We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious B&B with all the trimmings”
Review of McHardy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
McHardy Lodge
Ranked #6 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The first of four B&Bs that we stayed in the Hawkes Bay, Wairarapa & Central North Island region - and this was definitely the pick of the bunch. We stayed for three nights in the Venice suite and enjoyed a peaceful stay with gorgeous fluffly robes and divine furnishings. Our hostess Yvonne left no stone unturned with superior hospitality, local area knowledge and an extensive breakfast menu. The Lodge has been sympathetically restored with exquisite decor as well as a few modern touches. The views from the breakfast dining area were amazing and gave us a good indication of what the weather held in store for us that day. Yvonne recommended some excellent outings - a fantastic winery/progressive dinner tour, italian restaurant and local amenities. We indulged ourselves in a game of billiards one evening in the the fabulous games room. I would heartily recommend this lodge to anyone who enjoys 5 star accommodation with a touch of history.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Thanks Diane for your kind comments - it was a pleasure to welcome you and help you get the best from your stay in Napier - good luck in your new life overseas and hope to see you again when you return to New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 166 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2011

We arrived in good time to McHardy Lodge but were not expected. We were one year too early!? … Some mistakes in the booking! Yvonne, i.e. the owner (who relatively recently decided to replace former staff and run the place herself) was however hospitality personified, gave us rooms, arranged a glass of wine and a cheese board. As we wanted to ease off she cleaned the pool from debris brought down from surrounding trees from hours of hard wind and eventually made us a great omelette with ingredients fresh from the garden. We fully agree with all positive comments in earlier reviews regarding views, standard of rooms etc. We would only like to add that it is rarely you meet someone who is so passionately willing to share a beautiful grand mansion with her guests.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leif G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

You had booked for 2012 but you were still most welcome - just a shame you arrived in the middle of such stormy weather - you must come back when our normal sunshine allows you to spend a little more time in the pool - you were very brave to take to the water for a pre breakfast dip on such a stormy day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Regardless of legnth of stay, you will wish you had more time at the historic McHardy Lodge. McHardy manages to be at once grand and cosy. The breathtaking water view from the prettiest, butter yellow kitchen ever is enhanced by the warm fresh baked aromas and warmer company of Yvonne, the owner. The rooms are quaint but sophisticated, spotlessly clean and perfectly appointed. The flowers were blooming, and the sun was gleeming. We even got in a game of billiards before breakfast! One of the few regrets about our visit to New Zealand was that we did not have more time in the wine country of Hawkes Bay where we could linger at the McHardy Lodge. I want to go back and take my entire family.

Room Tip: All the rooms are homey and gorgeous. Some are sunnier and there is a small variation in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHardyL, Owner at McHardy Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2012

Thanks for your kind comments -it was a pleasure to have you and your friends to stay and it would be great to welcome you and your family back to McHardy Lodge for a longer stay some time in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Paul and Selena were great. Lodge is hard to find so be sure to get directions beforehand. So comfortable and peaceful. Booked through wholesaler as packageI so I cannot really evaluate the value

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vmsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We spent 3 nights at McHardy Lodge on our recent trip to New Zealand. Everything was of the highest standard and our hosts Paul and Selina very helpful and attentive. There was nothing we could fault and would not hesitate to recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

A place to recommend. Selena and Paul are extremely friendly hosts. Paul is also a very talented chef and understands to prepare culinary highlights. The rooms are spacious, very nicely decorated. A place to come back to. We enjoyed our 2 nights stay at the McHardy Lodge very much. Rudi and Gudrun Perkowsky

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RudiPerkowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

This was our second visit to McHardy Lodge and it did not disappoint. John and Judie are the perfect hosts. Unobtrusive, but always there when you need them, and nothing is every too much trouble. The house is lovely and the views spectacular. A great place to get away from it all for the weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver19952011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
927 reviews
0.8 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.9 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
689 reviews
4.0 mi away
Watea Lodge
Watea Lodge
#3 of 41 in Napier
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McHardy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McHardy Lodge

Address: 11 Bracken Street | Hospital Hill, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: $336 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — McHardy Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5* McHardy Lodge is a beautifully restored 1896 residence situated in a quiet cul de sac on exclusive Napier Hill, close to all the attractions of Art Deco Napier and the wineries, golf and gannet colony of Cape Kidnappers and the award winning dining experiences of Hawkes Bay. The Lodge has a wealth of rich native Kauri timber and antique furnishings. The suites are dressed with fine furnishings and linens, with luxurious beds to sink into and relax. Spacious bathrooms feature claw foot or deep tub baths and large showers, making them the ideal place to relax and unwind. Relaxation is not confined to your suite. After a gourmet breakfast overlooking the Ocean you can lounge around the pool or on one of the extensive verandahs - the views of the blue Pacific Ocean and mountain ranges in the distance will beguile you. Enjoy a game on our full size billiards table in the billiard room, or snuggle up in the library in front of the fire. Whether it is merely a break from life’s pressures, a special holiday, a celebration you want to make so much more special, or you are planning the ideal start to married life together – we will ensure you have an experience you will treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your McHardy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing