We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best motel in town”
Review of Albatross Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albatross Motel
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best motel in town”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were lucky enough to find this wonderful motel as we had booked into another hotel/motel just up the road and found it to be dirty and well below average for the price.
We could not have been happier with the unit at Albatross motel absolutely clean with all the modern cons including 50 channels of sky TV and a price that was real value for money.
We travel to Napier at least twice a year just for a sporting activity with a team of at least 8 to 10 players all in the 40 to 60 age group so are quite discerning as to there accommodation however as a result of our stay the whole team will stay in future.
Thanks very much for your hospitality and the way that you present your motel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. It makes our day to see a happy guest. We have a great facility for teams , so look forward to looking after yours one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    235
    62
    11
    9
See reviews for
159
249
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tirau, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very very clean and convenient for walks and access into town.
Welcoming hosts who can not do enough to make you welcome,and advice on places to eat and visit.
we will be back again to this motel not many that are this clean and convenient.
And even better we can take the dog with us without issue, many many thanks for a a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We are so glad that you and your dog enjoyed your stay and you found our rooms very clean. Cleanliness and helpfulness are top of the list of essentials for us to provide. thank you for reviewing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PN
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in the deluxe room and thoroughly enjoyed the luxuriousness of it. As a participant in IronMaori it was also great to be able to relax in the spa after my epic bike ride.
Two other family members stayed in a upstairs room, this was very basic but comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed a soak in the spa after your race. Well done with competing in such a great event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Pleasant and welcoming owners and cleaning staff, easy check in process, 2br room nice and spacious (comfortably slept 3 couples) and well appointed, roomy kitchen and bathroom, nice hot shower, comfy beds, clean linen and high standard of cleanliness overall. Well priced. Only negative (hence the 4 star rating) would be the traffic noise from the road, but it's not too busy after 10pm so wasn't too bad.

Room Tip: If you want an early night's sleep (which we did), go for a room further from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntyuncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we enjoyed being hospital hosts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KERIKERI
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Enjoyed our one night stay and will definitely return if we are in need of accomodation again.
Very well priced and clean room. Functional for all our needs, including the kitchen. Lovely bed linen
and free wii and FlyBuy Rewards!!
Thanks

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing us. We would love it if you came back again and earned some more Flybuys points with us. November is triple flybuys month too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were welcomed right from the start to this well priced accommodation-we asked for a specific type of venue for our evening meal and was directed to an excellent local 'real ale' pub style venue-which also provided a superb meal-the following day we were given precise directions for our on going journey-Thank you Nigel and Helen for an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Ask and Nigel and Helen if you need anything and they will do their best to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nannaneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We thank you for your review and were glad we were able to advise you with our local knowledge and to be able to send you on your way with the right information on where you were heading. It is always our pleasure to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Room was functional and well equipped. We had the impression that upstairs studios had a deck with a view of the estuary...not so. The deck is a shared facility and you have to leave your unit to access it. Nice spot for a red wine in the evening if it was not for all the trucks that park along the road and partly obstruct the view.

Reception people nice and friendly and room comfortable but probably a slight let down.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randspayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do apologise if you got the wrong impression regarding balconies. We do not advertise anywhere at all that the rooms have a private balcony. So we are not aware of where you may have read such information. The balcony runs the whole length of the upper floor studios with a large area in the middle with tables and chairs for any guest to enjoy and it is only a few metres from any room . Yes trucks do park across the road a few evenings each week but hardly ever do we see any for the three nights of a weekend.. The view is still lovely though, especially at high tide and a colourful sunset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
2.3 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
570 reviews
1.9 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
68 reviews
2.0 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairley Motor Lodge
Fairley Motor Lodge
#7 of 47 in Napier
263 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#18 of 47 in Napier
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Motel

Property: Albatross Motel
Address: 56 Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Napier
#4 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Family Hotel in Napier
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#11 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albatross Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation proud to have scored 9.5/10 on Target TV, Unlimited Free Wifi, Guest Select 50+ TV Channels to choose from, 200m to the beach and overlooking the estuary. Range of room types to suit a variety of requirements and budgets. Refurbished rooms, Swimming pool and spa.You are guaranteed a warm welcome and friendly service at The Albatross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albatross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatross Hotel Napier
Albatross Motel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing