We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cobden Garden Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cobden Garden Homestay
Ranked #4 of 43 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

A wonderful place to stay. We arrived early and our room was not ready but Rayma made us very welcome with tea and cakes before we set out to explore Napier.
Our room was very comfortable and nicely furnished. The complimentary drinks on the terrace before we went out for our evening meal was very relaxing and added to this pleasurable stay in Napier. Rayma was very helpful with advice on local trips and activities. The breakfast provided was excellent with lots to choose from.
This was a memorable stay, thanks for a wonderful couple of days, we wish it had been longer.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisLinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry your room was not ready but as we are also very generous about check out times, sometimes there just is not enough time to turn the rooms around if guests do have a short journey to get to us. But we are pleased people do come and meet us and leave their luggage before going to the city. We are also able to give information regarding the best way to spend their time. And we do try to give refreshments upon arrival at any time of day. Thank you for mentioning this. We appreciate the feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
138
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. We were met as we arrived by Rayma, who, after taking us to our room, gave us tea and cakes. Our room was excellent, very comfortable. Drinks and Canapes on the terrace at 6.30. A carafe of apricot wine left in our room in the evening for a night cap. A breakfast to die for. This B & B is in a league of it's own. Well done Rayma and Phil. We highly recommend this great home stay to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DGM2444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Such glowing words. Thank you so much for such a wonderful review We really appreciate that you took the time to write it and do apologise it has taken me so long to respond. We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast. This is an important aspect of the B&B experience so it is great that you mentioned it. Thank you and again we do appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I spent a couple of nights here at this wonderfully welcoming Homestead. Before visiting New Zealand I had been a little apprehensive about staying here rather than an hotel (bad memory of a B&B when I was younger!) but this is in a league of it's own and has made me change my mind about staying in people's houses. It was just lovely! Rayma and Philip, the hosts, are so welcoming and considerate to their guests enjoying themselves, that it seemed like home from home. Our traditional bedroom was large and comfortable with a lovely modern ensuite bathroom. The breakfast, taken at the dining table with the other guests, was wonderful and of the highest quality with a breakfast menu cooked to order. In the evening we gathered with other guests on the verandah for drinks before going down into town to eat and on our return, the bed had been turned down and port and chocolates awaited us! I would highly recommend this gem of Napier.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

If there was a 10 star rating the Cobden Garden Homestay would have achieved it. Rayma & Phil are wonderful hosts. we felt as if we were leaving friends behind after only 2 days. We would love to have stayed longer but with the whole of New Zealand to see we had to move on.
It is all the little extras you are offered when staying here that make a great difference and Rayma was especially diligent in making sure my husband even had dairy free canapés with our pre-dinner drinks. Thank you so much.
This was our favourite B&B out of all we stayed in during our trip! We would love to come back one day. Who knows?!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room but I am sure all would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marriedmembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

So many reviews that I don'e really have much to add - we had a very good stay here, very welcoming, very good bedrooms and super breakfast. Nice walk down to the main town, or a car to the harbour area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Having spent two nights at Cobden Garden this really is the yardstick by which all B & B's should be measured. On arrival we were greeted and ushered on to the terrace for tea and cake ( both excellent). Our cases were then taken up to our room by Phil.
At 6.30 we were invited, with the other guests to join Phil & Rayma on the terrace for wine an Canapés, a great chance to meet our hosts and fellow guests. Phil and Rayma are a mine of local information and are happy to share their knowledge to ensure you get the most from your holiday.
We took the Art Deco tour and visited the Aquarium, where we saw our first Kiwi. I know it sounds strange but it's true! We would recommend both.
On our first night we went down to Napier for a meal and walked back up the hill thereafter -it made us feel better about all our food intake! When we got back we found a glass of port awaiting us in our room. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom spacious
On our second night we went to the Mission Restaurant which we had booked before leaving UK and it was superb!
This really is a must stay venue and we highly recommend it

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HSeeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Level Contributor
202 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I'm writing this review still ensconced on one of the most comfortable beds that it has been my fortune to lounge on!

Our view is frankly breath-taking looking over Hawkes Bay. Our hosts are attentive but not obsequious and have made us feel at home in their beautiful home. We have been entertained each night with some fine local wine and canapés before our short walk into Napier for some supper. (Taxi back is advised - NZ$8). Breakfasts are a tour de force with everything that a western pallet could possibly desire both in range, quality and quantity. In short an expensive home stay but one that is worth every cent.

PS the cats are rather special AND DO NOT SMELL!!!! The only aroma pervading this idyll is the smell of Rayma's baking. She has mastered the almost impossible art of making gluten free cakes and muffins simply delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treecutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Manager at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
What an amazing review. I am so glad you enjoyed the gluten free baking. I am please to say I can adapt much of my baking to gluten free and am now even able to serve hot, fresh bread that is such a delight when you have not experienced it for a while. Warm bread, butter and fresh homemade jam or local Manuka honey yum! I am also able to make a fairly good focaccia to serve in the evening with the wine. I certainly am expanding my recipe collection. We are also pleased you enjoyed the facilities and amenities in your room. Both the Ahuriri and Titoki Rooms have good views and of course also the upstairs sun lounge with it's expansive windows gives everyone the opportunity to relax and enjoy the view over the garden, West Shore and the distant ranges. Again thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobden Garden Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobden Garden Homestay

Property: Cobden Garden Homestay
Address: 1 Cobden Crescent | Bluff Hill, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cobden Garden Homestay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayma and Phillip invite you to their colonial, Bluff Hill villa, approximately 12 minutes walk from the city. Enjoy a spacious, en-suite bedroom, generously appointed and furnished with king/twin beds, television and DVD. Relax in a guest lounge, on the veranda or in the extensive garden or check your emails using our free wifi or the guest computer. Enjoy complimentary pre-dinner local wine and hors-d'oeuvres and a generous breakfast. Unobtrusive cats in residence. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing