We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect accommodation”
Review of Albatross Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albatross Motel
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A deluxe studio that was clean, well appointed, and perfect for both business or traveling couple. Very friendly and helpful hosts. Traffic noise acceptable. Very handy to the airport, and plenty of dining options within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and very glad you had an enjpyable stay with us. It was our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    235
    62
    11
    9
See reviews for
159
249
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The wife & I stayed here on a recent trip to NZ. We booked through expedia and check in was a breeze, very friendly. The room itself was clean & comfortable, I especially liked the great selection of cable TV stations, not that we were here just to watch TV, but once you get back to your room after a hard day taking in all the sights in & around Napier and having an excellent dinner at one of the many quality restaurants it is nice to have a wide selection of TV channels. Would defo stay here again and I would recommend it anyone!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay in Napier sampling some of the fine eating establishments nearby and made the most of the 50+ TV channels. Thank you and much appreciate your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
masterton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

great space for dogs. we had both a one bedroom and a studio on our return stay. Both very roomy for the dogs and us. great walking areas with beach and wetlands. walking distance to cafes. Made to feel very welcome. We will be staying again next time we are in Napier

Room Tip: must for dog owners. Plenty of room for more than one dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetMasterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Happy to hear you and your pets enjoyed your stay and stayed with us again. the dog walking spaces just across the road are certainly a fantastic facility. We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Friendly staff and reception. Would need to make the hotel completely nonsmoking- the out-sitting areas were smelling of smoke. Not very private rooms!!
Average bathrooms. Reasonable TV channels.
Good value for money otherwise!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zahoor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. In an ideal world cigarettes would not exist, but we would be unable to ban smoking at this stage as we would be upsetting all of our smoking guests too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Easy to locate, friendly proprietor, clean, comfortable room...all the things we needed for our weekend away. And best of all I was able to watch golf on SKY whilst lounging around in bed. Next time we hope to make use of the bikes and the pool but our weekend was taken up with a family function this time.
Many, many thanks for an enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: Friendly service when you make the initial call for the booking is a good indication of what sort of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out to review our motel. We like to make everyone feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble when it comes to looking after our guests. Hope you get to spend some time in Napier again and get to experience the miles of cycleways we now have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This motel was well situated just off the main highway but we needed a car to get into Napier. The motel was clean and well appointed and the owners very helpful. New shower units had been fitted but they were just a bit too hot. Good restaurant recommended by owners just down the road that we used.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have a relatively new local bus service to get in to town, for anyone without a vehicle and are walking distance to the most popular bar and restaurant area nearby. This is our first hot summer with the new showers, so some tweaking was needed to allow for the warmer incoming temperature of the water. Which we have now worked out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Clean, modern ; easy parking; well located; spacious room; pool and spa easy to use and clean; owner very helpful; the only drawback is the noise from the road if you are sensitive to the (relatively rare) trucks travelling during the night

Room Tip: far from the route
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for posting a review. We agree that any nosie can be a problem for sensitive people and our guest's good night sleep is important to us, so we offer free earplugs if required, although very few are requested. When travelling around, motels need to be easy to find, so most are located on main thoroughfares.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
2.3 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
572 reviews
1.9 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
70 reviews
2.0 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairley Motor Lodge
Fairley Motor Lodge
#7 of 47 in Napier
263 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#18 of 47 in Napier
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Motel

Property: Albatross Motel
Address: 56 Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Napier
#4 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Family Hotel in Napier
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#11 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albatross Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation proud to have scored 9.5/10 on Target TV, Unlimited Free Wifi, Guest Select 50+ TV Channels to choose from, 200m to the beach and overlooking the estuary. Range of room types to suit a variety of requirements and budgets. Refurbished rooms, Swimming pool and spa.You are guaranteed a warm welcome and friendly service at The Albatross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albatross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatross Hotel Napier
Albatross Motel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing