We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must, must, must do activity”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hawkes Bay Express

Hawkes Bay Express
Ranked #5 of 30 Tours in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: See the highlights of Hawke's Bay aboard the award winning Hawke's Bay Express, a delightful and truly unique sightseeing train that travels on road. Hop aboard the family built and run Hawkes Bay Express and begin your journey through one of the most attractive cities in New Zealand or take a sightseeing tour of the region. Your modern road train is styled like an old-fashioned steam train and inside you'll find a romantic, old-time atmosphere. Sit back, relax and watch vibrant Napier come alive through the train's large opening windows. The Hawke's Bay Express city tour guides you through the coach restricted city centre. Then takes you over Napier's beautiful Bluff Hill, where the early settlers lived and the old port village of Ahuriri and the inland lagoon. The in-depth commentary covers the regions history, 1931 earthquake, the cities rebuild, economy, industries and lifestyle with personal stories of life from the 5th generation Hawke's Bay owners. If you have a large group book a private sightseeing tour around the region or even a beer appreciation tour to 3 venues. The options are endless. See you on board!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must, must, must do activity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

If you're visiting Napier it would be a real shame if you didn't set aside time to go on this tour.
The vehicle itself is gorgeous, the tour guide/ driver/owner and his commentary are a real treat and because he's local it makes it very personal.
Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank joeyb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes_Bay_Express, Owner at Hawkes Bay Express, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking a tour aboard the express and we are thrilled you enjoyed it. Your comments are much appreciated as it shows we are on the right track with our small family business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    17
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Drysdale, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love your work Will !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Will had a dream - to build a beautiful train (bus) ride on the streets of Napier so he could show off his lovely town............what is it they say ? 'Build it & they will come' ? well he did, and they did. This is a fantastically comfortable way to see all that Napier has to offer with a running commentary that is witty, as well as being concise & informative - as one would expect from a 4th generation Napierite. See Will - I did listen ! So go on - do yourself a favour & hop on board the Hawkes Bay Express......

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes_Bay_Express, Manager at Hawkes Bay Express, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello Joanna, thank you so much for your wonderful review it really does make a huge difference to our small family business when people get to read thoughts from other travellers and that we are doing a great tour. All the best and kind regards, Will and Krysia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Not an "express", but who would want to hurry such an interesting Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

A very high quality, hand-built & comfortable mode of transport has to be one of the best of this type of tourist "train" in the world.
The tour was comprehensive including not only Central Napier, but also the port, the iconic tobacco factory building & also a delightfully old fashioned wool "factory", where we disembarked & were given a brief tour).
The commentary was sophisticated & "in depth" about so many aspects of Napier (covering not only the obvious - architecture & earthquake, but much about the people, agriculture & commerce) we found absorbing & "full marks" that we could hear every word through the clear audio system. And it was "lightened" with nicely interspersed, brief & appropriate musical interludes.
All highly professional & worth the slightly higher price-tag (NZ$50) than in other parts of the World, because this was the highest quality experience of this type we have ever encountered on our travels.
Congratulations & thanks to Will & his family.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes_Bay_Express, Owner at Hawkes Bay Express, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you so much for such wonderful comments and we are thrilled you enjoyed the tour. My wife and I are really enjoying running a family tourist business with the whole family involved and showing people our little corner of the world. Kind regards Will and Krysia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

A wonderful family outing. The conductor was friendly and had a great sense of humor towards adults and kids. He really made the trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes_Bay_Express, Owner at Hawkes Bay Express, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your thoughts, it is great to hear even locals familiar with the city and area enjoyed our tour. All the best for 2014.

Kind regards Will & Krysia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Great Way to see Napier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

As it was very hot we chose this rather than walk around Napier. I have to say I am glad our laziness won over as this is a delightful attraction. The ride lasts around 90 minutes and you get a really good feel for Napier along with some really good commentary. From a cost perspective it does appear a little expensive but you absolutely get value for money. If you want a nice relaxing way to enjoy Napier's art deco choose this ride!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank argwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes_Bay_Express, Owner at Hawkes Bay Express, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hello, Thank you for your positive comments and we are pleased you enjoyed the tour. Good luck with the rugby and getting your hands on the world cup.... Kind regards Will and Krysia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawkes Bay Express also viewed

 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Hawkes Bay Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing