We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
At the Rocks Motor Lodge
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Really good quality motel. Room had private outside seating area and bathroom had claw foot bath. Breakfast also very good. Motel out of town center but walking distance to wharf restaurant area which is good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    27
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
67
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I thoroughly recommend this little gem of a motor lodge in Napier! First of all, I was struck by the kind helpfulness of mine host David, the owner/manager - nothing was too much trouble. Next, the peace and tranquility of the place was marvelous. We were given a complimentary up-grade to a king-size and found the room very comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean. The Service staff were so friendly and obliging, that it felt like a home-away-from-home. "At The Rocks" is within easy walking distance of a number of choice eateries and its location right near the estuary make it an ideal place for long, leisurely walks along the waterfront. This is not a big establishment -which I guess is part of its charm - but it certainly had everything wanted to make for a perfect 7-day holiday to Napier for a family Christmas re-union. Finally, we found that "The Rocks" made an ideal base from which to explore the Art Deco City of Napier, as well as the surrounding Hawke's Bay vineyards, with their interesting wines and, in many cases, delectable gourmet meals. There are, of course, many tours provided, but I would suggest that a hire car is the best way to explore this region to your heart's content.

Room Tip: Probably get a room right inside the courtyard foir maximum peace and quiet, although all rooms seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255069GeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Knowing little about the Napier area, I took a chance and booked a room near the beach but not far from town. I hit a home run this time. Located on a spit of sand and on the business cutoff into the city (although very quiet) the accommodations knocked me out. It was lovely. The unit contained a kitchenette, one of the nicest and larges bathrooms I've seen anywhere, and a private patio. Oh, and the bed was superb too. The free WiFi was an added plus. The drive into downtown Napier was only about 15 min, allowing ample time to stroll along the waterfront, nosh a bit at the incredible Pacifica Restaurant (separate review), and take in all of the fun Art Deco structures built in the 30s after a devastating earthquake. I loved this part of New Zealand, Hawke's Bay, and it was a very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were met by David, the owner who gave us a great deal for our two night weekend away stay.

Very informative, and with the aid of the many maps, brochures and local knowledge, virtually had our weekend mapped out for us, with New Zealand's best fish n chip shop for tea (and yes, very good!), some of the best wine tasting locations IN THE WORLD! and great shopping areas.

The room had a separate lounge/kitchen combo, and bedroom, with ensuite. Very spacious and clean. Loved the 2 TVs ( 1 in the lounge, 1 in the bedroom ).

Right next to the lagoon on the one side, and the sea on the other. Well located - about 3ks to the city centre.

We will return and have recommended this location to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The room At the Rocks was modern, clean and spacious. Big room with kitchenette, and huge bathroom. Lovely welcome from friendly owner. We took our bikes and had somewhere to store them overnight. Bike tracks all around the region and the motel is close to the marina area with great restaurants overlooking the water. Thoroughly recommend this if you want great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linden06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for 2 days while touring wineries. Great location. Big, clean, comfortable room with a kitchenette. Bathroom was a nice size with a large jetted tub. Great value for the money. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent 2 nights at At the Rocks over a weekend. Enjoyed the funky corrigated iron exterior and paua inlayed wooden furniture and the location between the sea and the estuary plus close to the restaurants at the port. Unit was clean, tidy and spacious with a great tiled bathroom including spa bath. All in all a great weekend getaway.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank forans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
Cedar Court Motel
Cedar Court Motel
#22 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#34 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marineland Motels
Marineland Motels
#26 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairley Motor Lodge
Fairley Motor Lodge
#10 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#15 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albatross Motel
Albatross Motel
#11 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Rocks Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Rocks Motor Lodge

Property: At the Rocks Motor Lodge
Address: 27 Meeanee Quay, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — At the Rocks Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Qualmark 4 plus star motel featuring modern deluxe studio, executive and family rooms with relaxing spa baths, romantic clawfoot baths and private gym. Situated adjacent to Ahuriri Estuary and close to Napier's West Quay with wonderful waterfront dining, bars and cafe's, and still only 5 minutes from Napier City Centre and Airport. We are only 80 metres from a safe swimming beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your At the Rocks Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing