We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Weekend Away”
Review of Watea Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Watea Lodge
Ranked #3 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We were lucky enough to spend three amazing nights at Watea over the Easter weekend. We enjoyed a gorgeous room complete with an incredibly comfortable super king bed, ensuite, sky tv and tasteful decor. The house is beautiful with the hall, rooms and dining room wrapped around a relaxing outdoor area. We had a couple of lovely nights sitting out in the spa with the outdoor tv and speakers at our disposal. Our hosts Ewen and Iris were so welcoming, making our experience at Watea a memorable one. We were treated to delicious breakfasts at a beautifully set dining table. Ewen shared his passion and knowledge about wine and we found his recommendations most helpful. The modern amenities and our host's attention to detail ensured our stay was an incredibly pleasant one.

Thank you Ewen and Iris, we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katied46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewenr_nz, Owner at Watea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Katie and Josh, thanks so much for such a wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Hope you don't mind but posted your message on the Watea Facebook page. Regards Ewen and Iris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 99 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

Was lucky enough to spend 3 nights at beautiful Watea Band B. Ewen and Iris were wonderful hosts and the breakfasts were very delicious and satisfying. Had the weather been a little kinder to us, we would have loved watching movies while dipping in the spa. Never mind, we will definitely be back! Thanks Ewen and Iris.

Room Tip: All rooms delightfully appointed with comfy beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirlhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewenr_nz, Owner at Watea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on your stay with us. We look forward to your return one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at Watea for three nights with our host Ewen and Iris. While they are both new to the B&B world and Watea has just opened the hospitality was outstanding. Both Ewen and Iris have traveled extensively and seem to know just what travelers need in accommodation. The bed was very comfortable and the en-suite was luxurious. Beautiful bed linen and delicious breakfasts made this a must return to location. The pool, spa and outdoor entertainment all provided in an enclosed courtyard make you feel like you have landed in a tropical resort. Centrally located between Hastings and Napier makes this a place to stay for most events. We will definitiely return to Watea

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 134ChrisE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewenr_nz, Owner at Watea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Really appreciate your taking the time to write us a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, especially such positive feedback. Shows we are hopefully on the right track. We certainly look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Headed to hawkes bay and stayed at the beautiful watea bed and breakfast. Very nice with a great room and wonderful hospitality, not to mention the terrific breakfast. Loved the pool and spa with tv also. Highly recommended!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewenr_nz, Owner at Watea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for a positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities Watea has to offer and the hospitality. Feedback like yours helps us in seeking to continuously improve in our quest to be rated as the no1 bed and breakfast in the Hawkes Bay. We would welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay in this gorgeous new B&B. Our hosts Iris and Ewen were extremely hospitable, the amenities are synonymous with those in a 5 star hotel and the beds are sumptuous. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHMcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewenr_nz, Owner at Watea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Thanks for your positive review. Being a new Bed and Breakfast we appreciate feedback and great feedback like yours is wonderful. We hope to see you again on your next visit to New Zealand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

From arrival to the end of our three night stay we felt nothing but spoilt by our wonderful hosts Iris & Ewen. They provided wonderful home cooked breakfasts & the added bonus of cooling down in the pool after our jaunts around the stunning Hawkes Bay region , was just fantastic. The bedroom & ensuite facilities were amazing. We will certainly be back for more fine hospitality! We wish Ewen & Iris all the best for their new venture.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McNayFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewenr_nz, Owner at Watea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank Diana, we hope you have the opportunity to visit the Hawkes Bay again soon and choose to stay with us. Maybe visit some of the wineries next time?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We recently spent a relaxing night at Iris and Ewan's stunning new home stay. After a long drive from Auckland it was sheer luxury to relax with nibbles and a glass of wine around the pool in the late afternoon sun. The bed was feather soft the linen fine the towels fluffy. Iris and Ewan were wonderful hosts and could not do enough to make our stay a top class experience... had we had more time we could have visited the wineries, played golf, used the bikes or even worked out on the gym equipment. As it was we left after an great night's sleep and an excellent breakfast
We will certainly return.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewenr_nz, Owner at Watea Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thanks Gordon, we enjoyed having you and the lovely twins. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
4.3 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
3.3 mi away
119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Cobden Garden Bed and Breakfast
4 mi away
McHardy Lodge
McHardy Lodge
#6 of 41 in Napier
167 reviews
4.5 mi away
Seaview Lodge
Seaview Lodge
#9 of 41 in Napier
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watea Lodge

Address: 27 Jervois Road | Jervoistown, Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: $177 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Watea Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watea Lodge began in March 2014. Watea means Welcome in Maori. My intent is to create a new level of accommodation experience. The house is new and set in a tranquil rural aspect, but central and close to all that the Hawkes Bay has to offer. The rooms have super king sized beds with luxurious linen. There is a guests' wing which is separate from the main house. This includes a beautifully furnished guests' lounge. The heated pool, hot tub and decks create a prestigious resort ambiance. Guest amenities include free hi speed WIFI, outdoor TV and a gym. Two rooms have en-suite bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Watea Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing