We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deco City Motor Lodge
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“excellent place to stay”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at deco city for 3 nights in early december and came back for 4 nights over christmas. The hosts were friendly, the rooms were spacious and well suited for families. The both times we stayed the standard of cleanliness in the different rooms we were in were excellent they were the cleanest rooms I have seen in motels. Nothing was a bother from the staff at deco city and we would definately stay again

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom room the first time we stayed and there was plenty of room and the second time we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton G, Owner at Deco City Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
So pleased you and your family enjoyed some of what we offered. We do try hard to offer the best available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    56
    13
    4
    8
See reviews for
62
70
11
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I recently stayed here with a group of family for a wedding and it was the perfect place to be. The hosts were lovely and the rooms were really nice. I will definitely stay here again and recommend to all. The rooms with the spa are great, best spa I've had!

Room Tip: Upstairs would probably be a little quieter than below
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton G, Owner at Deco City Motor Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thanks for the positive review. We certainly try very hard to ensure our units are some of the best available and pleased you appreciated our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We went with our mothers to this motel. We originally booked for two nights then rang up and changed the booking to one. At checkout they rudely denied we had ever changed it and intimidated my mother into paying $50 towards a room she had never booked. Would never stay here again and would strongly encourage others to avoid.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank K18281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton G, Owner at Deco City Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
I am unsure how you can write a comment you were not in the office for 98% of the time. Truth is important and high values for us is the utmost. A booking was made for one night, at a later stage it was changed to 2 night (as proved to your mother). Further again your mother rang to say they were attending the cricket and would like to pick up the key prior, of course this was no problem and this happened. When she went to check out I said you were booked in for 2 nights and we discussed this and our web site clearly states the procedure - we followed this. Your mother did say in front of others that she advised when she asked about the key about changing to 1 night I asked if it was me and she was adamant that she spoke to a women about that. Once again facts show it was indeed me she spoke to. Your mother does appear to be confused on the course of events but our paper work proves without a doubt that we were in fact correct. Perhaps the reaction may of had something to do with the cricket being cancelled!
Thanks for the positive comments that were given on check out regarding our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Clean and tidy motel with nice rooms. Full cooking facilities and comfy furniture. Flexible owners - no problem postponing our booking for a night at short notice because we were delayed. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here twice and every time we come here this is where we are going to stay! Can not fault them beautiful clean rooms awsome service just a all round great place!! Beds were super comfy and we got to stay in same room both times we stayed!! It's central to everything! Beds are so comfortable.. Loved that we had table and chairs to eat on and Furnishings were modern thanks guys for the awesome stay can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Star136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Nicely decorated rooms. Comfortable beds. Plenty of space. Good location. What more could you want?
We were very pleased with this location. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment on the bottom floor, and found these to be the best beds of our 3 week tour.
Also had good laundry facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenaussie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights was perfect for what we needed. Is centrally located bout 5 mins out of napier city. The room we had was on the smallish side but had everything we needed specially enjoyed the spa bath. The hosts were very helpful thanks again for a wonderful stay. Would fully recommend this Motel to anyone going to Napier.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chooky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.9 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
572 reviews
2.0 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
70 reviews
1.9 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#18 of 47 in Napier
151 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
1.2 mi away
Palm City Motor Inn
Palm City Motor Inn
#9 of 47 in Napier
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deco City Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deco City Motor Lodge

Property: Deco City Motor Lodge
Address: 308 Kennedy Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Napier
#14 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Deco City Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have just completed the purchase of new KING KOIL top of the range queen and super king beds. ALL units with air conditioning both hot and cold. A Qualmark 4 star plus with many luxuries not normally associated with this type of property.Bike hire, swimming pool, small childrens splay area, walk to shops, pool, and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deco City Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deco City Motor Hotel Napier
Deco City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing