We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas with friends”
Review of Hawkes Bay Express

Hawkes Bay Express
Ranked #5 of 32 Tours in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: See the highlights of Hawke's Bay aboard the award winning Hawke's Bay Express, a delightful and truly unique sightseeing train that travels on road. Hop aboard the family built and run Hawkes Bay Express and begin your journey through one of the most attractive cities in New Zealand or take a sightseeing tour of the region. Your modern road train is styled like an old-fashioned steam train and inside you'll find a romantic, old-time atmosphere. Sit back, relax and watch vibrant Napier come alive through the train's large opening windows. The Hawke's Bay Express city tour guides you through the coach restricted city centre. Then takes you over Napier's beautiful Bluff Hill, where the early settlers lived and the old port village of Ahuriri and the inland lagoon. The in-depth commentary covers the regions history, 1931 earthquake, the cities rebuild, economy, industries and lifestyle with personal stories of life from the 5th generation Hawke's Bay owners. If you have a large group book a private sightseeing tour around the region or even a beer appreciation tour to 3 venues. The options are endless. See you on board!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My wife Sue and I along with a group of friends boarded the Hawkes Bay Express for a no hassles pre Christmas get together.We started at one of the many great bars in Ahuriri and wound our way over the hill and through Napier stopping at several watering holes along the way.The train is amazing and knowledgeable and witty commentary add to the experience. Operator Will Van Ash has put a lot of time and effort in to this and it shows, great time had by all.

Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes_Bay_Express, Owner at Hawkes Bay Express, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you Peter for the splendid review. it gives us a great joy when our customers fully enjoy their experience. Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts, customer feedback really matters to us. Kind regards Will & Krysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Hawkes Bay Express
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 254 of 284 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

What an amazing experience. Will the owner/drive/guide was full of knowledge regarding this beautiful city and his witty comments made the experience very enjoyable. Highly recommend this form of transport for seeing Napier and the Art Deco on offer.

Thank Kaye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes_Bay_Express, Owner at Hawkes Bay Express, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you Kaye for your comments and helping spread the word on our unique and special service, it gives us a thrill to know you enjoyed yourself and we are working on new jokes for each month to keep it fresh. Regards Will & Krysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We hired the Express for an afternoon tour for a large group. WOW, A tour of wineries, a brewery and then to the Indonesian Restaurant. An absolutely wonderful experience. Owner/Operator/Tour Guide/Entertainer/Driver "Will van Asch" made it a very relaxing afternoon where we could mix and mingle without having to worry about the traffic. Well done.

Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes_Bay_Express, Owner at Hawkes Bay Express, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you Gary for your great feedback, with such a fun and interesting group it was a pleasure to provide our unique service. Regards Will & Krysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

As a local I was interested to experience this trip - and I'm pleased, and proud as a local, that I did. The effort that has gone into establishing this business is reflected in the genuine pleasure the opener/operator clearly gets from showing people his home town. The commentary is authentic, knowledgable and inter spersed with clever humour. It's worth it just to see the "engine" and carriages. They are works of art!

Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes_Bay_Express, Owner at Hawkes Bay Express, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hello, thank you for taking the time to give feedback and especially about our unique road train we are so proud of. It has been a full family project with Mum, Dad and brothers all fully involved and my wife being the ever encouraging and supportive partner. Kind regards Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I highly recommend this tour. The commentary from the driver/guide/owner was very informative and even the locals on board learnt something. The "Express" is an experience in itself - you won't have been on a vehicle like it. The kids loved it.

Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes_Bay_Express, Owner at Hawkes Bay Express, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Hello Mark, thank you for your positive feedback. You made us feel extremely proud of the fact that even locals learn something on tour with us. We also love the fact that your children enjoyed themselves.Thank you again. Will & Krysia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawkes Bay Express also viewed

 

Been to Hawkes Bay Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing