We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could ask for!”
Review of Bluewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluewater Hotel
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Napier
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything you could ask for!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Fantastic facilities, great staff & an excellent atmosphere. Highly recommend for a couples weekend or even just a trip with friends or family. Fun little golf course great for some (easy!)competition, competent staff with great knowledge of the area and the rooms speak for themselves. Amazing views, peaceful and quiet- enough to make you never want to leave. Highly recommend would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
We would love to see you again, and you can tell us what we need to get the added value you require
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    44
    29
    26
    14
See reviews for
33
54
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the Bluewater twice last week, once in the two bedroom appartment then in a superior studio. I found both units well above average, very comfortable furnishings and tastefully decorated. Both units had great views over the marina, The front office staff are to be congratulated for their friendly and helpful attitude, Jane and Nicola. Myself and friends dined at the Bluewater restaurant the food was out of this world, try the seafood chowder and the lamb you won't find better. Good price too.

I ceratinly would recommend this Hotel if you want good service and a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms face the marina, the two bedroom appartments are well above average and it's like a ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Thanks Paul always a pleasure to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2013

spent the weekend with my family in one of Bluewater's Two Bedroom Apartment, the apartment was great, was spacious and was a home away from home for me and my family.
Room was very clean and had fabulous views of the marina from both the balcony and the master bedroom.
Staff were all very friendly and willing to go the extra mile for us, the onsite minigolf course was a bonus as it kept the kids busy for a while.
Also found the onsite restaurant to be very handy as we didnt have to go far for great food.

Will be keeping Bluewater in mind for our next stay in Napier.

Room Tip: Pick the top floor apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Thanks for giving us such a great review, really picks the staff up
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed with my partner in a superior studio, staff were very friendly on checkin and helped with finding our way around Napier.
The studio was great and had a beautiful view of the marina. Only got to stay two nights but we will definitely be returning to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Glad to hear you had a good stay at the Bluewater Hotel
We have now upgraded the Superior rooms, new beds extra
So next time you are in Napier we would loved you to come and stay again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Everything and everyone was amazing. So friendly and helpful. The views of the marina from the rooms are exceptional. The hotel is in a perfect spot in Napier. I had a beautiful meal in the Quayside Restaurant that is joined to the hotel which is very handy. There is a bar joined to the hotel where you can have a meal as well. When staying here there is no need to go anywhere else. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sicy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
We are lucky at the Bluewater Water Hotel to have a great location plus great views
We are in the process for upgrading our rooms, would love to see you again to see the changes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here the other week as our normal hotel was full. Rooms were not very lean, dirty scum and hairs in the bathroom and full ashtray on the balcony along with cracked tiles in kitchen and stove stopped working second morning. There was lots of noise from on site and surrounding bars too and photos on website do not reflect the actual rooms - overall very average and we will ask our booking agent not to use this motel again if our normal place is full.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
This is yet another review from the same group. Our rooms are clean and tidy and in no way like this group is describing. This group did not use a booking agent, they used Grabone vouchers which were a special deal through the internet. Grabone are not a booking agent. If we had given into their threats these bad reviews would not be here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Napier hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

A group of us came down to Napier for a wedding and we stayed there for 3 nights. I wasnt really convince with this place after checking their website and the Nautilus Napier apartment, but we choose to stayed at the Bluewater as everyone was staying there... wrong choice! we had a Superior middle floor. I didnt have time to read the review before we booked... also when i checked the Nautilus again the price was cheaper on those dates... cheaper price for 10x better place!!!
We arrived on Sat, the lady at the reception was nice i think she was the owner or the manager. The place is very old and i guess has been refurbished, the room got all the basic but is very clean which was the good star. The bathroom is very very odd.... there is a shower over the spa bath which is not show on their website picture (im sure this is not the spa bath of the studio but of an apartment)... the towel rack is very close to the shower which can get wet and so high if you put the hand towel there...just in front of the toilet there is this thing where you can see the shower was there before...so weird... they do not have plug for a the hairdryer so you need to dry your hair in the living room! The door of the room is also strange as it looks like a office door with windows...there is a curtain...
We had dinner at the bar and the food was ok....went to the restaurant upstairs which is supposed to be "fine dinning" but the menu was the same!!!!!!!!! very disappointed also the waitress which i supposed was the manage on duty was very rude...she just wanted us to eat, pay and leave. For a fine dining when i asked for my food to be take away she came back and put on a ALUMINIUM FOIL ! Also the menu in their website is not their current menu and restaurant name is not even Bluewater restaurant but Quayside.
Well this is not the worst... on our check out we got charge a beer at $6.50 as it was put under our room number but we did not use the room number as we paid cash... i told the young lady and didnt care at all...very bad customer service. I told her that is you guys are a HOTEL normally you should ask a signature of the guest everytime you buy something and put under the room as people may just show your card key and she replied "well it doesnt really happen often here" i dont care!! we couldnt wait to leave this place so we just paid and left. You young lady if you read this review i if you should work in a customer service job if you do not want to work and be nice to people, change your job!
I also forget to mention that bed was very hard... anyway if you go there expect the cheapo motel for a high price. They said "Top quality accommodation" on their website...
I will definitely not be going back there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rei88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
This group hired the Limousine for their wedding for 1 hour which cost $150.00. They called about 6 times prior to check in pushing for a cheaper deal on the limo. The majority of the guests had purchased half price Grabone vouchers which is fine but shows obviously money was a real issue. The guests were dropped off at the wedding and were suppose to be back in the limo after 55 minutes to return to the Hotel within their hour. When they finally returned 30 minutes late the battery on the limo was flat. One of their guests got jumper leads and started the limo. We returned them to the Hotel 40 minutes late (allowing the 10 minutes for jump starting). Their journey was 50% (30 minutes) over what they had paid for. On check out the guests complained about the Limo mishap so they were offered a $50.00 discount on the job plus they would not be charged for going 30 minutes over time. They refused this discount and said if we do not refund the whole $150.00 they would make sure to “slam” our hotel with bad reviews any way they could, particularly on Trip Advisor. We felt we had compensated them adequately with a $50.00 discount and not charging them the extra $75.00. As we would not agree to the full discount our hotel is now being “slammed”.

We are an extremely busy hotel with 50 rooms handling 2500 people minimum per month and we have never been threatened or had such a terrible review as these people have put on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
East Pier Hotel
East Pier Hotel
#19 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#34 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Hotel

Property: Bluewater Hotel
Address: 10 West Quay, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a luxury hotel situated in the popular, exciting inner harbour area, the Bluewater Hotel provides a first-class stay in Napier with dazzling views of the marina,located in the rejuvenated Ahuriri quarter, is the perfect place to stay in Hawke’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Bluewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing