We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at the Albatross Motel”
Review of Albatross Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albatross Motel
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
“My stay at the Albatross Motel”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a great motel!! The service was EXCELLENT! The owners were very friendly and helpful and I could not have asked for more!! This is also a pet friendly motel!! If you are looking for a great place to stay with the best service, I can highly recommend this motel!!

Room Tip: I was in a one bedroom apartment and it was excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
So you glad you have a nice stay and thank you for reviewing. It is great that we are in a good location for pets, with the estuary and beach close by and great for dog exercise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    237
    62
    11
    10
See reviews for
160
251
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently had a 3 night stay at the Albatross and were very happy with everything. The owners were very helpful from the time we booked up until we departed. It was home away from home even down to a very friendly cat who thought he should spend the night with us! Because the bed was comfortable we slept well and everything was clean and tidy. Thank you Helen and Nigel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you from us and Uncle Fester the old cat who loves some attention. He can spot the cat lovers from a mile away. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed there last night.Great location for perfect estuary walks, excellent fish an chip shop and easy walk to lovely shops and restaurants. Room clean with everything that's needed. Quiet location. Owner so friendly and helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Your review is greatly appreciated. Thank you very much for taking the time to place it for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night in a studio room on the ground floor , and it was very clean and comfortable. We would stay again !!!. It was also very handy to the Mission Estate within a 10 minute drive. Very Helpful owners also who were great in giving directions to local attractions .
Thanks again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review, always glad to be of help with our local knowledge. We have been on the other side of the counter too and nothing worse than a surly receptionist who just hands over the key and takes your money. Good service and offering a little extra of it is so important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband I stayed here recently for three nights on business, and it was our second stay at The Albatross Motel within the past year, so that should tell you something! :-) The completely renovated and redecorated rooms have everything you need and also include nice extras you don't always find in every motel. We travel a great deal in our work and really appreciate the comforts of home like the 50+ Sky Channels and the soft glow at night from the bedside lamps. The leather couch was a nice touch and most importantly, the bed was super comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped for a short stay and even though we travel with our own espresso maker (yes, we actually do) having plunger coffee provided with great. As a woman who travels with small sizes of all my lotions and potions, the vertical floor to ceiling shelf in the bathroom was GREAT! No more trying to stack everything on the window sill! As we were driving a quite large van packed with business gear, we were offered, and accepted, the use of the manager's personal parking spot. How's that for customer service?! In short, as their customer, we felt the management appreciated our business and would like us to come again.........And we will!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmilinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. Don't worry, you aren't the only people to take their espresso maker with them, we do too. You are correct, we certainly do appreciate every guest and want to make every single one feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed two nights. The motel was conveniently located. Staff were friendly and helpful on local area information. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Being on a main road there was no trouble with traffic noise. Would stay there again when visiting Napier.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We took advantage of special offers on one of the dicount sites and have now had two stays (two nights each) at the Albatross. The rooms are fairly basic but are clean and have all you need, the beds are comfy. We loved the big deck outside our rooms, looking out over the Estuary. Walked to dinner in the port area as well.

Room Tip: If you have smokers with you or like to sit outside with a glass of wine then ask to be on the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Grizabella68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We really appreciate you taking the time to place a review, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
2.3 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
575 reviews
1.9 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#13 of 47 in Napier
77 reviews
2.0 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
2.4 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#19 of 47 in Napier
151 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palm City Motor Inn
Palm City Motor Inn
#7 of 47 in Napier
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Motel

Property: Albatross Motel
Address: 56 Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Napier
#4 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Family Hotel in Napier
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#12 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albatross Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation proud to have scored 9.5/10 on Target TV, Unlimited Free Wifi, Guest Select 50+ TV Channels to choose from, 200m to the beach and overlooking the estuary. Range of room types to suit a variety of requirements and budgets. Refurbished rooms, Swimming pool and spa.You are guaranteed a warm welcome and friendly service at The Albatross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albatross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatross Hotel Napier
Albatross Motel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing