We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”
Review of The Crossing Bier Garden - CLOSED

The Crossing Bier Garden
Price range: $8 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are trying to create a venue that’s a little bit different, with meals that you may not see elsewhere, our focus is Napier County sourced produce. Our Garden Lawn is a great area for chilling out and just a short walk to or from Napiers only safe swimming beach Westshore Beach. We serve the only Fresh Fish, Corn Fed Free Range Chicken & Fresh Local produce. We serve Hawthorne coffee, along with some fine Napiers wines and a huge selection of New Zealand Craft Biers - Local brew Zeelandt on tap along with Parrot Dog, Garage Project, Tuatara, Stoke, 8 Wired, and many more.Open 7 days for lunches and dining, weekends for brunch.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very nice”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We are Napier locals and recently had lunch here after a walk around the estuary....The food was nice, the decor was comfortable and the hosts were friendly. A great experience

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at The Crossing Bier Garden, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Next time borrow a bike and do the Water Bike ride around the farm, about 1 hour tops. I do it six times a week and love it. Cheers & Beers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Lunch”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I recently had lunch at the Crossing and really enjoyed the experience. The coffee was excellent and the service was very friendly and efficient. I had the salmon bakel and it was very tasty and fresh. The atmosphere was very relaxing and comfortable and I will certainly be back

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at The Crossing Bier Garden, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Things have been great with our late almost non existent winter. Glad you had a relaxing time. Cheers & Beers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great late lunch!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Having been to the westshore for dinner many times, naturally we had to try out the crossing. Wow, what a great place, the new brunch menu is great and the food is amazing. I had the home-made baked beans with bacon and sourdough toast. Great flavours and perfect amount for a late lunch, my partner had the eggs on toast which from what she told me were great too. The service was good and the meals came out in great time. Such a nice location to sit and have the afternoon sun. Will defiantly be back to try the other brunch items.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at The Crossing Bier Garden, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
I have dropped the ball and missed this review. Thank you for taking time to comment. Cheers & Beers Jeremy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a nice change”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

nice to have some alternatives for breakfast. The rancheros was a great change from the normal kiwi bif breakfast that i am a bit tired of. great coffee and a sunny spot so handy to the airport, the satate highway and the beach.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at The Crossing Bier Garden, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Very kind of you to take time to write a review. Our location is very handy to many things, including the cycleways. Glad you enjoyed the Rancheros our chef Grant is very proud of them. Cheers & Beers Jeremy Bayliss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The fish of the day was excellent!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

it was perfect for us as we just travelled from wellington and we were pretty tired so we decided to go and have dinner here as it was located in the econo lodge. we were very pleased with the food and especially my parents (they are french)! they loved the fish of teh day and the lay out and teh atmosphere of the Bar and restaurant. teh cafe was also great in teh moning with an outdoor service area and great coffee. thanks to Gina and Kare for their excellent service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ArnaudC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayB4544, Owner at The Crossing Bier Garden, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I will let you in on a secret....FRESH FISH, always FRESH FISH....never ever frozen. Chefs who appreciate great produce. See I am not really really clever. simple. ha-ha...thanks for review. Cheers & Beers Jeremy bayliss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crossing Bier Garden also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing