We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality”
Review of Bluewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluewater Hotel
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here the other week as our normal hotel was full. Rooms were not very lean, dirty scum and hairs in the bathroom and full ashtray on the balcony along with cracked tiles in kitchen and stove stopped working second morning. There was lots of noise from on site and surrounding bars too and photos on website do not reflect the actual rooms - overall very average and we will ask our booking agent not to use this motel again if our normal place is full.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

This is yet another review from the same group. Our rooms are clean and tidy and in no way like this group is describing. This group did not use a booking agent, they used Grabone vouchers which were a special deal through the internet. Grabone are not a booking agent. If we had given into their threats these bad reviews would not be here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Bluewater Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 150 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

A group of us came down to Napier for a wedding and we stayed there for 3 nights. I wasnt really convince with this place after checking their website and the Nautilus Napier apartment, but we choose to stayed at the Bluewater as everyone was staying there... wrong choice! we had a Superior middle floor. I didnt have time to read the review before we booked... also when i checked the Nautilus again the price was cheaper on those dates... cheaper price for 10x better place!!!
We arrived on Sat, the lady at the reception was nice i think she was the owner or the manager. The place is very old and i guess has been refurbished, the room got all the basic but is very clean which was the good star. The bathroom is very very odd.... there is a shower over the spa bath which is not show on their website picture (im sure this is not the spa bath of the studio but of an apartment)... the towel rack is very close to the shower which can get wet and so high if you put the hand towel there...just in front of the toilet there is this thing where you can see the shower was there before...so weird... they do not have plug for a the hairdryer so you need to dry your hair in the living room! The door of the room is also strange as it looks like a office door with windows...there is a curtain...
We had dinner at the bar and the food was ok....went to the restaurant upstairs which is supposed to be "fine dinning" but the menu was the same!!!!!!!!! very disappointed also the waitress which i supposed was the manage on duty was very rude...she just wanted us to eat, pay and leave. For a fine dining when i asked for my food to be take away she came back and put on a ALUMINIUM FOIL ! Also the menu in their website is not their current menu and restaurant name is not even Bluewater restaurant but Quayside.
Well this is not the worst... on our check out we got charge a beer at $6.50 as it was put under our room number but we did not use the room number as we paid cash... i told the young lady and didnt care at all...very bad customer service. I told her that is you guys are a HOTEL normally you should ask a signature of the guest everytime you buy something and put under the room as people may just show your card key and she replied "well it doesnt really happen often here" i dont care!! we couldnt wait to leave this place so we just paid and left. You young lady if you read this review i if you should work in a customer service job if you do not want to work and be nice to people, change your job!
I also forget to mention that bed was very hard... anyway if you go there expect the cheapo motel for a high price. They said "Top quality accommodation" on their website...
I will definitely not be going back there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rei88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

This group hired the Limousine for their wedding for 1 hour which cost $150.00. They called about 6 times prior to check in pushing for a cheaper deal on the limo. The majority of the guests had purchased half price Grabone vouchers which is fine but shows obviously money was a real issue. The guests were dropped off at the wedding and were suppose to be back in the limo after 55 minutes to return to the Hotel within their hour. When they finally returned 30 minutes late the battery on the limo was flat. One of their guests got jumper leads and started the limo. We returned them to the Hotel 40 minutes late (allowing the 10 minutes for jump starting). Their journey was 50% (30 minutes) over what they had paid for. On check out the guests complained about the Limo mishap so they were offered a $50.00 discount on the job plus they would not be charged for going 30 minutes over time. They refused this discount and said if we do not refund the whole $150.00 they would make sure to “slam” our hotel with bad reviews any way they could, particularly on Trip Advisor. We felt we had compensated them adequately with a $50.00 discount and not charging them the extra $75.00. As we would not agree to the full discount our hotel is now being “slammed”.

We are an extremely busy hotel with 50 rooms handling 2500 people minimum per month and we have never been threatened or had such a terrible review as these people have put on this site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this lovely hotel. Lovely room, we found the decor pleasant and comfortable bed. Nice outlook from our balcony. We had our room discounted due to being booked out by fellow rodders for the Hot Rod and Classic Car Show. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose the second or third floor units as you will appreciate the views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2015

Hope you enjoyed seeing all the Hot Rod cars
Since you last stayed we have up graded the first floor with new beds etc
Next time you are in the Bay swing round and come and see us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit, that looked more like a motor lodge than hotel. Photos on the website are deceiving. Rates are too expensive for what was offered. Very disappointed. The view of the mini golf course made it all seem very cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaunjnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Unfortunately this review is a bit confusing. When you stay in our 2 bedroom apartments on the second floor your view is of the Marina and out to sea, not over our 9 hole mini golf course which is located on the ground floor. We feel that our photos portray our rooms correctly. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay and would have liked the opportunity to rectify your problems. We do hope you will stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Typical motel with usual facilities, however the views from the bedrooms are amazing. Each room also has a double spa bath.

Can't comment on the bar or restaurant as we didn't use these. There are some great places nearby for dinner or just a drink. However, sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine watching the sun go down just can't be beaten

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bushedin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We definitely have some superb views from our rooms. Thank you for your great review. We look forward to seeing you back here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Basic, but very clean & welcoming. Sitting on the balcony morning & evening was lovely. Napier City is the Art Deco city of New Zealand, the buildings which were rebuilt after an earthquake in the '30s are beautiful to look at.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scouserinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We aim to be more than basic with everything we have to offer. Studios, apartments, family units, our lodge and boat, the Quayside Restaurant, Bluewater Sportz Bar and not to mention our stretch Hummer, Limousine and Mercedes which are all available to hire. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

This was a late booking for us as we arrived in Napier quite late and very tired. Manager was friendly and we got a good rate for a 'last minute' booking. Room was great, bed comfortable . Went for a stroll around the harbour and found some great places to eat. Shame we were only passing through would have liked to spent more time in this hotel and the location. Wasn't noisy even though there were poem of people around

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are lucky to be located in a very beautiful part of Napier with plenty to do around us. Thank you for your great review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.5 mi away
East Pier Hotel
East Pier Hotel
#19 of 47 in Napier
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
576 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 47 in Napier
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#33 of 47 in Napier
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Hotel

Address: 10 West Quay, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range: $103 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a luxury hotel situated in the popular, exciting inner harbour area, the Bluewater Hotel provides a first-class stay in Napier with dazzling views of the marina,located in the rejuvenated Ahuriri quarter, is the perfect place to stay in Hawke’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bluewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing