have tried my best to find someone else to report this to privately but to no avail.
I will keep this brief.
When we took a bath, there was to much water in it, so we needed to let a little out. When we did so, water spurted up out of the sink and a horrendous noise and sewage smell came up from the drain in the floor.
On going to bed the fan in the bathroom would not turn off and clicked all night. This could be heard from the bed.
Windows were not double glazed so street racers could be heard till very late.
At 5:45 the alarm clock started to beeb. No matter what we did, it wouldn't stop. Luckily we were still half awake because of the fan. I rang reception. I got a very rude and aggressive woman, who told me to "just pull out the batteries". No mention of apology was given at this point. I said I was very tired and still greif stricken by the funeral we were up there for and that I would leave the clock on the doorstep for someone to collect. The groan that followed emplied she thought this was daft.
Her husband then came up to collect it. I told him about the bathroom. He said they would fix it in the morning after we checked out. Which I am sure will be lovely for the next guests.
In the morning with no sleep and still sad about the funeral, I calmly said we would be requesting a refund. The manager rush out of her office at me. She said very loudly that she would not be giving me a refund. That plumbing issues happen and that this was a risk we take when we booked into a hotel."
She was agressive and overbearing and horrid. If an apology had been given at 6am and maybe a free breakfast, this may have been forgiven. But once I was verbally attacked. There is no going back without a full refund and a video apology on you tube.
If you want a horrible time, by all means book at the crown. If you are into B&D you may have found your dream location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacqui358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
The comments in regards to myself and your recent stay at The Crown Hotel are incorrect and inaccurate.
The comments are also inconsistent with the many reviews that we have received on Trip Advisor, with guests having an excellent experience and a wonderful stay with great service!
The Crown Hotel would not have received Trip Advisor Travellers Choice Winner and Certificate of Excellence 2013 if I, or any of my staff, undertook the so called behavior that you have pointed out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    300
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
144
609
30
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Sensational hotel, where does one begin..just got back from two weeks from south to north island...and best hotel we stayed in all the way through, our stay of only two nights was made amazing by the room facilities..the bed, toiletries l,octaine, (which i just love anyhow) the linen, towels, coffee, room size...we had corner on 413.. Loved the spa..balcony... Actually everything.... Well done guys...just lovely... Dee&max

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Dee and Max

Thank you for the lovely comments about your recent stay at our hotel and great to hear that you had a lovely time away.
Hope you had a wonderful trip around NZL?

Hopefully we may see you back in NZL at some stage int eh future?

Warm Regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here recently for the last night of our stay in the Hawkes Bay- The Crown is certainly one of the top hotels we have stayed at recently and we travel a lot. The Cost was un-believably small compared to the quality of this charming place. The room was fantastic we had a heritage room and although the view was not much we simply chilled out and relaxed. The room was spotlessly clean and amenities fantastic.

Disappointed the Milk And Honey Restaurant was not open but we too were told by reception about Three Doors up- Food was great too. We plan too come back soon and experience Milk and Honey & the Crown Again soon and send my parents to experience too. Keep up the good work guys!!

Room Tip: We were in a Heritage room and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Fleur

Thank you for taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor. So glad you enjoyed your stay in the Heritage Suites. If you plan to come back and stay at the Crown Hotel perhaps try out the Studio Premium Suites that have the direct seaviews.

Apologies that Milk & Honey Restaurant is not open on a Sunday evening but glad you enjoyed Three Door Up it is a very nice restaurant and very convenient to the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future, along with perhaps your parents?

Warm regards

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed with friends in one of the loft apartments (2 bedroom) and they are beautifully fitted out (old woolstores) with gorgeous bathrooms and lovely decor in the open plan lounge/dining/kitchen area - would highly recommend for 2 couples or family travelling to the Hawkes Bay - could have done with a few more amenities in the kitchen but still a great place - gas fire and heat pumps ensured we were snug all weekend no matter what the weather was going to do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaF59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Anna

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Glad to hear that your recent stay in the Loft Apartments provided a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Many guests thoroughly enjoy the space and layout of each of these apartments.
Hopefully we will welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Michele
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

For about a decade I have been travelling to Napier 5 times a year. Before The Crown opened I struggled to find a good hotel to stay in. That changed when The Crown opened and I always plan early to ensure I can get a room here.

The rooms are always spotless, the service friendly and my preferences remembered. It keeps improving and I am a very happy traveller. On a few occasions my family have travelled with me and the flexibility to accommodate all of us is appreciated.

Why haven't I given it 5 stars? The Internet connection is a bit expensive and the tv's have a habit of misbehaving, although I have learnt that a "reboot" at the power point normally fixes that.

I will continue to be a regular at The Crown.

Room Tip: The new section, above Milk & Honey is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Michael

Thank you for posting your comments and it is always a pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel!

Glad you hear that you enjoy your stays with us and that you take the time to notice improvements around the hotel.

In regards to the internet we now have wifi in all the rooms throughout the hotel and offer 1/2 hour complimentary and we also a local provider int he area provides 1hours complimentary.
I am not too sure on the TV issues you are referring to? However I know a couple of times there was an issue with time delay in the speech with the lip movement!!!...and that was a matter of rebooting the system at our end. Which seems to be absolutely fine now.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown.

Michele Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here again and yet again the experience was amazing. Do not stay anywhere else in Napier . Customer service fabulous, suites lovely, wonder choice of foods in the in room bar, great toiletries and lovely restaurant the milk and honey underneath, Cannot wait to go back

Room Tip: Ask to look out to sea its wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicheleCole, General Manager at The Crown Hotel Napier, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Jill

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoy the amenities in your room and glad you enjoy your stay every time you come back.
My staff and i look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

See you soon

Michele Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Qld
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Lovely hotel, great staff, L'Occitane toiletries wow!

No view from our Heritage Suite but the room was comfortable.

Distance from Napier was a bit far if you want to drive and have a couple of glasses with your meal

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.0 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 48 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel Napier

Property: The Crown Hotel Napier
Address: Cnr Bridge St & Hardinge Rd | Ahuriri, Napier 4144, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#4 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#7 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#9 Business Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Crown Hotel Napier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the picturesque seaside village of Ahuriri. The Crown Hotel Napier is located on the waterfront amongst boutique shops, cafes and restaurants and only a short drive to the award winning vineyards of the Hawkes Bay. The hotel offers 42 guestrooms and suites including 2 and 3 bedroom luxury apartments. Choose from the elegant heritage suites in the original 1932 Crown Hotel building or the contemporary designed rooms overlooking the ocean. The Crown Hotel offers the ultimate combination of classic opulence and history to modern luxury and design. Offering full conference facilities, complimentary undercover carparking, daily newspaper, guest laundry, fitness centre, outdoor courtyard with fireplace, 2 bars and Milk & Honey Restaurant...relax and indulge at a boutique hotel with timeless charm and genuine personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Crown Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing