We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great tour!”

Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For the adventurous traveller who prefers touring in small groups, a Prinsy's Tour is a fun and flexible way to experience the very best of Hawke's Bay. We offer set driving itineraries or we can personalise your tour to include the sights and activities you particularly want to see or do. Whether it's an education on our wines, a day's fishing on our finest trout rivers, or even an intriguing insight into rural New Zealand, we combine intimate local knowledge with genuine hospitality to ensure you have a memorable time. We are a small family owned business offering: - Wine tours (Exclusive, Full or Half day) - Exclusive 'Hawkes Bay in a Day' tours - Private food, wine & sightseeing tours - Cruise ship shore excursions - Rural Experience or Fishing tours We pride ourselves on excellence & personal service. Tour with us & see for yourself why our guests say "this tour exceeded our expectations". We are the only wine tour business to include a trip up Te Mata Peak (399m) on all tours (weather permitting).
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great tour!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Hamish showed us, among picturesque vineyards and great wines (I’m crazy about the Sauvignon Blancs!), the beauty of the Hawk Bay region.
Great service, nice ambiance, in summary it was a great success and is highly recommendable!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Matilda12452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish P, Owner at Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you Matillda 12452, for you recommendation. It was great to meet you & host you whilst you were in Hawke's Bay. Thank you also for sharing some of your awesome photos from our tour. We look forward to meeting up with you again one day in Germany. Best wishes, Hamish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    14
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great day out”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We did a half day tour with Hamish and would thoroughly recommend it. Hamish was personable and knowledgeable with great local information. He took us to four very different types of wineries - big, small, emerging and historic and was very flexible with the different people onboard. It is hard to choose with the great variety of wine tours available, but I would thoroughly recommend this company.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ivalee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish P, Owner at Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you Ivalee9 for your review comments , choosing & recommending Prinsy's Tours. Our aim is to always give our clients the best wine tour/experience possible so that they get to enjoy a great variety of what our region has to offer as well as learning lots about Hawke's Bay & NZ along the way. Kind regards, Hamish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“over thirty tastings and a terrific view”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

And that was just on the half day tour!
A warm welcome from Hamish. We visited four vineyards with 7-8 tastings at each. Didn't have to drink it all - but they were too good to waste. Lots of information from both Hamish and the respective vineyards all lovely places to visit. Lots of info on the surrounding countryside and the story of the Napier earthquake and its effects - fascinating. Then excellent cheese and biscuits at the top of one of the most amazing views we saw on our hols - Te Mata Peak.
No need to totter back to our motel as we were dropped a the door.
Favourite vineyard? Am I allowed to say this? Moana Bay.
Anne and Chris Banks

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish P, Owner at Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you Anne & Chris for your review. It was great to meet you & host you both. Te Mata Peak & Moana Park are two of our favorite destinations on our tours. Glad to read you enjoyed our HB wines. Best wishes & safe travels , Hamish & Di.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another great tour of Napier”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I went on a tour with Hamish about 15 months ago and have returned for more excellent service. We were a group of 19 for the day visiting four winery's and also a lunch break at Church road. Hamish yet again made the day most enjoyable and relaxing for all. A great experience that I know my family who I brought this time will take back to Ireland with them.

One other thing I need to mention about Hamish and the service is that he likes to match what you want for the day and hence the more insight you can give him just makes the day much more enjoyable. Safe to say that we will be back for more.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish P, Owner at Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you Paul for your recommendation/review. it was great working with you all & a most enjoyable day. 11 cases of wine speaks for itself how fantastic our regions wines are. Thank you all so much for your repeat business & we look forward to touring with you again. All the very best for your wedding day (enjoy the HB wines on your special day! ) & we look forward to seeing your photos. Kind Regards, Hamish & Diane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect arrangement”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our group of 22 person joined the winery tour and ended up in a winery/apple picking tour. Our tour members saw apple trees and asked Hamish. He happily detoured and gave us a gorgerous apply picking experience. The winery tour itself was great with great wine and great fun. Thank you very much!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank YYWong2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish P, Owner at Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you YY Wong 2004 for your recommendation/review. It was great to meet you all & tailor make a tour for your group of 22. We are very passionate about our region & our property (organic apple orchard) so it was perfect to be able to give you all a personal tour where you could view apple picking & have a " totally unique hands on experience" during the tour. Thank you also for sharing your photos on our site. All the best for your travels & we look forward to meeting you all again. Kind Regards, Hamish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing