We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great people, lovely area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cobden Garden Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cobden Garden Homestay
Ranked #4 of 43 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great people, lovely area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here, cannot emphasise how hospitable the host are. They were only to pleased to organise trips, taxis and restaurant bookings. The food was great, plenty of choice. Nothing was too much trouble ..........thank you Rayma and Phillip, you made our stay most enjoyable.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, facilities excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We are pleased we were able to help make your stay in our wonderful Hawke's Bay Region enjoyable. That you have taken time to write and share your thoughts with other Trip Advisor readers is appreciated and we are pleased that the knowledge of Napier that we have accumulated through our years of operating here made your stay more rewarding. Again thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
138
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Cobden garden is in a fantastic location in a century old house on bluff hill.
Rayma and phillip are fantastic hosts who made us very welcome.
Accommodation, food and service excellent.
Loved the evening canapés and drinks. Rayma produces awesome snacky things!
Our thanks to phillip for introducing us to cabernet franc, a superb red.
One final great touch, phillp cleaned our windscreen on our departure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We are so glad we were able to introduce you to Cabernet Franc. This is a special wine from our region. Hawke's Bay is known for excellent red wine - although we do not have any difficulty finding great white ones also - and it is always great that Australian wine buffs do enjoy our red wines.
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

The highlight stay of our trip to New Zealand. Phillip and Rayma are the ideal hosts and share this beautiful historic house on the bluff in Napier. Our room was spacious with a superb bathroom as well and views out to the harbour. Days started with a lovely breakfast and ended with wine and canapés with the hosts and other guests, giving an opportunity to taste those wines you had missed on the way around the vineyards or to find out the best places to go next day. Highly recommended. Thank you both for a lovely stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 965AnneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your generous and kind review. Phillip and I do make every effort to be welcoming and try to provide a great experience for our guests and are delighted we were a highlight of your holiday. The evening wine time is a great opportunity for everyone to share their experiences and ideas with other guests. You all become tour guides in our beautiful region and country. Again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunks, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Delightful Rayma and Phillip were certainly very welcoming and helpful with area activity suggestions and restaurants.
Our bedroom was very spacious,spotless with a large bathroom!!
Evening wine and canapes were certainly an added unexpected bonus. Breakfast delicious!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your very kind words and for taking the time to review us. Your grades are of interest to us and indicate that there are some things we can improve upon still. Of course some things cannot be changed but if you do have any suggestions we would love you to email us. Again thank you for your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

What a pleasure to stay in this hilltop house in the wonderful Art Deco themed city of Napier.

Great hosts who bring all guests (who want to) together at 1830 each evening for canapés and wines. Very helpful with recommendations for restaurants and activities.

Lovely rooms with plenty of space for luggage and comfortable en-suite bathrooms, well stocked with wash stuff.

Port and chocs at bedtime a lovely touch and the breakfast table is a sight to behold. My wife especially enjoyed the convent eggs.

B&B is at the top of the hill overlooking Napier and a good 10 minute walk downhill to the centre of the city. Probably nearer 20 minutes back depending on the excesses of fine dining.

Napier is a lovely city that is a great example of what can be done, post earthquake. Christchurch should learn much from their drive and focus over 80 years ago.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are grateful that you took the time to write about the features of your stay and that you found it such a pleasure to stay with us. Those who do sample the convent eggs at breakfast have all enjoyed them and like your wife often had them a second time. However there are plenty of options including the traditional "English Breakfast", or the more exotic French toast with a tropical twist (made with coconut milk) . Again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Beautiful house, great big room with everything you need, delicious breakfast, but best of all the delightful hosts. We would definitely stay again - might even return just to stay again, although it is a bit of a way from the UK!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Well what a recommendation - travel all those miles to visit us again! We do hope you do! We really enjoy seeing people again. It feels like having friends visit and we do reward your loyalty with a discount. It is great your enjoyed your spacious room and the house. We have worked hard to create a relaxing, gracious place for people to visit and hopefully provide all that the traveller needs. Thank you for taking the time to tell the trip advisor community about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Rayma and her husband Phil clearly approach running their B&B as a vocation. Their home is an historic colonial house at the top of Bluff Hill , and so preserved in the 1931 earthquake, set in a delightful garden with views over the Bay. But it is what goes on inside that counts. The bedrooms are spacious, comfortable beds, well appointed with everything thought of. Bathrooms are modern, light and airy with every facility. Night time turn down with treats on the pillow. Evening wine with home made canapés. And just the best breakfasts anywhere. If this wasn't enough, what makes Cobden such a hard place to leave is the incredible friendliness and warmth which Rayma and Phil bring to everything they do. We stayed two nights, sensible guests stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SxO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and for suggesting that guests should stay longer. We do try to give guests a great experience that makes it difficult to leave us but Hawke's Bay also offers so many opportunities to enhance your holiday. From the cultural experience of the newly re-opened MTG (Museum, Art Gallery, Theatre) and Art Deco guided tours to the kilometres of cycle tracks, the many bird watching opportunities - especially the Gannet Colony and the numerous wineries and award winning restaurants, there is something for all visitors. We again thank you for taking the time to write this review and so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
4.5 mi away
Watea Lodge
Watea Lodge
#3 of 43 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobden Garden Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobden Garden Homestay

Property: Cobden Garden Homestay
Address: 1 Cobden Crescent | Bluff Hill, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cobden Garden Homestay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayma and Phillip invite you to their colonial, Bluff Hill villa, approximately 12 minutes walk from the city. Enjoy a spacious, en-suite bedroom, generously appointed and furnished with king/twin beds, television and DVD. Relax in a guest lounge, on the veranda or in the extensive garden or check your emails using our free wifi or the guest computer. Enjoy complimentary pre-dinner local wine and hors-d'oeuvres and a generous breakfast. Unobtrusive cats in residence. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing