We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home, gracious hostess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cobden Garden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 42 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We had a wonderful time at our stay at Cobden Garden. Rayma is a lovely hostess, we were sorry we missed meeting Phillip. Wine and nibbles by the fire, wonderful breakfast and great company. A lovely room in a beautifully restored Victorian up on a hill with a great view. The hill was quite a walk on our return from dinner! We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthFloridaPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate it and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry you did miss Phillip. He is also disappointed when he has to be away and misses out on hosting. Thankfully it does not happen very often. Again thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 183 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2011

We loved this B & B. We have stayed at numerous B & Bs during our travels and this would rate as the best. The room, food and hospitality were exceptional. We are both "foodies" and the recommendations for eating in the area were spot on, including the risky one for "Pacifica" that Phil was very cautious about giving us.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kalouari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajNapier, Owner at Cobden Garden Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

We are so glad you enjoyed our recommendations, hospitality and facilities. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

The room we had was wonderful with quality linen and big puffy pillows .The room was very tastefully furnished and nothing had been left to chance all aspects of comfort were there.Even the toiletries in the bathroom were lovely offering local lavender products to use.All was nice and clean as well.
The hosts were very nice and we had a very jolly time and chat at their drinks at 6pm for guests.
Breakfast was stunning.
A very relaxing time for us.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwijokers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

This is a truly elegant homestead situated amongst other similarly historical homes on Bluff Hill. If you appreciate old colonial New Zealand homes then you will surely love this house as it is furnished with beautiful antique furniture and the furnishings, bed linen etc are top quality. We stayed in the Ahuriri Room which has a lovely view, is very spacious and has a very large ensuite bathroom with huge spa bath. We found our hosts, Rayma and Phillip to be a very warm and friendly couple who couldn't do enough for us and we very much enjoyed the opportunity to join them for complimentary drinks and nibbles before going out for dinner. (Lovely gourmet nibbles and beautiful local wine). A memorable experience and we will return on our next trip to Napier.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

My partner and I stayed for one night in this gorgeous home that was built in 1870. We were greeted in the driveway as if we were old friends and not complete strangers. We were entirely impressed with the immaculate state of the many rooms and enjoyed sunset from the upstairs porch with an ocean view. Our gracious hosts prepared welcoming snacks and we chatted easily over a bottle of wine all together before retiring to our room. The room itself was outfitted with everything that we could possibly want and we happily checked out the spotless ensuite spa. After a very comfortable sleep, we joined our hosts in the dining room for a truly amazing breakfast of fresh fruit, hot figs, fresh coffee and juices and a delectable cooked meal of scrambled eggs with smoked salmon.

We could not have asked for anything more from here. We had an amazing stay.

Thank you to Phillip and Reyma for a very special night and morning!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemissfunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

This delightful home high above Napier has great chalm. It is in walking distance of the town and the owners, Rayma and Phillip, will collect you from the airport if needed. The rooms are most comfortable with tea/coffee facilities and good bathrooms. The breakfast are comprehensive and the early evening drinks of wine and nibbles are outstanding. A great place to stay in this exceptional town.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Our excellent stay at Cobden Garden has compelled me to write my first-ever travel review. My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our visit to Napier and we wished we could have stayed a whole week! We arrived on the first night just in time for the wine and delicious snacks that Philip and Rayma serve every evening, which gave us a chance to get to know them, as well as the other guests. Our Ahuri room was divine and luxurious in every way. We especially appreciated the lovely range of music provided for the personal stereo system, the chocolate treats left near our bedside every night, the large jacuzzi and the morning paper left at our door. Breakfast was a delight with a wide range of fresh fruits, cereals and hot options - go for the pancakes! Rayma and Philip were so helpful in providing great advice about the area, giving directions, calling taxis and much more. By the time we left we felt as though Rayma and Philip, as well as the other house guests were good friends. Stay here in Napier and you will be in very good hands!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmc_weber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.4 mi away
119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
McHardy Lodge
McHardy Lodge
#5 of 42 in Napier
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Watea Lodge
Watea Lodge
#4 of 42 in Napier
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
1.3 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobden Garden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobden Garden Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 Cobden Crescent | Bluff Hill, Napier 4110, New Zealand (Formerly Cobden Garden Homestay)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: $176 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cobden Garden Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rayma and Phillip invite you to their colonial, Bluff Hill villa, approximately 12 minutes walk from the city. Enjoy a spacious, en-suite bedroom, generously appointed and furnished with king/twin beds, television and DVD. Relax in a guest lounge, on the veranda or in the extensive garden or check your emails using our free wifi or the guest computer. Enjoy complimentary pre-dinner local wine and hors-d'oeuvres and a generous breakfast. Unobtrusive cats in residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cobden Garden Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing