We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Home away from home"”
Review of Manor on Parade

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor on Parade
Ranked #34 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We realized that we were going to be delighted with this place the moment we stepped in to our accommodation. We did stay in the larger front room which I would highly recommend to those contemplating a stay. I didn't get to see the other 2 rooms, but I'm sure they were fine as well. The host Judy has a wonderful eye for detail, and provides one of the best breakfasts complete with a great choice of fruits...as shown in the attached photo!
"Manor on Parade" is in a great location, close to all that Napier has to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike360TMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 71 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

What a lovely place, clean, stunning rooms and friendly hosts. Great location and the best breakfast we've ever had. Was great to be so close to the beach and everything else you might need is walking distance away. We will be back for more. Rynard&Christa van Tonder

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christinakika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We chanced upon this delightful B & B on the Parade in Napier. We were met by the charming owner and given a choice of 2 suites. Both were immaculate and tastefully decorated with modern beautifully appointed bathrooms. We were warm and cosy,and next mornng were served a delicious array of fresh fruits and continental breakfast choices downstairs in the dining room.
Would highly recommend although the stairs to the accommodation were steep in keeping with the age of the original home.

Room Tip: Although the room we chose for one night was the cheapest and therefore the smallest of the 3 suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The most outstanding part of our stay was the attention to detail. The rooms and en suites were exceptionally clean and tidy. Despite the fact that Manor on Parade is on Marine Parade our room was very quiet. (Our room was at the back of the house, which may have made it quieter.) We had a balcony which would be very pleasant for summer time visits. The en suites are of a good size and the fittings are all modern and everything was very fresh. The decor was pleasant and the bed very comfortable. Fresh flowers made the entrance hall and dining room very pleasant and welcoming. We were very impressed with the breakfast; despite the fact that we stayed during mid winter there was a huge array of fresh fruit including cherries, pawpaw and pineapple as well as the usual muesli, plus pastries. We found the walk into the central part of town easy and pleasant and across the road is the concrete walk/running strip which goes along the foreshore for kilometers, well worth a stroll. Our hostess Judy was very helpful and approachable. We found no disadvantages to staying at Manor on Parade.

Room Tip: The room at the front has a view over the sea and a large sitting area, and is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SSCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My only stay in Napier so hard to compare the others. However we are very experienced travelers and Manor on Parade rates very, very high in our book. We were there in early May but had good weather. One advantage to Manor on Parade is that the rooms (at least the two we saw) are wonderful. The front room (#1), overlooking Hawkes Bay, is fabulously large and very well appointed. Furniture was all fresh and in good taste. A small kitchenette area for making tea and coffee. The back room (#2) is smaller, and has a charming balcony and is also tastefully furished. Another advantage is Judy, the hostess, who is an excellent source for information about Napier and where to find whatever you would like, and who is willing to engage with you about local attractions. Parking is excellent. There is a very inexpensive lot across the way, and one can park on the street in front for two or more hours (I can't recall exactly). Finally, this B and B is well located for signtseeing in Napier as it is only a short walk to the art deco center of town and to the i site, where free walkingtours of the town were on offer at least twice a day..Finally, breakfast is plentiful and very good; plenty of fresh fruit and cereal selections. Much better than the normal B and B fare.

All in all I rate this as one of he very best B and Bs I visited during a recent 4 week trip to New Zealand. And I visited six of them (as well as several hotel and lodges) while there!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PandLNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the room at the back of the house. Room and en suite were immaculate, with a very nice little veranda to sit out on and have a pre-dinner drink in the evening. Maybe not the best of views, but we were very happy with it.
Judy was very friendly and served a fabulous breakfast with an amazing array of fruit and pastries.
Great location within easy walking distance of town centre and large choice of restaurants. It's true that you can't park outside the property during the day, but that didn't present a problem. If you're planning to leave the car during restricted hours, it's a simple matter of using the car park opposite which doesn't cost much.
Napier is a lovely little town with unique architecture and character, even if you're not necessarily an Art Deco fan. Wine tasting tour around Hastings is a great way to spend an afternoon.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank spinaltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Lovely Rooms and first class Breakfast. Good sized en-suite. We had the middle bedroom at the side of the house.Can hear the traffic 6-30 am onwards OK after 10-00pm. ( We are not use to road noise ) Parking outside is a problem, 2 hours during the day. I had a slight problem in our shower.I found it slippery, Judy give me a towel to put on the shower floor.Otherwise everything First Class. Not as homely as many B & B 's where you can spend time chatting in the evenings after returning from your evening meal.The only time we saw Judy was at Breakfast.
N.B. Parking problems in Napier, Meters everywhere. Not a beautiful Beach in front of B & B Very rough Pebbled Beach. Do not go to Cape Kidnapper from B & B, quite a drive to end of road. Then can not even see it at High Tide. Low Tide 4/5 hour walk . Better off going to Te Mata Peak. Havelock North. Nice place. Plus you can drive right to the Top, great views.
We ate both nights just 100 metres right from B & B. I think a Quality Inn which had a Restaurant, Cobb and Co. Nice and warm Good Value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Googe, Owner at Manor on Parade, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you for your recent email informing us of your safe return home and your enjoyment of your holiday in New Zealand.
While admiring your attempts to conserve water while showering, ultimately a certain amount of water is required to wash the soap away to prevent possible slipping.
We will pass on your comments to Hawkes Bay Tourism and they may consider relocating Cape Kidnappers closer to Napier City and possibly replacing the pebbles on the beach with sand!
Thank you for your kind feedback of our B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.3 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#10 of 46 in Napier
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
0.4 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor on Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor on Parade

Address: 283 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: $108 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing