We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brilliant Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cobden Garden Homestay
Ranked #4 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
“A Brilliant Choice”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

It has been a challenge for us this week, fitting into our normal routine, after such a luxurious weekend at the fantastic Cobden Garden Homestay.
We have been discussing our stay and we both agree that we were mostly impressed with the many extra special touches provided. Being welcomed with delicious home baking and the offer of a cuppa; the 6 p.m. wine and even more delicious canapés, with tasteful background music and scintillating conversation; the bed warmed and turned down while we were out for dinner, not to mention the homemade chocolate treat; the luxurious beautifully warmed bath towels in the gorgeous bathroom; the wonderfully presented breakfast, with such a range of choices, the friendly atmosphere and brilliant service; the quality surroundings, lovely fresh flowers and comfortable tasteful furniture. Also we were most impressed with Phillip’s car window clean just before we left. What a kind, thoughtful gesture. Rayma's cooking skills are amazing,as well as her and Phillip's thoughtful assistance and friendly welcoming style. We would certainly recommend the choice of staying at this very special homestay.

Jill and Bob Cameron

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room, with a lovely view. It was close to a relaxing sunroom where we were welcom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the effort that our guests make to do this and to have so much praise heaped upon us is overwhelming. We know your stay was a special gift and are pleased we made it such. Having interesting conversations with our guests is a big bonus for us and we appreciate that you also give of yourselves in this so thank you. All the best and hopefully we will get to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
139
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were made so welcome by the hosts, invited to wine tasting and nibbles each evening. Breakfast was very filling and the room was very spacious and well equipped. The garden was beautiful and sitting on the verandah in the evening was a highlight of our visit to Napier. We only stayed two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Convenient for the town centre - if we ever go back to Napier we'll go back here. Thank You Philip and Rayma!!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Millimad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
It is so gratifying when guests mention that they wished they could have stayed longer. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the verandah. Presently, even though it is winter, we are enjoying sitting there at lunch time as fortunately it has been bathed in sunshine. Long may it last. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishoej, Denmark
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Wonderfully situated private residence with beautiful rooms in the old villa. Cosy with wine tasting and homemade snack in the afternoon, nice and very well cooked breakfast

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate that you have taken the time to review us and that you appreciated what we have to offer. The wine in the evening certainly seems to be a highlight for our guests and of coures we do enjoy learning a little about your journeys and the country that you come from. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was simply one the best B&Bs we stayed in during our 6 week trip around NZ. The accommodation is a superbly comfortable colonial style grand house, but the best assets are Phillip and Rayma who offer every possible assistance from doing the laundry, making tea on arrival, to cleaning my windscreen on departure and every thing in between! The highlight was the complimentary wine and canapes served with other guests in the early evening before going out for dinner... a great way to get to know your hosts, find out what's happening, where to go etc. We stayed two nights but would have liked to stay longer - a fantastic memory and highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ncas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Your comments are so flattering. Thank you so much for them and for taking the time to review us. We do hope that one day you will get back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I can't say enough about Cobden Garden B and B - we really felt like we have made new friends in our wonderful hosts, Rayma and Phillip! Our room was absolutely gorgeous, impeccable, and had everything available we could imagine. When we arrived late afternoon, we were offered tea and delicious cake, followed not long after by wine and great appetizers (or "nibbles" as they call them in New Zealand). Breakfast was excellent as well - fresh and stewed fruit followed by croissants and toast and whatever you want Rayma to make, she will make! The house itself is near the bluff lookout, with a beautiful view of Napier's bay. These are truly warm and welcoming hosts who bring New Zealand hospitality to a very high level!

Room Tip: We stayed in a lovely room upstairs - there is also a great sitting room up there with windows overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy12054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that you did chose to stay here as we enjoyed your company and our many discussions. Hopefully we will meet again and wish you all the best. Thank you for your review and all your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We arrived early (11 am instead of late afternoon, senior moment on my part), Rayma was upto her eyes with work having had friends to stay as well as guests. Not to be phased, and in spite of protestations from me, she down-tooled and set about making a welcome pot of tea, offered with a chat. That was the beginning of a very enjoyable stay. We had the lovely Ahuriri room with its comfy bed and large bathroom and pleasant view. This is a beautiful old house and we had breakfast in the atmospheric dining room. And what a lovely breakfast, everything you could wish for including gorgeous croissants. And to top it all complimentary wine and canapes before dinner. Well, if you had a small appetite this is all you would want! This really is going the extra mile. An opportunity to get to know the hosts and the other guests and share their experiences. Doing laundry was easy and ironing board was available in room. Phil even cleaned the windscreen prior to leaving. Ann and John. England

Room Tip: Only experienced Ahuriri which was lovely. Spacious, good view, comfy bed, large bathroom with jacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pernicketyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
We are pleased we insisted on that cup of tea! It seems it really was welcome. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it and it is so reassuring that we are making the guest experience a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, near London, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We cannot speak too highly of this splendid homestay. We had a downstairs room (by choice) and it was very spacious, comfortable, clean and well appointed. The hosts could not have been more helpful and charming. Of the many B&Bs, hotels and motels in which we stayed on our visit to New Zealand, this was in the top five and equal to the best.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Homestay, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and rate us so highly. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and really appreciate your feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
865 reviews
0.6 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
772 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobden Garden Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobden Garden Homestay

Property: Cobden Garden Homestay
Address: 1 Cobden Crescent | Bluff Hill, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cobden Garden Homestay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayma and Phillip invite you to their colonial, Bluff Hill villa, approximately 12 minutes walk from the city. Enjoy a spacious, en-suite bedroom, generously appointed and furnished with king/twin beds, television and DVD. Relax in a guest lounge, on the veranda or in the extensive garden or check your emails using our free wifi or the guest computer. Enjoy complimentary pre-dinner local wine and hors-d'oeuvres and a generous breakfast. Unobtrusive cats in residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Cobden Garden Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing