We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable for a family, but avoid on New Year's Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Comfortable for a family, but avoid on New Year's Eve”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while touring around the area, from Dec 30 to Jan. 1. The two bedroom unit was great for our family of five, and the location was quite handy to Marine Parade, the main drag of Napier, and the beach. Our first night was fine, but unfortunately, it all went to pieces on New Year's Eve. It seems like a lot of the beach towns in NZ turn into magnets for rowdy party animals, so I suppose we were taking our chances by traveling at this time of the year. (It has been some years since I've lived in NZ.) But the level of noise shocked us. We had the unit right by the road, which was probably the noisiest. From about 11 pm, people yelling up and down the street, car horns, doors slamming, several fights, and worst of all a woman screaming at her partner in the next unit at 3 in the morning. Nobody got much sleep and my kids were scared.

To be fair, the owners were away and another couple were there as caretakers. Being from Auckland, they seemed as surprised as we were by the level of noise all night. They were helpful and obliging and did a good job with the guests. It wasn't their fault. However, while I can recommend this motel at any other time, I would avoid Napier altogether at New Year, unless you hate to sleep.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the two-bedroom unit closest to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    76
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
81
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Lovely big rooms and well equipped kitchen. Very clean. Lovely friendly staff. Great value for money. Will definitely stay again. A short walk to the centre of Napier (10 mins) or the beach (2 mins). It doesn't have beach views (or claim to have) but you can hear the water from the rooms which was lovely and relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AbbeyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Lovely room - everything you needed was there - very clean
Only a few minutes walk from town centre and about 50m from beach
Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Have stayed here previously and would definitely do so again in future

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SueMM186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

To get that nostalgic feeling of the Formica Period, come here to Formica heaven. Be it in the kitchenette, on the wardrobes and desk or in the bathroom, Formica is king. Why pay to go to a museum when here the nostalgia is included in the price (NZD 115 for a double room), which isn´t too much in my opinion. The microwave oven is also an early classic. For the price, recommendable!

Room Tip: This is a typical two-storey motel, so if you have heavy luggage, ask for a downstairs room. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IgelEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This was the first time we had stayed at the motel. It has a really great location, being close to the shops, and one block away from Marine Parade. The motel itself was clean and spacious. As far as making beds go, i feel that the staff doing that job need more training on how to make a bed properly. Was certainly not up to standard. I did complain and the owner was very apologetic. Very noisy if you are in a downstairs unit, and have units above you. You can hear everything, people walking around, doors being slammed even people talking.

Room Tip: Go to this motel of season when there are not so many people around then you wont get any noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a great motel. Staff were very welcoming upon arrival. Spacious room was excellent - bathroom was an enormous wet room suitable also for wheelchair/disabled access. Spa bath in rooms. Couch and small kitchenette. Only a 2 min walk across the street to the beach and Napier waterfront; a further 10 mins to the city centre. Very quiet at night. Excellent wireless internet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lincoln J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Overall the facility was alright however the bed making skills need working on and are not up to standard.

Air conditioner a blessing. Clean towels and linen each day. Clean deep pool...great for kids.

Just a warning though - Rooms are noisy. We could hear down stairs snoring and they could hear us walking about.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs unit with air conditioner. Cooler and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisHyett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.5 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.5 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
884 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel

Property: Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel
Address: 411 Hastings Street | Hawkes Bay Region, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing