We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous trip”
Review of Hawkes Bay Express

Hawkes Bay Express
Ranked #5 of 34 Tours in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: See the highlights of Hawke's Bay aboard the award winning Hawke's Bay Express, a delightful and truly unique sightseeing train that travels on road. Hop aboard the family built and run Hawkes Bay Express and begin your journey through one of the most attractive cities in New Zealand or take a sightseeing tour of the region. Your modern road train is styled like an old-fashioned steam train and inside you'll find a romantic, old-time atmosphere. Sit back, relax and watch vibrant Napier come alive through the train's large opening windows. The Hawke's Bay Express city tour guides you through the coach restricted city centre. Then takes you over Napier's beautiful Bluff Hill, where the early settlers lived and the old port village of Ahuriri and the inland lagoon. The in-depth commentary covers the regions history, 1931 earthquake, the cities rebuild, economy, industries and lifestyle with personal stories of life from the 5th generation Hawke's Bay owners. If you have a large group book a private sightseeing tour around the region or even a beer appreciation tour to 3 venues. The options are endless. See you on board!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My sister and I travelled on the Express from our cruise. The whole experience was a delight, lots of local info. given in a very impressive way. The trip around showcased the pride that Will and his father have for their town. A tourist attraction not to be missed, our favourite stop of the whole cruise. We will certainly recommend to friends and family.
Pauline G & Jean V.

2  Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes_Bay_Express, Owner at Hawkes Bay Express, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hello Pauline and Jean, Thank you for taking the time to review our tour experience. We have just passed 3,500 guests and aim to make them all as happy as yourselves. I hope you get more travelling in soon. Regards Will.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 298 of 304 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

A great 90 minute tour packed full of information made more interesting with snippets of local knowledge. Certainly gave us information about Napier that we hadn't heard before. The 'train' is in beautiful condition and is a real tribute to the effort being put into making this a successful tourist venture. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would happily recommend.

1  Thank anzac woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes_Bay_Express, Owner at Hawkes Bay Express, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hello and thank you for your very positive feed back. As we are a new business this really helps people understand we are delivering a great tour and experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We travelled on this unique train on a tour from our cruise. What a suprise it was. Will and his father have a wonderful knowldge of the history of the area and New Zealand. So good see such a lovely and different town rise out of the tradgedy of the 1931 earthquake. Well worth the 11/2 hours. Thank you

1  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes_Bay_Express, Owner at Hawkes Bay Express, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Thank you Susan for your comments. I hope the cruise was as much fun and you enjoyed it as much as the tour. Safe return home to loved ones.

Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

A great ride around the beautiful town of Napier. loads of local knowledge and history made this journey very educational. i came away from the ride with a better understanding of the place. Well worth the money.

1  Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes_Bay_Express, Owner at Hawkes Bay Express, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Hello, Thank you for your praise. As we are new this gives us great encouragement to continue evolving and aiming higher in all aspects. We are constantly researching and adding more information into the commentary as people just seem to want more and more details of our piece of the wonderful world.

Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We took the tour of Napier on the H.B. Express, we had an excellent tour of the Napier area and we learned a lot about New Zealand. The train is superb, we travel all over the world but this is a one off gem. Will, the owner, inventor and driver gives a very good informative 1.5 hr tour. Brilliant !!! don't miss it. check out the website ...

1  Thank Shirl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes_Bay_Express, Owner at Hawkes Bay Express, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Hello and thank you for such great feedback. I hope your holiday went well and the trip home was not to long. All the best for having a bit of our wonderful weather back in the UK. Regards Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawkes Bay Express also viewed

 

Been to Hawkes Bay Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing