We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but don't expect any Tourist Tips”
Review of Bluewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bluewater Hotel
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location but don't expect any Tourist Tips”
Reviewed January 1, 2011

The room was very spacious - bigger than what I expected and was clean. The decor was rather worn, & reminded me of a Miami Beach hotel in the mid-80's. There were a few pretty good restaurants & bars within a 10 minute walk. We did not eat at the restaurant connected to the hotel.

We were very excited to be in Napier but whenever we asked the front desk for some recommendations in the area - no one had any "good ideas" and just pointed us to the various pamplets available. It almost seemed as though we were an inconvenience. This was actually true at many of the locations we visited in Napier (not just this hotel). Of all the cities visited in NZ, I'd recommend either skipping Napier or just keeping it to 1 day.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olearymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Ahuriri has many restaurants which are all within walking distance of the Bluewater Hotel. Napier has a lot to offer so it is quite disappointing that the reception staff were not more helpful in this area. Hopefully you will give Napier a second chance and come and see what we really have to offer, especially in January and February when the sun is shining and every weekend is jam packed full of activities. Gannets at Cape Kidnappers, Art Deco, Mission concert weekend, church road winery concerts, black barn open theatre, and the newly finished cycle way are just a few things that can fill your days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    44
    29
    27
    14
See reviews for
33
55
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Stayed here with my husband and 3 year old plus friends with a 6 year old. The location was nice overlooking the harbour and close to some reasonable restaurants and bars. If you are visiting the wine region then this is a good place to base yourself and in walking distance of a couple of shops and a small beach type area.
We had a 3 bedroom apartment and the place was lovely very roomy and plenty big enough for the six of us.
The whole place could do with an update and the reception could possibly be a little more helpful but all in all its a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Its been a while since you stayed with us, and yes I agree we did need an update
We did do a fresh up of painting.
Now we are in the process of doing a full up date
1st floor has been done, new beds etc, apartments are next on the list
We do now have 50+ Sky channels and free Wifi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We travelled to this hotel with a guest from the UK, and were most unimpressed. Napier
was full for the "Horse of the year show" or we wouldn't have stayed at the Bluewater. It was the only place in town with a vacancy. The 2 bed suite was dull, dirty linens left in one of the
bedrooms, minimal equipment in the kitchen, and the noise from the car park and adjacent rooms at 3am made sleeping very difficult.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It was the most expensive of all the places we stayed on our trip around the North Island and by far the worst.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshallnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Sorry you did not enjoyed your stay, but we did take on board your comments and did do a fresh up of the rooms
We are now in the process of fully up grading all our rooms
The first to be dine was the 1st floor, next is the apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Napier hotels

Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We have just returned home from our four-day trip around the North Island. Out of the three motels and hotels we stayed at, Bluewater was by far the best value for money. Their rating in JASONS Directory is 5 star, and I agree.
Reception was professional, friendly, and smooth as silk. We were offered a full range of suites, from the cheaper option to the most expensive. They thanked us for choosing them from JASONS directory.
[1] Our room was large, well designed, well ventilated, the beds were clean, soft, and had appropriate bedcovers for the hot summer weather. The view was lovely - across to the yachts in the marina. There was adequate storage for our suitcases. The decor was restful. The deck furnished with two chairs and a table with an ashtray. Perfect for my friend's evening cigar and Glayvar while watching the sunset...!
[2] The bathroom fittings were practical - I could wash my face in the handbasin without banging on the faucet, for example. The bathroom mirror had overhead lighting for make-up. There was natural light in the morning, and ventilation for the shower. We stayed in suite number 8 and the only thing I found "less than perfect" was that the shower control lever was not working very well and the mixer was uneven with hot and cold water not mixed and a nice temperature hard to establish. Regular maintenance would correct this easily. The shower is over a spa-bath and it was a little awkward to get in and out, perhaps a hand grip on the side would be useful.
[3] We ate dinner at their restaurant. The menu was very good with a wide range of food and prices. The house wine was freshly opened and very palatable. The wait staff were friendly and interested to chat a little with us.
[4] The location was quiet and nicely situated in the redeveloped wharf area - it's interesting to stroll after dinner and see the fishing trawlers, tourist boats, yachts and other craft. There are also many other eateries, and interesting for people-watching.
[5] We had breakfast the next morning and it was good to be quick with self-service for the continental breakfast option.
I'd recommend this hotel as value for money, and would definitely return because Napier is a cool place for a break to get away.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

I stayed here with my wife for a romantic 3 night 'holiday in my own town' and I must say I was impressed. We were upgraded to a 2 storied apartment that overlooked the marina below. The apartment itself was very well appointed and contained all mod cons. Beds very comfortable and leather furniture perfect for our needs. But if there's one thing the Bluewater has over it's competitors it's that stunning view! Beautiful sunrises and sunsets very relaxing and so handy for all the best restaurants and bars in the city! The Bluewater even has its own restaurant and sports bar so you don't even have to move too far away for a great meal or drink.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickey-Dickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tairawhiti
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

friendly staff but unconcerned about dirty dishes in room on our arrival- very close to city and airport -great spa bath - rooms good size and king bed comfortable but single very unstable- poor quality linen - and chipped furniture made this a less than luxurious experience-

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tairawhitiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big island, Hawaii
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Our room was a great size, beautiful views over the marina, air-conditioning (which was
fantastic in the extreme heats we had). The restaurant that is on-site had great food and was very reasonably priced. The reception staff were very welcoming and helped us with
their vast knowledge of events in the area. We would definitely recommend to anyone traveling to beautiful Napier.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelindaCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#10 of 47 in Napier
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
East Pier Hotel
East Pier Hotel
#19 of 47 in Napier
67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#34 of 47 in Napier
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marineland Motels
Marineland Motels
#27 of 47 in Napier
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Hotel

Property: Bluewater Hotel
Address: 10 West Quay, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a luxury hotel situated in the popular, exciting inner harbour area, the Bluewater Hotel provides a first-class stay in Napier with dazzling views of the marina,located in the rejuvenated Ahuriri quarter, is the perfect place to stay in Hawke’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Bluewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing