We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Motel de la Mer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel de la Mer
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We stayed here for one night and it was very nice. The room seemed to have been recently renovated and was in great shape; even in winter the room was very comfortable. The motel is perfectly located just a few blocks from the center of the city. The owners of the motel are lovely, and provided us with a great restaurant recommendation (Pacifica, just down the street).

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lasocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    62
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
23
157
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Our stay at Motel de la mer, Napier was fantastic. It has uninterrupted views of the ocean and is a great location (with no noise) to explore the town which is only 5 minutes away. Nothing was too much trouble - it was our first wedding anniversary, so I had asked host Joan to arrange for a bottle of champagne in the room and make a recommendation for us for dinner that night. A local champagne was on ice, and dinner reservation was made at the local County Hotel (which despite the name is silver service and food surperb). No complaints about the suite - it was huge, on top floor and had massive spa and two private balconies and all the extras (incl bathrobes). And the price was very reasonable. Breakfast was delivered to the room so we could enjoy the balconies and the view. We wished we could have stayed longer! Would have no hesitation recommending this property to anyone and would definitely stay again when next in Napier.

  • Liked — Size of room and view
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BigC_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2007

Napier is the largest town in the Hawke's Bay region of NZ, most famous for its wineries and stunning scenery. The main tourist strip is on Marine Parade, a long, wide street with a tree-filled median that snakes along the coast for a few km.

Motel de la Mer is one of the highest-rated properties in this area, and with good reason. The couple who own and run this property do an excellent job, and are friendly and polite without being overly intrusive.

The unit itself was one of their Deluxe Suites, which I highly recommend. The door opens to a staircase that leads directly up to the single floor of living and sleeping space. The lounge has breathtaking views to the sea and includes chairs, couch, TV, DVD and stereo, as well as a writing desk. Wi-Fi internet is available. There is a small kitchenette and dining table as well. The bedroom is divided by a retaining wall with shutters for privacy, and includes an amazingly comfortable king bed, which is right next to a huge jet spa pool.

The unit was very clean and maintained to a high standard, and daily servicing was efficient. There are many motels and units along this road, but walking the entire length, I felt that this was definitely one of the nicest and most attractive buildings.

The property is a short walk from the main touristy part of town, and is handy for day trips out to Hastings, Havelock North, and other sights.

  • Liked — Stunning views
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank socal1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

While staying at another motel in Napier, we found Motel de la Mer literally while walking by. We walked in, asked a few questions, and changed our booking to this fine place on the spot.

Rooms are clean, spacious and luxurious. Allen and Chris are fine hosts, and the location on Marine Parade affords an easy walk to plenty of restaurants and attractions, as well as the beach. Broadband Internet access is included in the room rate, which counts for a lot since many NZ hotels charge extra for broadband, if they offer it at all.

We highly recommend this motel!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Jan-and-Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2007

We stayed at the Motel de la Mer for a 2 night stay at the end of 2.5 weeks in Australia and NZ. Most of the properties are along the beach side road therefore all have a motel feel. This proporty was extremely celan, well maintained, and offered a lot of room and amenities for the price. The rooms are very quiet, offer large jetted tubs, and wireless internet access (which was a must after being away from internet access for more than a week). Highly recommend the property as Alan and Chris do a great job and will welcome you persoanlly to the place.

Great stay.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kjb4zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Lovely stop-over. Decadent decor, big room - very comfortable. Located on the sea front, a five minute walk to downtown Napier's Art Deco buildings. Good breakfast. Small, well kept complex.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2007

We stayed for 4 nights over Easter and were impressed. Good sized studio rooms - clean, very well specced and nicely furnished (clearly not done on the cheap) and pretty quiet despite the proximity to Marine Parade. Very handy for the town centre/restuarants too. Would definitely go back.

  • Liked — Nicely appointed room
  • Disliked — Not much
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Londonexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
1.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#32 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel de la Mer

Property: Motel de la Mer
Address: 321 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#19 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel de la Mer 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel de la Mer looks forward to welcoming our customers having established ourselves as a favourite with business travellers and discerning holidaymakers, who relish luxury, and a genuine, hospital experience. Our stunning oceanfront location complemented by our spacious motel apartment suite accommodation is lavishly appointed with tasteful interior décor. Each of our suites has a luxurious, relaxed atmosphere and facilities to match. Spoiled for choice: Executive Studio, Deluxe Executive Suites with large in-room fresh water private spa's and Executive One Bedroom Suites (no spa), and Deluxe Penthouse Apartments with large fresh water in-room spas and spectacular views. Situated close to Napier's C.B.D, a variety of top class restaurants, cafe's, boutique shopping and a selection of activities with the oceanfront and promenade at your door. "McLean Park" is just a 12-15 minute stroll. A "Fabulous Sporting Arena" where all our "Major Rugby and Cricket" events are hosted!. Motel de la Mer has now achieved the TripAdvisor "Certificate of Excellence Award" for the fifth year running, and a place in the TripAdvisor Hall of Fame. This is all the more reason to come explore and experience Napier and the Hawkes Bay Region and our friendly hospitality at Motel de la Mer. Motel de la Mer - quality, superior, oceanfront suite accommodation - Relax with us in Napier, Hawkes Bay, where "Art Deco" lives on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Motel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Mer
De La Mer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing