We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full of charming atmosphere and earthquake surviving”
Review of Barrowmeade B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barrowmeade B&B
Ranked #22 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
512 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Full of charming atmosphere and earthquake surviving”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed two nights in this 1890 old timber house in town on the hill side. Our large and probably originally decorated room was 25m2 with shower room 4m2 and balcony 8m2 with great city view below and the Hawkes bay view far away. Although many B&B had small washbasins, the glassplate above it made this one difficult to use. Interestingly you could hear the surf at night, so quiet. Coffee and tea and cakes, and a small fridge in the corridor. Parking behind the building. You could walk down to the village, but the walk back uphill requires some energy. Large and homely decorated dining room with excellent breakfast, every day of the week a different cooked dish. The owner Mrs Tina found the cheapest wine and bike tour for us, which operator also brought us back to the house, so we did not have to climb the hill after tasting wine all afternoon.

Room Tip: I think there was only one room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tattym, Owner at Barrowmeade B&B, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words, it was a pleasure having you stay with us at Villavista.
Villavista has now been sold and is a family home.
We have moved on to greener pastures ,Greenmeadows to be exact and to a smaller B&B- "Barrowmeade" 79 Avondale Rd Taradale. A very comfortable 1940s Bungalow .
Offering good value and hearty breakfasts with comfort and character.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Don't miss Napier if you are touring - many people by pass this lovely art-deco town. and if you want somewhere quiet yet convenient for town this is it.There are nice clean rooms and very welcoming hosts. We think it is very good value. Only drawback is that the car park is on a steep slope below house. We'd certainly stay again
Richard + Diana Morris and Olga Cannan UK

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6xb42long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Decided to stay a little loger in Napier.
By accident, we located this B and B near the CBD.
The property was ideal, off street parking but a bit tricky due to the steep driveway.
The rooms were good and the common areas were ideal with attention to detail everywhere.
The casual atmosphere was the main attraction for us.
The view (vista) back across the city towards the bay was impressive.
Our breakfast was delightful - everything and more.
Overall - good value, need to stay two days to get the full benefit
John / Sydney

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phantomhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
278 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

For our first time at the Art Deco weekend we choose the Villa Vista on Bluff Hill above the city. Everything from the time we booked to the time of our reluctant departure was perfect.

We had 4 nights in the Oak Room which is at one end of the upper floor. The room was comfortable and well-furnished with an ensuite bathroom. As with all travellers the comfortable bed in a quiet environment was the key to our great stay. But to be greeted each day in our suite when we returned by some of Tina’s a freshly baked cookies was really the icing on the cake.

Breakfast was a sumptuous repasse that was more like a brunch that fuelled you for a large part of the day. The table offered would have been the envy of any top hotel.

Tim and Tina kindly provided excellent parking for our new car and we found the drive down to the city an easy short drive and even on such a busy weekend we managed to find very good parking.

Yes our Art Deco extended weekend was a great success due to a huge contribution from Tina, Tim and Villa Vista.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wien
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

British style at its best. We stayed in this beautiful house almost on the top of the hill (only 5 min drive to the city centre) in the "Long Room". It has got a wonderful view over Napier to Cape Kidnappers. The room and bathroom were clean, cosy and big enough for us three. Every day we got a tasty fresh cake in our room. Daily there is an other cooked breakfast on menue in adition to continental breakfast with homemade jams in the most beautiful and lovely decorated breakfast room ever been. The hosts are organizing information on tours for you. We prolonged our stay because it was so nice in Napier and the B&B. Unfortunately the owner will sell the place but perhaps will be back with a smaller house soon - lets hope for us travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

What a wonderfully quaint B&B Villa Vista is. Built pre the 1931 earthquake it some how survived and was restored to its original design. The interior including bedrooms are design in a style sypathetic to the character of the building. The breakfast room is typical. Very much in the 30s style it is complimented by a chiming mantel clock and there is faint 30s music in the background. I really did expect a person in a black dress with starched white apron and cap to serve me breakfast. The Hosts Tina a Time are lovely people. The breakfasts they serve are superb and they are always willing to help and advise. Villa Vista is quite high above Napier giving a winderful views from the bedrooms. This is the perfect spot to stay in the Art Decor capital of New Zealand Napier.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights, our top-floor room was a delight - supremely comfortable bed, excellent bathroom, glorious views of the bay from the balcony. Tina has thought of everything - tea and home-baked treats in your room, a superb breakfast experience, fresh flowers, books and guides to read. The house is tastefully decorated and furnished with period furniture, art and there is something interesting at every turn. The garden was in full flower. We didn't mind the walk into town and back but it requires a little stamina - or a taxi home! Thanks Tina and Tim - we hope to be back one day....

Room Tip: We had the Balcony room, where you can sit out and look over the bay, but had a quick peep into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fern D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.3 mi away
Kerry Lodge
Kerry Lodge
#9 of 41 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Farmhouse at Mission Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Watea Lodge
Watea Lodge
#3 of 41 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
4.0 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
3.3 mi away
119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrowmeade B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowmeade B&B

Property: Barrowmeade B&B
Address: 79 Avondale Road | Taradale, Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1940s Bungalow with comfortable private en suite guest wing .Own access with outdoor patio.Easy parking. Offering super king/twin beds, television, tea/coffee making facilities & home baking. Selections of continental & cooked breakfast using local ingredients. Tina & Tim welcome you to relax & enjoy your stay whilst at Barrowmeade. Just a 10 minute drive from the Art Deco city centre.Close to Bike trails , wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barrowmeade B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing