We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well-deserved praise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well-deserved praise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2008

As American ex-pats living in New Zealand, my wife and I are extremely keen on taking short trips throughout the North Island. Having heard wonderful things about Napier, we began looking for an equally hospitable place to stay. The PBMI seemed like a good choice based on their website and the reviews submitted here on TripAdvisor. After a quick call and confirmation with Gary, one of the proprietors, we were locked in.

First up, the hotel has only a small number of available rooms which is nice because it means less overall foot traffic outside your door at odd hours. This could also have an adverse affect on your ability to get a room during the more popular summer season so as an FYI, book as early as possible. Since it is still technically off-season, we were able to call a week before our arrival and had no issue getting a room.

When we arrived, we were able to check-in an hour before their usual 2pm allowance. The staff was extremely friendly. I think it's a family-run operation and the level of care definitely shows. We were given a tiny basket of milk, crackers, and juice to sort of welcome us there. What a nice surprise. An even nicer surprise was the room itself. The photos on their website are indeed accurate. The Spa pool is huge! The bed is large and comfortable and the room itself offered plenty of space for a us, who just wanted to "get away from it all". The kitchenette was super nice and perfectly serviceable, however, we weren't in town long enough to utilize it. The bathroom also had an incredible amount of space and nice large mirrors. A large plasma TV and a nice little radio was a nice plus, too.

The only things that got sacrificed in the layout was the lack of a proper wardrobe to put our clothes away. Not that it really mattered that much to us personally , but I could see some guests being irked having to live, more or less, out of their suitcases.

The views of the shore were quite nice. We were on the 3rd floor and had a relatively unobstructed view. Another minor quibble was our next door neighbors who seemingly never left their balcony. Due to the fact that the rooms themselves are smokefree, our neighbors were smoking on the balcony at every opportunity. Unfortunately, the prevaling winds would constantly blow their smoke our way which severely diminished our enjoyment of the balcony. Again, not necessarily the fault of the hotel but something to be mindful of if cigarette smoke bothers you.

All in all, we were extremely satisfied with our stay and would return again in a heartbeat. As one final note, if you're into Aquariums, there is a decent-sized one located across the street and down a bit from the hotel. We didn't actually go in (it was too nice to be in doors) but it was worth a mention.

  • Liked — The room and the spa pool
  • Disliked — Smokers on nearby balcony
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeBeKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    96
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
99
403
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ramarama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

Just had a lovely weekend escape to Pebble Beach Motor Inn. Friendly informative welcome, immaculate and well fitted out room, and Sky TV from the spa bath. Very happpy campers!

  • Liked — Clean and well equipped
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamgrenada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NP, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

I arrived somewhat late as I had to travel from another location - I checked this when I made my booking and my 2230 check-in time was no problem.

I also had a mountain bike with me, and it was no problem for the owners to store this in their garage over night.

I requested a top floor room, which I was given.

The room was immaculate, and extremely well appointed with full kitchenette, LCD television and DVD player, sofa, table and chairs, balcony with table and chairs, shower in the bathroom and spa bath in the room. Free Internet access was provided (wired or wireless). And a very large room too!

Even though it is situated on a main road, adjacent to the foreshore, the room was not noisy at all. There was no noise from the road, or other patrons.

Staying at other, lower quality establishments has only reinforced how great this stay was. It was the only motel I saw that had no vacancy for both nights, so that says something!

Excellent quality and value for money.

  • Liked — Luxurious, immaculate and value for money.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ferrari_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

Great location overlooking the Pacific, very clean & comfortable rooms, close enough to Napier town centre to walk, plenty of parking. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Facilities/Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangorBagCarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2008

We came from the UK and while we were touring North Island in August (Winter!!) we stayed at the Pebble Beach Motor Inn for two nights. The accomodation is spacious with a double spa in which you and your partner can soak while watching a large screen TV (the olympics were on), control the stero music centre, and afterwards make your way to the super king sixzed double bed, or bacony. The accomodation was spotless. The shower room which had toilet, washbasin and shower cubiclewas spacious... the shower itself was powerful and with a very fine wide spray (rain forest?). The view of the sea and the bay from the balcony was awesome, with sunrise something to enjoy in the morning. There were chairs and a table on the balcony and room enough to dine alfresco...whatever than means. The kitchen was well equipped. everything worked. The internet was free, and the owners gave great support in ensuring we were connected. There is a free laundry room, with a washing machine, drier, and washing powder provided. We would come to Napier again. We would stay at the Pebble Beach Motor inn again.

  • Liked — high qualilty facilities, position and staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GBCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

Wow, what a fabulous place to stay. My family and I travelled four hours to Napier and it was worth it for the Pebble Beach Motor Inn alone. Upon arrival I was greeted by a very friendly gentlemen in reception and was given a basket of tea's and coffee's etc. When we opened the door to our suite I was more than impressed. It was very spacious and extremely clean. The beds we're very comfortable and the kids we're more than happy with their room with their own TV. The kitchen area had everything we needed. The bathroom was huge, the shower bliss like a rainforest shower and the spa bath was fabulous. The views are amazing over the ocean. Overall I do not have a bad word to say and myself and family will definately be back.

  • Liked — Very clean, spacious, everything one could need.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chirpychirp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2008

I found this motel along the Espanade over looking the ocean. It was clean and comfortable. It had a full kitchette with coffee and tea facilities. The couple that looked after us was friendly and accommodating.

Napier is beautiful city. The Art Deco architecture is stunning. I try to get down to Napier every time I am in New Zealand. I love the views from this hotel. Check it out the next time you are there.

  • Liked — The Ocean View over the Esplanade
  • Disliked — Parking Lot was small
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hk_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.8 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.7 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
1.7 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pebble Beach Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pebble Beach Motor Inn

Property: Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Address: 445 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#1 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#2 Family Hotel in Napier
#2 Business Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pebble Beach Motor Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pebble Beach Motor Inn has 25 luxury Oceanfront suites on Napier's Marine Parade. Each suite has a King size bed, large freshwater spa pool, full kitchen and tiled ensuite bathroom with bathrobes and Satinjet "Rainforest" shower, Climate air-conditioning, Sky TV, DVD,CD and stunning ocean views from your own private glassed balcony or patio. We are an easy walk to our lovely "Art Deco" city centre and many of our fine cafes, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pebble Beach Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pebble Beach Motor Hotel Napier
Pebble Beach Hotel
Pebble Beach Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing