We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room, out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
At the Rocks Motor Lodge
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent room, out of town”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The motel is situated on the main road into town but traffic noise was not a problem. A fish & chip restaurant is a short walk away but you will need to drive into town for cafes, restaurants.and shops.

We were warmly greeted by the owner who gave us information on the local area. Our room had been recently refurbished and windows at both ends of the room made it light and airy. Patio doors led out onto a secluded decked area which had a double seat plus attached table. My wife and I sat outside and enjoyed the afternoon sun while having a drink of wine. The bed was very comfortable.

The bathroom was large and had a roll-top bath. A large separate shower area in the opposite corner was enclosed by a tiled wall and curtain. The shower head was fixed and offered adjustable spray settings. Everything was modern and worked well.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iantravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    27
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
67
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Booked and paid online for a mini room but on arrival we were upgraded to queen with spa. Super owners, friendly and helpful. Room was spotless. Can't fault it.

Room Tip: I'd advise asking for a room away from the road if sleep is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenmaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2011

This was a very clean and well designed motel. An amazing spa bath that had a lot of use in the time that we were there. Adored the managers Dave and Jan, really friendly and made us feel at home. It had a private outdoor area if you are a smoker or just wanted some fresh air. We loved the 2 tv's great for a couple that have different tastes. All and all a great stay and I would go back any day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

What a beauty!!! The motor lodge was absolutely lovely, well maintained a real credit to the patrons Dave and Jan who by the way were the perfect hosts. The room i stayed in was spacious, very clean and the spa bath was to die for! Great value i will definitely be back to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

This motel is well situated on the west shore of the lovely Art Deco town of Napier, close to the sea. The decor, furnishings and especially the beautiful bathroom with its spa bath were of a better quality than many motels, but the room itself was very small, with nowhere to actually leave 2 suitcases without potentially falling over them. There was no kitchen, just a microwave and toaster, yet we paid more than in many motels in New Zealand. I think motels need to get their priorities right. After all, there is only so long you can spend in the bath.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SusanJH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daverayner53, Owner at At the Rocks Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Thank you for your review, we always welcome our guests feedback.
The room you booked is described on the site you booked on, as with all other sites that we use as "Mini studio". This is self explanatory. All our other rooms are bigger than this , hence the description of" mini" for the room you chose to book . Our prices reflect the seasons and availability,we feel for the standard of our Qualmark rated 4star plus motel, our prices are at the low end of the rates of similar motels. We do have limited kitchen facilities in all rooms with kitchen units, microwave, toaster , electric fry pan, fridge and tea and coffee making facilities, again we do not advertise full cooking facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Royal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

As Innkeepers in Canada ourselves we tend to be a little discerning and we were incredibly impressed with At The Rocks. Outstanding hospitality, immaculately clean, nice outside space, 5 minute drive to town, Napier was a huge treat for us including the Hastings Farmers Market, Art Deco Tour, Milk & Honey Restaurant, and wine tastings at Clearview and Elephant Hill, a MUST visit town!

Room Tip: All great, seriously!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tofino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Just came home from an amazing trip round the North Island of New Zealand. During our stay in Napier we were lucky enough to stay at this motor lodge. I aren't really the sort of person to bother with writing reviews (unless I have a really bad experience) but this one was SOOOO good I felt I had to share it.
After staying in numerous, shall we say "dodgy" hotels under the same star rating this one was a welcome relief!
The rooms were exceptionally clean and fresh. I am a fitness freak so It was great to have a gym available,not to mention the beach and foreshore just across the way for my runs. The owners were helpful with my questions about how to get about, and things to do. It was by far the best and most comfortable stay whilst in NZ .... You rock "the rocks"!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.6 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#13 of 47 in Napier
77 reviews
2.0 mi away
Deco City Motor Lodge
Deco City Motor Lodge
#16 of 47 in Napier
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairley Motor Lodge
Fairley Motor Lodge
#7 of 47 in Napier
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albatross Motel
Albatross Motel
#12 of 47 in Napier
567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#33 of 47 in Napier
111 reviews
1.9 mi away
Motel de la Mer
Motel de la Mer
#23 of 47 in Napier
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Rocks Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Rocks Motor Lodge

Property: At the Rocks Motor Lodge
Address: 27 Meeanee Quay, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — At the Rocks Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Qualmark 4 plus star motel featuring modern deluxe studio, executive and family rooms with relaxing spa baths, romantic clawfoot baths and private gym. Situated adjacent to Ahuriri Estuary and close to Napier's West Quay with wonderful waterfront dining, bars and cafe's, and still only 5 minutes from Napier City Centre and Airport. We are only 80 metres from a safe swimming beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your At the Rocks Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing