We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The smell of Dead Fish was too Much” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluewater Hotel
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Napier
kapiti
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The smell of Dead Fish was too Much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

The rooms are very nice. Newly done clean and tidy. good prices too.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
But the fish factory next door what a stink.
You have to pay for internet access: what are they in the dark ages?
You also have to pay for the mini golf.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBeasley09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments, our ground floor and superior studio rooms were renovated in 2011 so we are pleased that our guests appreciate this. The fish factory next door have had many warnings from our hotel about the fish odour that sometimes becomes extremely strong and after this review we advised them that we would have no option but to contact MAF. We now offer 100megabytes free internet access for guests. Mini Golf is reasonably priced at $2.50 for children and $5.00 for adults and if you would like a second game it is half price. We hope to see you again at the Bluewater Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    42
    29
    26
    13
See reviews for
33
52
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at the Bluewater Hotel over Labour Weekend 2010. We found it wonderful! It was a perfect place to get away to and the small balcony was perfect in the mornings. We had no noise issues from the other guests, and as we ate out both nights there was no need for a oven etc. The only down fall was that there was not a kitchen sink, so we washed our cups, bowls etc in the bathroom sink. It wasn't a major issue, but the cleaners had seemed to left a toilet brush inside the toilet and somehow missed it. There was also a pair of black socks behind a chair that wern't ours. Other than that, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn_256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. You will be pleased to know that all of our ground floor studios and most of our superior studio units have had kitchenettes installed. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW ZEALAND
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We have just returned from 2 nights at Bluewater Hotel in Napioer. As we left our booking until last minute, this was all that was available. I couldnt agree more with the other reviews. On the positive side, the "suite" was well heated with 2 heat pumps, and there were 3 Tvs in the unit -if thats important to you! (1 in each bedroom and 1 in the lounge area - however 1 of the bedroom TVs didnt work), the views are good out to the harbour. On the negative side ,the bluewater is more like a 3 storied motel than a hotel. Very overpriced for a very basic 2 bedroomed "suite". There were minimal kitchen utensils, no hob or oven, shower over a basic spa bath, lift didnt work for part of our stay and we were on the thrid floor, very impersonal and service is non existant. Two tacky limosines are parked out the front - it was raining very heavily when we departed, we packed our car in the rain while the limos were nice and dry under cover!! No service, tacky, staff lack interest, very unimpressive, avoid if possible

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRICIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
We would like to start off by apologising for your unhappy stay. You appear to have booked 1 of our 2 bedroom apartments which can sleep up to six people which is why there are so many TVs in the unit. There is a heat pump in the main bedroom upstairs and in the lounge downstairs which is great when you need air conditioning or heat on those hot and cold days. If extra items are required for the kitchen reception or housekeeping would be more than happy to provide these for your stay. The stretch Hummer and stretch Limousine are hired on a regular basis for parties, weddings and people enjoying the thrill of the ride. We would love for you to come and stay at the Bluewater Hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Napier hotels

Harpenden, UK
Level Contributor
222 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

First things first. It's not a hotel, but a three-storey motel. There are no public areas, and the cabin which serves as reception shuts down at 10pm. My first impressions were unfavourable - the motel has two stretched limos which they park right out the front, and being a snob I always feel these things are the height of bad taste.

The room was small and decorated in a rather dismal blue, but it had a balcony. It looked out on to the motel's own mini-golf course, so we had mini-golfers right outside the balcony. Beyond was the busy car park of the yacht club. The old harbour area in which the motel is set is the trendy part of Napier, so was very noisy (well past 2am) on weekends. There is a restaurant attached, but I didn't try it, an excellent Thai-Laotian restaurant across the road and plenty of other eating places within walking distance.

I didn't like all the prohibition and warning signs. For example, guests are told that if they use the night phone to contact the management and it's not an emergency, they'll have to pay $25.

All in all, it just about sufficed, but it's a place run without joy or personal attention, and I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Thank you for your comments. First we would like to apologise for your unsatisfactory experience. The complex was obviously not explained to you very well on check in. We have our restaurant and bar on site which would have served well as a public area for you. The Stretch Limo and Hummer are not to everyone’s taste but they are very popular here in Napier. People love to hire them for their parties, weddings and just to be able to say they have been for a cruise in them. Our ground floor studios and super studios were renovated in late 2011 with the ground floor studios also having kitchenettes installed. If management need to be contacted after hours to stop noise there is not a charge for the room that makes the call but the room that is making the noise could be charged for their disturbance. We would love for you to stay again so you can experience the joy and attention that the staff at the Bluewater Hotel provides daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

The room was very spacious - bigger than what I expected and was clean. The decor was rather worn, & reminded me of a Miami Beach hotel in the mid-80's. There were a few pretty good restaurants & bars within a 10 minute walk. We did not eat at the restaurant connected to the hotel.

We were very excited to be in Napier but whenever we asked the front desk for some recommendations in the area - no one had any "good ideas" and just pointed us to the various pamplets available. It almost seemed as though we were an inconvenience. This was actually true at many of the locations we visited in Napier (not just this hotel). Of all the cities visited in NZ, I'd recommend either skipping Napier or just keeping it to 1 day.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olearymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Ahuriri has many restaurants which are all within walking distance of the Bluewater Hotel. Napier has a lot to offer so it is quite disappointing that the reception staff were not more helpful in this area. Hopefully you will give Napier a second chance and come and see what we really have to offer, especially in January and February when the sun is shining and every weekend is jam packed full of activities. Gannets at Cape Kidnappers, Art Deco, Mission concert weekend, church road winery concerts, black barn open theatre, and the newly finished cycle way are just a few things that can fill your days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

Stayed here with my husband and 3 year old plus friends with a 6 year old. The location was nice overlooking the harbour and close to some reasonable restaurants and bars. If you are visiting the wine region then this is a good place to base yourself and in walking distance of a couple of shops and a small beach type area.
We had a 3 bedroom apartment and the place was lovely very roomy and plenty big enough for the six of us.
The whole place could do with an update and the reception could possibly be a little more helpful but all in all its a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Its been a while since you stayed with us, and yes I agree we did need an update
We did do a fresh up of painting.
Now we are in the process of doing a full up date
1st floor has been done, new beds etc, apartments are next on the list
We do now have 50+ Sky channels and free Wifi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

We travelled to this hotel with a guest from the UK, and were most unimpressed. Napier
was full for the "Horse of the year show" or we wouldn't have stayed at the Bluewater. It was the only place in town with a vacancy. The 2 bed suite was dull, dirty linens left in one of the
bedrooms, minimal equipment in the kitchen, and the noise from the car park and adjacent rooms at 3am made sleeping very difficult.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It was the most expensive of all the places we stayed on our trip around the North Island and by far the worst.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshallnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluewater19, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Sorry you did not enjoyed your stay, but we did take on board your comments and did do a fresh up of the rooms
We are now in the process of fully up grading all our rooms
The first to be dine was the 1st floor, next is the apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#33 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marineland Motels
Marineland Motels
#26 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Hotel

Property: Bluewater Hotel
Address: 10 West Quay, Napier, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a luxury hotel situated in the popular, exciting inner harbour area, the Bluewater Hotel provides a first-class stay in Napier with dazzling views of the marina,located in the rejuvenated Ahuriri quarter, is the perfect place to stay in Hawke’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Bluewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing