We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Esk Valley Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
expressotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Art Deco Masonic Hotel(Napier)
$117
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Fern Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
$84
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$107
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nautilus(Napier)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoreline Motel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
$74
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
85
12
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssauvignon suiteb bplumsnew zealandother guestsfresh fruitown bathroomcharming hoststwo nightsnapier areahawkes baydefinitely stay here againheat pumpjessemillonplatternz
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 97 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2009

A lovely place to spend time relaxing with only the sounds of nature to be heard. Only spent one night in the very spacious Sauvignon Suite but had the best breakfast in any B/B we stayed in over our 2 weeks in New Zealand. Friendly owners and a lovely dog to pat which made you feel like you were at home. Wine & nibbles by the fire what more could you ask for. Had an enjoyable walk around the acreage of vines & well cared for gardens. Thank you for your great hospitality Eileen & the informative maps & information re sites to see on our way down to Napier.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guesswhoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesnz, Owner at Esk Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2009

Thank you for your kind comments we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Next time stay for longer! There is still the Gannet Colony, Cape Kidnappers and Trellinoe Park to be looked at plus the wine, food, beaches ........

Jes and Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

My wife and i stayed at the esk valley lodge for two nights recently and could not recommend it more.
We had a lovely stay, our hosts jes and eileen were very hospitible and of course there dog roxy.
We stayed in there sauvignon suite which we found to be extremely comfortable, with a beautiful balcony overlooking the vineyads.
Jes and Eileen presented us each morning with a sumptuous breakfast and plenty of information on the surrounding areas.
Highly recommended for a peaceful getaway in such tranquill surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAYMANIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

My DH and I stayed at the Esk Valley Lodge for our 5th Wedding anniversary. We were greeted by our lovely hosts with a bottle of bubbly for the occassion. We were also offered an "upgrade" to the Savignon Suite. It had a lovely view of the vineyards and the beautifully landscaped garden. The cooked breakfast was excellent with a menu to choose from and not just cold cereal. Our hosts made our reservation for dinner and arranged transport to and from for which we were very appreciative. Highly recommemded as a lovely place to stay. The only downside was the unseasonable cold weather.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malbec123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jesnz, Owner at Esk Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2009

Thank you for your kind comments, we were proud to be a part of your special day. I am sorry about the weather, we hope to see you in summer when the great Hawkes Bay sunshine might make up for it!

Jes and Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Country setting on a vineyard in a relaxing atmosphere. Large rooms that were tastefully decorated. Breakfast was outstanding. Hosts were knowledgeable and very helpful. Free internet was useful. Overall a pleasant surprise in the country.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperSteeler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

My wife and I stayed in the Sauvignon Suite in May, 2009. It was the finest B&B that we visited in two months in New Zealand. The views are simply amazing, overlooking a vineyard, gardens and fruit trees. The only sound is the birds chirping in the morning. Truly tranquil. The house is beautiful, quality constructed and quiet. Our suite had its own heat pump, which meant nice warmth during the cooler months (something lacking in most accommodations across New Zealand). The owners, Eileen and Jes were delightful and extremely helpful, making own dinner reservations for us and suggesting wineries and sites to visit. True class all around. We we enthusiastically recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DS087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews