We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Style, but a Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old Style, but a Gem”
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We were suggested this older style motel by the people at the Visitors Centre in Napier and it lived up to its recommendation. It is decorated in the "Art Deco" style of the town, the rooms are typical of the older style of Motel but very clean & functional.
The owners were so helpful and suggested trips & restaurants. We took advantage of the meal at the RSA - a 5 min walk from the Motel - fabulous value.
If in Napier, a MUST is booking into the Art Deco town walk, hosted by a Committee member (we had Peter) and so interesting with his comments & knowledge. This Motel was such great value - and so clean & comfortable. My huisband mentioned that he was going for a swim in the pool and the owner commented that it wasn't heated as its now "off-season" for swimming. He still went in, was cold, but clean - and he had his exercise !!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roknok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    76
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
34
81
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
home
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

This is a very nice lodge currently with new owners. They are friendly and helpful and the place is clean and comfortable. iI is in a great location just a few minutes walk into town and the lovely Marine Parade. Plenty of parking available. The pool looked very dirty when we were there so we did not attempt to go in.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghamaryllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Stayed at the fountaincourt motel in one of the refurbished 1 bedroom units. What a greta place. big tv , new bathroom and kitchen and swimming pool. Good price and owners were very helpful with any request. organised a wine tour for us and gave us directions to other places we wanted to visit. Very close to the city . Wonderful stay

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke07Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2008

Good value hotel in a nice location. It was very close to the restaurants, art-decco city center, and beach.

We got to Napier a bit late at night so most of the restaurants were closed but had dinner at a Jazz resturants called "Take Five" which was fantastic.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lshirai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmerston north,new zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed at the Fountain Court in late 2007 and were very disappointed. Very plain and overpriced at $ 145 for the night. We even had some cock roaches and when we told management the response was 'we had a problem and thought we had got rid of them'. The pool was a joke and looks so much better in the pics. The best value places to stay in Napier are the B and B's on Marine Parade. Actually anywhere other than this..

  • Liked — That we only stayed 1 night
  • Disliked — heaps
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tanedani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2007

Stayed one night at the end of October. Reasonable value and in a good location as only a short walk into town and sea front.

Only negative was that the room was on the cold side.

Would recommend Take Five Restaurant (Live Jazz) for dinner

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Slightly cold room
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joandphilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2007

The Fountain Court Motor Inn is walking distance from downtown Napier and only a block away from the ocean. The rooms are spacious and have all major amenities, including a table and comfortable chairs. A computer room is available for internet access (with extra charge.) The rooms and fixtures have seen a bit of wear, but everything was very clean. Service was friendly. Definitely recommended if finances are limited.

  • Liked — Clean, well located.
  • Disliked — Rooms were a bit dated
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Systeme-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.0 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
0.0 mi away
Edgewater Motor Lodge
Edgewater Motor Lodge
#16 of 47 in Napier
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel

Property: Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel
Address: 411 Hastings Street | Hawkes Bay Region, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing