We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Masters Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Masters Lodge
Ranked #17 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Napier
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Couldn't have been better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have stayed at many B & Bs over the years but none could compare to The Master's Lodge. Joan and Larry are very professional hoteliers and they run a very small, exclusive boutique hotel where you will find the warmest welcome, delicious breakfasts, elegant furnishings and an attention to detail that is amazing. The Lodge is an easy walk to town where there are good restaurants and some interesting galleries and shops. The views are spectacular; the grounds are lovely and everything is maintained to perfection. We enjoyed a glass of wine on the porch with our hosts in the evening and luxuriated in the feeling of being in the best possible place at the best possible time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our "splurge" experience in New Zealand and worth every penny. The Deco suite is a smaller room, but has a wonderful bath with an amazing view of the coast and a dressing table I wanted to ship back home. Every detail has been thought out with perfect taste. From the turndown snacks ( the best strawberry chocolate chip meringues) to the home baked cake at tea to the incredible breakfasts to the personal warm help about which wineries to visit, Larry and Joan made us feel like house guests of the best kind. I will tell every friend coming to NZ to put this on their "can't miss" list. The house is close to central Napier, but on the hill above town. A car is necessary.

Room Tip: Only two. Deco has a queen bed, I believe the other suite has a king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 304Islandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Master's Lodge provided the ultimate in accommodations, dining and scenery. Larry and Joan thought of everything to make our visit truly exceptional. The Lodge was convenient to town and was impeccably and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was superb as was the gourmet dinner we enjoyed there! I would highly recommend the Masters Lodge to any discerning traveller!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

Everything about staying here was terrific. The views are outstanding and the hosts are so helpful and become instant friends. No matter how our plans changed, they were willing to accommodate us. What a find!

Room Tip: We liked the room where the bathroom was ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellady2531310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

We went to the Masters Lodge for the art deco and the luxurious intimacy. We visit dozens of 5 star hotels every year and we expected the best. Joan and Larry greatly exceeded our expectations, making this the highlight of our New Zealand trip. If you have the chance to visit Napier, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Masters Lodge is a delightful small luxurious lodge close to the centre of Napier. It is beautifully furnished with wonderful pictures and every facility you could want as a traveller. The suite was comfortable, quiet with many individual quality touches.
The best aspect of this lodge however is the hospitality of the owners Larry and Joan. What great people and how well they know their business. Fantastic recommendations for dinner, an outstanding breakfast offering and some real treats for afternoon tea - Joan is a master baker. Dont stay anywhere else if you are going to Napier and if you can ask Larry
to organise dinner at the lodge - one of the best meals we had in New Zealand. Enjoy too one of Larry's expansively and enthusiastic shaken cocktails.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

Outstanding. In a league of its own! Joan and Larry Bloom make you feel right at home in their lovely old home on Bluff Hill overlooking Napier and the South Pacific Ocean. Our second stay there. Treated to wonderful food from skilled and friendly chefs and fabulous wine. The Art Deco motif, so fitting in Napier, is another plus. This is a ten star property with wonderful hosts. We were there for New Years and that made it all the more special.

Gary & Nancy from Seattle

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MtRainierTrampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napier
1.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
10.4 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masters Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masters Lodge

Property: The Masters Lodge
Address: 10 Elizabeth Road, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Masters Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Masters Lodge is a small luxury lodge positioned atop Bluff Hill in the Art Deco City of Napier with spectacular views over the South Pacific Ocean, Cape Kidnappers, the City of Napier and the Marine Parade. The Lodge has only 2 Guest Suites each with en-suite bath. Each suite overlooks the ocean. The beach, shops, restaurants, museums and central business district are all within a 10 minute walk of the lodge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing