We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (237)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveler rating
89
107
37
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
107
37
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolmarine paradegreat locationacross the roadspa unitlarge carsuperior studioa ground floor roomoff street parkinggood sizewithin walking distancenational aquariumfree wifisea viewstayed here for nightssmall roomtown centre
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 237 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2017

We stayed 2 nights in the holiday period - Jan 2017 so choices were limited. The unit was average in facilities, poor information for clients - restaurant information sheet was 6 years old and obviously prices had changed. Staff were very helpful regarding places to dine. The bed was saggy on one side obviously were some people sat as no sofa in the room. Great location on Marine Parade and walking distance to CBD.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 888gailm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2017

Hello 888gailm. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very disappointed in the rating that you have given us considering that 1 of the 18 restaurant menus in the information booklet was out of date. Of the 18 menus, the local RSA is the only establishment that alters there prices but does not tell us or bother to drop off the updated information. All the other restaurants do it no problems. With regards to the bed, I see that you stayed 2 nights. Why did you not complain after the first night. We could have at least changed the mattress. We would have done something. You did NOT comment on any thing about the bed on departure. You did say about the menus and it was sorted out straight away. There is not enough room in the unit for a couch. It has 2 arm chairs and 3 stools for a Max of 3 people. This review is totally out of character for what we are trying to achieve. The second time in the last ten years we have had such a low score. And the other people did not stay and we hope the same goes for you in the future. Regards Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2017

We stayed at Edgewater Motor Lodge for 3 nights including New Years Eve. We thought this motel offered incredible value for the location, quality and the time of year.

The rooms are well appointed, with everything you could possibly need. Our room on the ground floor had access to a plunge pool (cold!), outside tables, and easy entrance from the front. It also boasted a magnificent spa bath indoor.

Staff could be a bit more helpful with suggestions on things to do.

When in Napier, don't miss the Bluff Hill Walkway, the gannet colony tour on a tractor, the Elephant Hill vineyard, and the Ocean Spa.

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank acarb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2017

Hello acarb83. Thanks for the review and the comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your unit. We try to give good clean accommodation, in a great location at an affordable price. I think we did pretty well in your case. We also try to tell our guests on what to do while in Napier and the Hawkes Bay. In your case it seems we didn't do so well and I do not know why. For us, pointing out the attractions is a way of may be getting the guests to stay another night. It is very important and I will definitely sharpen my act up on that.
We really appreciate your comments and thank you for your great score.
Regards
Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017

When I'm looking for a room with a view in Napier, Edgewater usually comes out on top. Best combination of location/price/facilities. Not as flash as some places no doubt, and parking is always a bit tight, but the price is usually right.

Myself, my mum, and my niece stayed in room 18 which is on level 1 with a separate bedroom, balcony, kitchenette, and a good amount of room (not huge but certainly enough room incl having two couches and a dining table + chairs).

It had everything we needed and everything was in operational condition. Wifi was free too.

Mum loved leaving the curtain open by the bed in the main area so she could be awoken by the colours in the sky and the sunrise on New Years day.

Sometimes I stay right in town centre at a place without a view if that suits on a very short trip for a specific reason, but if I'm in Napier as a tourist I want a view at a good price and it's only about 500 metres from the middle of town... and very close to a supermarket.

Room Tip: Unit 18 is fantastic
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2017

Hello Glennomeister. Thank you for your great review and score. Room 18 was refurbished
in August 2016 and it is good to see that you enjoyed what we have done.
The fire works did play this year was the best I have seen.
Regards
Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2016

Lovely spot on the seafront. Friendly service but an average motel. Clean room but no hot water on our last morning. I know things go wrong but the response was not as you would expect. Perhaps a small refund?

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2016

Hello Gill G.
Thank you for your review and the comment on how clean the unit was. The 2 year old hot water system that serves 12 of our 20 units developed an intermittent fault. By the time it had taken to get the only Rinnai service agent in the Bay to look at it and then get the part required. The problem had created a lot of stress and weeks of getting up to the ceiling every half hour to make sure it was going. Over the 3 week period we had 3 complaints about no hot water. It is a pity that this one has not been face to face and maybe a small refund would have been in order.
Merry Xmas.
Regards
Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

Great food and people. The edgewater was within walking distance of the city center, an Art Deco area, repaired during the 30's earthquake. Free wifi, laundry facilities. I just wish I'd had more time to explore this area.

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank jpoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2016

Hello Jpoole.
Glad you enjoyed Napier and what Hawkes Bay has to offer. Good to see our facilities
were up to scratch.
Merry Xmas
Regards
Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews