We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albatross Motel
Nearby Hotels
$125
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
expressotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ormlie Lodge(Napier)
$142
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The County Hotel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$163
$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Art Deco Masonic Hotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$253
$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$165
$140
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dome(Napier)
$139
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quality Inn Napier Travel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$89
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveler rating
256
249
65
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
249
65
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky channelswet roomroad noisewestshore beachfree wifistay there againon arrivalshort driveenjoyed our stayspa poolacross the roadbed was comfortableclean roomscooking facilitiesbars and restaurantsgreat place to staypleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
576 - 581 of 594 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed at the Albatross Motel in Napier for 3 nights in October and highly recommend it to potential visitors to Napier. Hosts, Helen and Nigel Pedersen, warmly welcomed us, provided excellent information on 'must see' around Napier and offered free wireless internet connection during our stay. Our room was well appointed with everything you need, well presented, and at very reasonable cost. Helen and Nigel 'went out of their way' to care for us and offer assistance to obtain information about potential travel issues that we may have during our holiday. Don't drive past this motel without checking it out. Dawn & Ron Ehrke, Adelaide, SA. Australia

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdelaideNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2009

Thank you so much for your positive review.

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and got to enjoy your delicious Hawkes Bay Cheeses.

Regards Helen and Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed here just for one night on the way to Wellington. From the initial checkin the owners were very friendly which was the main reason we decided to stay here. They seem like they would go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The location is good, on one of the main highways coming into the town and over looking the estuary, with a short walk to the marina which has bars and restaurants. The room is basic, nice comfy bed, good heating, small bathroom, kitchen with microwave, fridge, kettle, toaster, tea/coffee etc. Excellent value for money and the cheapest we have experienced so far travelling around the North Island of NZ. 50MB Wi Fi internet also for free. Napier is a unique/quirky town with a laid back atmosphere, you could easily spend a few days wandering around exploring the art deco buildings, stunning coastlines and wineries. A must see if coming to NZ!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becstarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2009

Thank you so much for your positive comments. Helpfulness is what we try to do best.

Do hope the rest of your trip was all positive and you had a great and memorable time tripping around this lovely country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I Am writing To Say that the service i received at albatross hotel in napier was the best customer service i have seen in a long time. i have been wroking in retail for many years and i know the importance of a smile and being kind and considerate to customers. peter and reawyn at the hotel made our stay so enjoyable and nice that i Am thinking of a reason just To go back again soon. the rooms were lovely and had everything stated they would. i would definitly reccomend this hotel to anyone wishing to be treated kind fair and given a frindly smile all the time. thankyou so much :)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelseaWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2009

Thank you very much for your comments.

Have passed on your email to Raewyn and Peter to let them know that their good service was appreciated.

We hope to see you again and a warm welcome awaits you at the Albatross.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We stayed one night here en route to Rotorua. The Motel seemed at first to be in the middle of nowhere, but was in fact quite close to the marina area, and not too far from town centre for those of us with a car. The room was clean and though the heater didn't work, the lady at reception provided us with a spare that was more than adequate. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was ok. The shower was functional, though not the best in NZ, the land of the long hot shower. The room was very clean, the kitchen was well equipped, although we didn't use it. Noise could be an issue for those who travel without -32db earplugs, we both had a good night's sleep. Free access to 50Mb of wireless internet at good speed was a bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2009

Thank you very much for your review. Do apologise about the heater. We have a had a bad run with quite a few conking out lately. It now has a new one. As always if something malfunctions or breaks, we endaevour to fix , replace or remedy straight away.

We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in NZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Stayed 2 nights here, touring New Zealand. I think our room had been partly refurbished but still very dated. The duvet cover looked like something my Grandma would have had years ago, chintzy, floral.The kitchen unit was old and the fridge ancient. The bedside table had a plastic mat covering paint peeled off underneath.
We had a wet room for a bathroom which I am not very fond of as everything gets very ..... wet and there was no room to swing a cat. On the shower wall was a sign with instructions ending "You do not have to suffer a cold shower" This was true but in order to get it hot the flow was small.
It wasn't a terrible room but if you advertise rooms as refurbished when it's only partly done you must expect people to be disppointed. Also needed to drive into Napier, not walkable, although there are some bars/cafe 5 /10mins walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucyCheshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2009

We are very sorry that this guest was disappointed. We can give 2 different guests exactly the same room and one will be delighted , the other not.
The comment that the kitchen cupboards are old is unfounded. They have classic white doors with new modern handles and the shiny stainless steel bench tops are timeless. Some of our fridges are old but we can only afford to replace when they cease to work properly.
The floral duvet cover referred to is the continental quilt underneath the new and fashionable covers top of all of the beds.
Unfortunatley, some careless guests have ruined some of our new bedside tables , hence the covers on all of them to prevent further damage.
There a difference between claiming renovated and refurbished. Refurbished means new furniture,carpets, drapery, linen etc. Renovated means ripping out fixtures and fittings etc.We have refurbished our standard studio rooms and renovated the deluxe studios and one bedroom units.

Disappointed that we still only got a low rating for cleanliness and service. We have a high standard when it comes to cleaning and always go out of our way to make all guests feel welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews