We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable view”
Review of Barrowmeade B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barrowmeade B&B
Ranked #22 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Oakville, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unbelievable view”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

My husband and I were fortunate enough to stay for 2 nights in this lovely B&B. It is at the top of Bluff Hill, the downtown residential area, It is a short walk downhill but quite challenging uphill. We had a car so not a problem with luggage for us.The house is three stories and we were in the balcony room which had a little table and chairs with a view over the Bay that would rival San Francisco. The room was clean and comfortable with an ensuite.
Tina, the owner was most helpful, she even did my laundry. The breakfasts were hot and substantial and she always left a treat in the afternoon to snack on( fabulous brownies)

Room Tip: Balcony room with a bottle of wine can't be beat
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colsolare02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tattym, Owner at Barrowmeade B&B, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
So glad that we were able to help with the enjoyment of your holiday in New Zealand.
It is always a pleasure having guests such as yourselves stay with us.
Kind regards Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Our experience at the Villa Vista was fantastic. The service was outstanding and the location could not have been better. We were made to feel at home. Tina's breakfasts were teriffic. It was a highlight of our trip to New Zealand.
Jan and Warren

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLASMASTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tattym, Owner at Barrowmeade B&B, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
We did enjoy having you stay with us and very much appreciate your kind words.
Regards tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

What fabulous value for money this delightful B&B is. Travelling round the North Island on a tight schedule I had intended to stay for only two nights in Napier, but I was so impressed with Villa Vista, and with Napier, that I stayed for three ! Beautiful, spacious rooms, in a delightful and welcoming home, with interesting and varied breakfasts provided with a smile by Tina. Add to that the little touches, such as home made treats in your room every afternoon when you return form a long or tiring day out, and you have the perfect B&B. Thank you Tina for such an enjoyable stay. John. UK

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tattym, Owner at Barrowmeade B&B, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words.
It is always a pleasure having a guest such as yourself staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Villa Vista exceeded all expectations and was far and away the best B&B we stayed at during our 26 day self drive tour of NZ (both islands). Large generously furnished private guest rooms with TV, air con, and tea/coffee facilities were standard. Tina's hospitality, a balcony view and breakfast to die for, all added to a most memorable stay. Thoroughly recommended.
Phil & Susan Keddie
Western Australia

Room Tip: All guest rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tattym, Owner at Barrowmeade B&B, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you ,makes life so easy with such pleasant guests staying with us. Hope you can come again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed 3 nights at Villa Vista in Nov 11 and found Tina to be an incredible hostess. The room was beautifully decorated, the food plentiful, special and delicious and the house to be interesting and the garden beautiful. The room had everything I needed, gave me privacy and beautiful views over the sea and was clean and well appointed - there was even different home baking in my room every day! Breakfast was served in a dining room downstairs and I was the only guest for 2 mornings with enough food for 4 and just the right balance between service and privacy/space. Tina even shared the secret of her amazing poached eggs!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tattym, Owner at Barrowmeade B&B, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Lovely having you stay with us.
We hope you can come again and bring your wee family .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This was my first visit to New Zealand. The host immediately made me feel welcome and it was quite similar to feeling at home. Casual conversation enable me to really get to know NZ. They were most helpful with refining my trip through the rest of New Zealand. I rate them to be excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamorrison1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tattym, Manager at Barrowmeade B&B, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
It was a pleasure having you as guests in our home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

We've stayed in a number of bed and breakfasts in several countries, and can't remember any that we enjoyed as much as Villa Vista. The house is an attractive sprawling Edwardian villa that's been renovated and furnished tastefully but not so that you don't feel comfortable in it. The guest bedrooms are upstairs away from the residential part of the house. They're large and welcoming with all the facilities you need including a very comfortable bed and some extras like fast, free Wi-Fi. The breakfast room is gorgeous with an immaculately laid table, and in it Tina serves a huge and delicious breakfast that varies from day to day but which she's happy to modify to take into account personal preferences.

We loved the location of Villa Vista near the top of a bluff overlooking the centre of town and the sweep of the bay. We were lucky enough to have the Balcony Room, allowing us to sit outside in the mornings and evenings and revel in the view, but even without a balcony the view is stunning. Yes, the location does mean a steep uphill walk to get back to base, but it's through a pretty neighbourhood and we enjoyed the exercise every time.

Tina was friendly, anxious to help, and provided some great advice on a range of subjects including gannets and guided Art Deco walks. At the same time, she respected our privacy and didn't expect us to entertain her.

Hawke's Bay is a very interesting part of the world, and we had a great time there. If we ever come back we'd love to stay at Villa Vista again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tattym, Manager at Barrowmeade B&B, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Many thanks for your kind words.
It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.3 mi away
Kerry Lodge
Kerry Lodge
#10 of 41 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Farmhouse at Mission Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Watea Lodge
Watea Lodge
#3 of 41 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
4.0 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
3.3 mi away
119 on Georges Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barrowmeade B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowmeade B&B

Property: Barrowmeade B&B
Address: 79 Avondale Road | Taradale, Napier 4112, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1940s Bungalow with comfortable private en suite guest wing .Own access with outdoor patio.Easy parking. Offering super king/twin beds, television, tea/coffee making facilities & home baking. Selections of continental & cooked breakfast using local ingredients. Tina & Tim welcome you to relax & enjoy your stay whilst at Barrowmeade. Just a 10 minute drive from the Art Deco city centre.Close to Bike trails , wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barrowmeade B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing