We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best moment: when we finally left this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
At the Rocks Motor Lodge
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best moment: when we finally left this place”
Reviewed January 21, 2011

We dont understand how this place got such a good rating on tripadvisor!
We are travelling since two months and this was the worst place we have been to so far.
The negative highlights besides unfriendliness: One minute after check-out time wifi was turned off. It was a hazle to convince the owners to use the paid guest washing machine 30 minutes longer after official check-out time - at this time we have been the only guests at the lodge.
We didnt feel welcome at all.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne_zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    27
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
67
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

The linen, pillows, furniture and fittings are new and of a high standard. The wireless access is free and there are two channels. The password they gave us was actually for the other channel, which has a similar name and shows up on your wireless client.

There is a rather expensive restaurant within walking distance but you should drive into the city (or take a long walk) to explore other options.

We stayed for just one night and this was the best experience during our three-week drive from Cape Reinga to Bluff over three weeks.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trainsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We have just completed a trip around North Island, New Zealand. I booked At The Rocks because of excellent Trip Advisor reviews and they were all correct. Lovely modern room with more than usual lighting features, good decor and totally clean, large modern bathroom with a spa bath, quiet location (near beach but you need to drive to town) free newspaper, best range of television channels on whole of trip and a current television prgram. A small gym and since it was raining I used the exercise bike for half an hour.
The proprietors were exceptionally friendly and helpful and told us where to go for dinner. Look at the motel website for a special deal for booking directly with them. At $140.00 for the night no where else that we stayed came close to this for value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2010

A most enjoyable stay, credit to the cleaners as the unit was spotless. A big thanks to the proprietors Dave and Jan for providing a top class stay. The location was great, the beach just a few minutes walk and town a 5 minute drive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mostimpressed89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Lovely motel. Had a beautiful spa bathroom. Everything was imacculate. Good facilities and very friendly and helpful owners. Quiet location but not far from town and cafes etc.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHouseCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Recently we had to be in Napier and discovered this very pleasant motel. It was a pleasant stay in nice and clean rooms. Friendly reception service. Great outlook over the estuary. Nice for a morning walk. Not very close to the city centre but close to the beach. Good location in relation to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinenzwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Great motel, nice and clean, well appointed. will be my first choice for Napier from now on.
Quiet too, would have liked to stay a bit longer.
I don't usually sleep well in hotels but this was the exception, internet connection was also good in my room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igota29er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.6 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
2.0 mi away
Deco City Motor Lodge
Deco City Motor Lodge
#15 of 47 in Napier
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairley Motor Lodge
Fairley Motor Lodge
#7 of 47 in Napier
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#34 of 47 in Napier
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Court Motel
Cedar Court Motel
#25 of 47 in Napier
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Rocks Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Rocks Motor Lodge

Property: At the Rocks Motor Lodge
Address: 27 Meeanee Quay, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — At the Rocks Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Qualmark 4 plus star motel featuring modern deluxe studio, executive and family rooms with relaxing spa baths, romantic clawfoot baths and private gym. Situated adjacent to Ahuriri Estuary and close to Napier's West Quay with wonderful waterfront dining, bars and cafe's, and still only 5 minutes from Napier City Centre and Airport. We are only 80 metres from a safe swimming beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your At the Rocks Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing