We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel”
Review of Motel de la Mer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel de la Mer
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Motel de la Mer for three nights in November 2006 and really enjoyed the overall experience. The room was clean, very nicely decorated and really comfortable. It had a little kitchen corner that catered for all our needs, a lovely king-size bed and a spa pool in the bedroom which was heaven! The motel offers great views of the beach and is just a short walk from Napier's city centre and the tourist information centre. The price was very reasonable and I can highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Nime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Motel de la Mer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 226 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2006

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Motel de la Mer in September 06. Our unit was spotlessly clean, very comfortable and in an excellent location for access into Napier town centre. An added luxury to the units are the spa baths, pure bliss for a heavenly soak following a day's sightseeing.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Motel de la Mer to anyone looking for somewhere special to stay in Napier. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bushwalkergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

My husband & I have just spent 2 nights at this Motel in Napier, N.Z. We wanted something a bit special as we were celebrating our combined birthdays. We booked an executive unit on the top floor of the motel. It is what would be called a boutique motel & is fairly new at only 3 years old. There are only 12 units altogether at this motel. We had 2 private balconies from our unit. We could sit out on either of them and enjoy the sea views. The unit itself was fabulous. We had a huge spa bath & a super king sized bed. The proprietors of the motel were really lovely people & even arranged a wine tour for us on the Saturday. That was all arranged for us before we even arrived in Napier. We were picked up at the motel for the wine trail. We found that whenever we corresponded with them through the internet that they replied almost immediately to all our inquiries. We will definitely go back there to stay & would have loved to have stayed there for longer if we could have. We also found the location very central. We only used our own car when we went sightseeing on our own. The motel is within easy walking distance of Restaurants & the CBD. It is also handy to a lot of the tourist attractions that Napier has to offer.
We found the cost of $195.00 a night to be well worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john&liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 151christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 79Pingu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWM53, Owner at Motel de la Mer, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si vous ne voulez pas voir des gens passer devant votre chambre, il faut réserver l'attique.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank grainderiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
576 reviews
0.4 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#13 of 47 in Napier
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.1 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
0.1 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#9 of 47 in Napier
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel de la Mer

Address: 321 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#19 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range: $111 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel de la Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel de la Mer looks forward to welcoming our customers having established ourselves as a favourite with business travellers and discerning holidaymakers, who relish luxury, and a genuine, hospital experience. Our stunning oceanfront location complemented by our spacious motel apartment suite accommodation is lavishly appointed with tasteful interior décor. Each of our suites has a luxurious, relaxed atmosphere and facilities to match. Spoiled for choice: Executive Studio, Deluxe Executive Suites with large in-room fresh water private spa's and Executive One Bedroom Suites (no spa), and Deluxe Penthouse Apartments with large fresh water in-room spas and spectacular views. Situated close to Napier's C.B.D, a variety of top class restaurants, cafe's, boutique shopping and a selection of activities with the oceanfront and promenade at your door. "McLean Park" is just a 12-15 minute stroll. A "Fabulous Sporting Arena" where all our "Major Rugby and Cricket" events are hosted!. Motel de la Mer has now achieved the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence Award" for the fifth year running, and a place in the TripAdvisor Hall of Fame. This is all the more reason to come explore and experience Napier and the Hawkes Bay Region and our friendly hospitality at Motel de la Mer. Motel de la Mer - quality, superior, oceanfront suite accommodation - Relax with us in Napier, Hawkes Bay, where "Art Deco" lives on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Motel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Mer
De La Mer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing