We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“British style at its best”
Review of Barrowmeade B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barrowmeade B&B
Ranked #22 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Wien
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“British style at its best”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

British style at its best. We stayed in this beautiful house almost on the top of the hill (only 5 min drive to the city centre) in the "Long Room". It has got a wonderful view over Napier to Cape Kidnappers. The room and bathroom were clean, cosy and big enough for us three. Every day we got a tasty fresh cake in our room. Daily there is an other cooked breakfast on menue in adition to continental breakfast with homemade jams in the most beautiful and lovely decorated breakfast room ever been. The hosts are organizing information on tours for you. We prolonged our stay because it was so nice in Napier and the B&B. Unfortunately the owner will sell the place but perhaps will be back with a smaller house soon - lets hope for us travellers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

What a wonderfully quaint B&B Villa Vista is. Built pre the 1931 earthquake it some how survived and was restored to its original design. The interior including bedrooms are design in a style sypathetic to the character of the building. The breakfast room is typical. Very much in the 30s style it is complimented by a chiming mantel clock and there is faint 30s music in the background. I really did expect a person in a black dress with starched white apron and cap to serve me breakfast. The Hosts Tina a Time are lovely people. The breakfasts they serve are superb and they are always willing to help and advise. Villa Vista is quite high above Napier giving a winderful views from the bedrooms. This is the perfect spot to stay in the Art Decor capital of New Zealand Napier.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeeAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Wish we could have stayed longer than 2 nights, our top-floor room was a delight - supremely comfortable bed, excellent bathroom, glorious views of the bay from the balcony. Tina has thought of everything - tea and home-baked treats in your room, a superb breakfast experience, fresh flowers, books and guides to read. The house is tastefully decorated and furnished with period furniture, art and there is something interesting at every turn. The garden was in full flower. We didn't mind the walk into town and back but it requires a little stamina - or a taxi home! Thanks Tina and Tim - we hope to be back one day....

Room Tip: We had the Balcony room, where you can sit out and look over the bay, but had a quick peep into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fern D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were warmly greeted by Tina, and our room was on the top floor with beautiful views over the City and the bay.
Our room was comfortable, and we slept really well in the comfy bed. The breakfast prepared by Tim the following morning was also delicious.
We unfortunately had our wires crossed and thought we had another night to stay, when in fact we had booked for only one night. Not their fault -- it was our records that were screwed...
We would have loved to stay another night in Tim and Tina's beautiful 1930's house.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schalk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Four of us stayed with Tina and Tim for 3 nights over Labour weekend. What wonderful people and what a wonderful place. Will remember for a long time, relaxing on the Sunday night sitting on the veranda with a good wine, chatting with our hosts and looking out over the lights of the Bay. The accommodation was excellent, the breakfasts superb.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My partner and I spent four nights in Napier and loved staying at Villa Vista. Tina made us really comfortable and served up incredible breakfasts every day (including fresh eggs from her own chooks!). Our room was spacious and clean with an amazing view and was excellent value for money. Strongly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JemmaGSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tattym, Owner at Barrowmeade B&B, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind words ,it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and i am so glad the sun came out for you and the chickens were laying.
Warmest regards Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay for 2 nights in this lovely B&B. It is at the top of Bluff Hill, the downtown residential area, It is a short walk downhill but quite challenging uphill. We had a car so not a problem with luggage for us.The house is three stories and we were in the balcony room which had a little table and chairs with a view over the Bay that would rival San Francisco. The room was clean and comfortable with an ensuite.
Tina, the owner was most helpful, she even did my laundry. The breakfasts were hot and substantial and she always left a treat in the afternoon to snack on( fabulous brownies)

Room Tip: Balcony room with a bottle of wine can't be beat
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colsolare02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tattym, Owner at Barrowmeade B&B, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
So glad that we were able to help with the enjoyment of your holiday in New Zealand.
It is always a pleasure having guests such as yourselves stay with us.
Kind regards Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.3 mi away
Kerry Lodge
Kerry Lodge
#10 of 41 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Farmhouse at Mission Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Watea Lodge
Watea Lodge
#3 of 41 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
4.0 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#7 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
3.3 mi away
119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrowmeade B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowmeade B&B

Property: Barrowmeade B&B
Address: 79 Avondale Road | Taradale, Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1940s Bungalow with comfortable private en suite guest wing .Own access with outdoor patio.Easy parking. Offering super king/twin beds, television, tea/coffee making facilities & home baking. Selections of continental & cooked breakfast using local ingredients. Tina & Tim welcome you to relax & enjoy your stay whilst at Barrowmeade. Just a 10 minute drive from the Art Deco city centre.Close to Bike trails , wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barrowmeade B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing