We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cnetral place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albatross Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albatross Motel
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cnetral place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

This motel is central to all the places I needed to go on a business trip to Napier. The management were welcoming and the motel was very clean and comforatble. GOod price too and the free internet was welcome.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And pleased that everyone is noticing the great job our team do to keep the rooms as clean as possible. We hope to see you again sometime.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    222
    58
    11
    9
See reviews for
150
239
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

A few years ago we happened in the Albatross Motel in Napier. We enjoyed it and have returned several times since to this good value accommodation.

We enjoy the walks along the waterfront, around the estuary across the road and also into the Ahuriri Port area (about 15 minutes) which is home to Napier's bars and restaurants.

Access is easy. We tend to favour the groundfloor rooms, as they're easier to get motorcycle gear into and out of. The showers are electric califonts. Recently upgraded, they work well.

Also new are the 32" flat screen TVs with Sky Television channels. Free WiFi completes the technology offerings. The rooms have kitchenettes.

The units are clean and well set out. Beds are comfy and clean. The proprietors are very friendly and obliging.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettSangster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for coming to stay with us again and for writing a lovely review. We are delighted when guests return time and again.
Hope you all had a fantastic ride home on a perfect day with the sun shining and no wind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
Level Contributor
149 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

This motel is situated near the Ahuriri Estuary on a strip with quite a few others, but this would be my pick. Pricewise they are lower, and on my stay I had nothing to complain about. The staff are friendly and are trying hard. The motel is in a good spot, handy to the estuary and the shore, and just a short drive in to Napier.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
We really appreciate yor positive review. Very glad you enjoyed your stay with us in the lovely Westshore area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

As a golden chain motel we pd 95 NZD for a fine bedroom upstairs with kitchenette microwave & fridge ( no hot late or stove in this unit). Clean.. Hosts did their best to find us a room with a firm bed (one with slats in rm 31 worked out). The best western around the corner had nicer more expensive rooms but soft beds and no upstairs so we went back to this one. Worried about the traffic noise at first since we arrived pm rush hour, but it quieted down and was fine. No need for earplugs. The estuary accross the street made for a nice evening walk, with wading birds. Big bonus was the free wi fi! And there was an extra single bed, too. Fish market and restaurant down the street was great- the real deal.

Room Tip: Avoid the room in front of the porch overhang smoking spot. It's obvious because of the ashtrays...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dontripOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
We thank you for taking the time to review us. It was no problem to find the right bed for you, We find that having kept a couple of the slat beds, we have a variety of firmness to suit most, hope your back was much better after your long day in the car.

We hope the rest of your trip was most enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principal@campbellsbay.school.nz
Level Contributor
66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Located close to Hawkes Bay Airport and within walking distance of the Westshore bars and cafes the Albatros offers clean and well appointed accommodation in the upgraded delux units. Office staff were very welcoming and friendly with the manager driving us to the aiport at the conclusion of our stay.

Room Tip: Upgraded room was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boofhead3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
We really appreciate you taking the time to review us, thank you very much. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had an enjoyable weekend in our lovely area. No problem to take you to the airport, if there are two of us on site then we are more than happy to be of service in this respect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Our age group - middle aged. We had the more expensive unit, cooking facilities, table to dine at and good light for reading. This is a great location if you want a quiet, clean motel with views of the inlet. Very nice area to go for an evening walk. with Cafes and Restaurants handy. A quick drive if you want to go into the main CBD. Definitely recommended.***

Room Tip: Upstairs units overlook the inlet, (main road goes past here), we have stayed before upstairs and uo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you so much for being returning guests and for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of the lovely walkways around the Estuary Reserve. Yes, the upper floor studios do get the best view, especially when we get some fantastic sunsets, as we have recently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

My wife and I were scheduled to travel to Napier from Palmerston North for a wedding and had seen an online coupon site offering accommodation at Albatross Motel at a great price. Unfortunately it was due to expire a week prior to when we were to travel. My wife contacted Helen, and we were told that we could purchase the coupon and we would have it honoured despite being outside of the criteria. This was done and we had a lovely stay. Thanks again for extending yourselves above and beyond the call of what you had to.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunflower_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbatrossNapier, Owner at Albatross Motel, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a lovely time at the wedding. No problem to extend the vouchers, we try to be flexible and accommodating where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.9 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
2.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Palm City Motor Inn
Palm City Motor Inn
#7 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#15 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.3 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Motel

Property: Albatross Motel
Address: 56 Meeanee Quay | Westshore, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Napier
#4 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Family Hotel in Napier
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#12 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albatross Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation proud to have scored 9.5/10 on Target TV, Unlimited Free Wifi, Guest Select 50+ TV Channels to choose from, 200m to the beach and overlooking the estuary. Range of room types to suit a variety of requirements and budgets. Refurbished rooms, Swimming pool and spa.You are guaranteed a warm welcome and friendly service at The Albatross. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Albatross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatross Hotel Napier
Albatross Motel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing