We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome tour!!!!”

Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: For the adventurous traveller who prefers touring in small groups, a Prinsy's Tour is a fun and flexible way to experience the very best of Hawke's Bay. We offer set driving itineraries or we can personalise your tour to include the sights and activities you particularly want to see or do. Whether it's an education on our wines, a day's fishing on our finest trout rivers, or an intriguing insight into rural New Zealand, we combine intimate local knowledge with genuine hospitality to ensure you have a memorable time. We are a family owned business offering: - Wine tours (Exclusive, Full or 1/2 day) - Exclusive food, wine & sightseeing tours - Cruise ship shore excursions - Guided transfers - Rural Experience or Fishing tours We pride ourselves on excellence & personal service, so much so that we won the HB Tourism Visitor Experience Award 2017. We are the only wine tour business to include a trip up Te Mata Peak on all tours (weather permitting). Tour with us & see for yourself.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was a fantastic trip and we cannot thank Hamish enough for the experience. We did a half day tour October 2012. Hamish made us feel very comfortable and was loads of fun!!! It was great to hear the history of the wineries and to know some of the local stories. The scenery was amazing and I recommend this tour to anyone who travels to Napier. If you want good service and good wine tours Prinsys is the best.

Thank Amanda_BPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish P, Owner at Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you Amanda for your review & great recommendation. We thoroughly enjoy hosting our tours & having fun with our guests to ensure they have a memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 186 of 216 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We took a half-day tour with Hamish in November 2011 and had a great afternoon. Hamish made us feel so comfortable with him straight away, and told us a whole heap of interesting things about the areas we were driving through. We loved all of the wineries we saw (especially Mission Estate - beautiful! - and I am convert to chardonnay after Moana Park) and Hamish also seemed to have a great rapport with the staff at each of the places we visited. It was so nice to be shown around by a friendly local who clearly loves his home and wants to share his knowledge with visitors.

3  Thank LaurenA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish P, Owner at Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you Lauren for your review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your day with Hamish. We are passionate about our region & our tours enjoy giving our guests a memorable experience. Great to hear you are enjoying our HB Chardonays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had a fabulous time on our wine tour. David was a great host and has extensive knowledge of the region. The whole experience and service was very professional and it made for a delightful day. Hamish also went completely above and beyond what is required and returned a misplaced item to us before our flight.

Thanks again for a wonderful holiday experience!

3  Thank Travel_Bug091612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish P, Owner at Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for your recommendation & words of appreciation. We pride our tours in providing outstanding service. Glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday experience in Hawkes Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We did an all-day private tour with Hamish, who quickly read what would be suitable for us and took us there. The Mission winery has an interesting story, and lovely wines: Church Road did us a nice lunch and the Askerne introduced us to Dessert Cabernet (great with good chocolate, believe it or not).

Highlight though was probably not the wines but the drive up to Te Mata Peak: it's a crinkly, craggy, crumbly rock, with fossils poking through all over the place, a magnificent view and a multitude of trails to explore if you had time.

The only slight downside was the cost: with an hourly rate already $100, at the end Hamish rounded five hours and twenty minutes up to six hours, which seemed a tad cheeky.

2  Thank MacDaddyinSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish P, Owner at Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for posting a review of your tour/wine experience. I'm sorry to see a misunderstanding of your tour time that you were charged. We pride ourselves in providing excellent quality service & value for money. Please contact us via email & we will refund you for the time you feel you were over charged? Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We recently saw parts of Hawkes Bay and visited four very different wineries with Prinsy's Rural Experience & Wine Tours. Even though my husband is from Hastings, and we visit often, we took advantage of a Grab a seat weekend and we loved the tour. Down to earth, friendly, informative with a host and driver who know the area and clearly love it. The tour certainly exceeded our expectations and I would recommend it to anyone heading to the Bay.

2  Thank Dunnsmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamish P, Owner at Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for you review & kind words of recommendation, we really enjoyed your company & showing you the fantastic scenery HB has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Prinsy's Tours Hawkes Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing