We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent motel, modern and sea facing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edgewater Motor Lodge
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Had twon nights here and got a reasonable rate for two nights. The rooms are modern, very clean and had everything we needed. The large windows had glorious views of the sea which we enjoyed just sitting and watching the sun come up. Nice touches include fresh coffee and modern furniture. Very clean and well kep. The price is little above some of the other motels but for the extra ten dollars it was well worth it. We went to many in the area and this wasn't the cheapest but well worth it overall. Very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Look around, you don't have to book in advance, visit a few places, some special deals on the da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonathanHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 204 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2011

We read the guidebooks and headed for Napier and because we were on foot booked in for three nights (reduced to two). Motel was convenient and along the prom. Well equipped and pleasant. Male host was a bit off on departure and we worked hard to get a pleasant reaction. Motel is close to supermarkets and town centre. Motel is opposite a beach which is black sand and not suitabe for swimming. Some trucks rumble through in the night heading for the port.

Room Tip: Arrive Napier AM and leave PM or next day latest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Went on a 4 day trip with my husband for the Winery Tour in February. We were so lucky to find this place. It is at Marine Parade, easy walking distance to city centre, Aquarium, bus stops, cafes and restaurants.
Although our room wasn't new, it was very very clean and very spacious. We had a very comfortable stay. There was enough space for the kitchen, dining and living area. There was a balcony overlooking the beachfront which was very wonderful.
The kitchen utensils, pots and pans where spotless, makes u feel like you're the first using them. The toilet and shower was spacious.

Although you can hear cars passing by even at night, we still had a good night's sleep.
They also have wi-fi internet :))

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This place has a variety of rooms ranging from the basic studio unit up to the multi bedroom units all with prices to match.
We stayed in the basic studio unit for NZ$120 a night which was pretty reasonable given it had a full kitchen plus a spa bath and that the location of this place is premium as it is right on the main seafront parade.
It also has high speed broadband in all rooms for NZ$10 a day unlimited use which is well priced in relation to other places in New Zealand.
There are three other apartment type accomodation next to Edgewater Motor Lodge which are newer and nicer but are also more expensive so if you want not necessarily the best but pretty good at an average cost this place will suit you.
The only slight drawback we came across was the parking area for guest cars.
While there was enough parking for everyone the size of the parking area was very small so be careful backing in and out as it is easy to hit another car or worst back into the wall of the motel itself.
Overall a nice place to stay and we would go back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mozzroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Our room had a balcony that overlooked the sea and was a short walk to the tourist information centre. Although we only stayed one night, we were able to make the most of our stay - thanks to the gentleman on reception!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHEWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

My wife and i stayed here on 2nd january and found that this place had arguably the best location/views of any other motel in Napier.

We had our own little balcony that we watched the sunrise from, a nice tidy room, off street car parking and freindly helpful staff.

The room cost us $120 which was well worth it as the location was just fantastic. There were no obstructions from our view to the ocean unlike other motels and is right across the road from the danish ice cream stand.(a big plus on hot days) Only 5 minutes walk from the centre of town, national aquarium and info centre, and even closer are other attractions if you have kids, such as skateboard park and playground right across the road.

Will definately be back!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Found_Lost_Key
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Comfortable. Handy location for walking around the town and the waterfront. A bit noisy with the close proximity of the main road. Helpful pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromtheEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
580 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
923 reviews
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 47 in Napier
796 reviews
1.5 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motor Lodge

Address: 359 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#12 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#14 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range: $80 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Edgewater Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater Motor Lodge offers superb, affordable beachfront accommodation with spectacular sea views. Our great location on Marine Parade in the heart of Napier NZ gives easy walking access to the city centre, National Aquarium of New Zealand, Rotary Walkway, the Ocean Spa complex, Napier Municipal Theatre, Conference Centre, McLean Park Sports Ground, Intercity bus station, RSA, Cosmopolitan Club and a variety of restaurants and cafes. All units at our beachfront motel in Napier have ocean views, tea/coffee making facilities (full cooking facilities in 12 units), microwave, ensuite with shower (spa bath in some units), hair dryer, queen size beds, phone, free WiFi, 5-channel Sky Digital, flat screen TVs with 20 channels, electric blankets, iron/ironing board. Select from basic studio, spa bath studio, superior studio, one bedroom or two bedroom motel units (ideal for families). All motel units are non-smoking and are serviced daily. Guest facilities include a salt water plunge pool, BBQ, laundry, free off-street parking and free Wi-Fi internet throughout the motel. Cooked/continental breakfast available to unit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Edgewater Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Napier
Edgewater Motel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing